We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps it's better during brunch or dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spiral

Spiral
Ranked #1 of 950 Restaurants in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Italian, French, Chinese, Japanese, American, Indian, Sushi, European, Asian, Thai, Korean, Middle Eastern, Singaporean, Central European, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Making a splash when it first opened in 2006, Spiral’s dining innovations were a first in Asia and it became one of Manila’s most loved restaurants. Dining has never been the same again since. But the new Spiral proves that even a trailblazer can top itself with Sofitel once again taking destination dining to a whole new level.The new Spiral is divided into 21 dining ateliers. In France, an atelier is an artist’s special workshop, and in Spiral it is where secret recipes are masterfully prepared right before your very eyes. The range of cuisines is expansive and the attention and detail to each dish has the focus of an artisan.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
391 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Perhaps it's better during brunch or dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Charging around P2K+ per person during weekday lunches, Sofitel's Spiral buffet offers an impressive array of top-quality food with 21 food stations that range from a churrascaria, a ham and cheese corner, Japanese, Chinese, Indian and more. However, I feel that their price doesn't give that much value given you can get what they're offering cheaper at Circles or Vikings. True, they have an excellent cold cuts and cheese section but their sushi selections are limited to the usual salmon, tuna and mackerel variants. The tempura batter isn't as light as you would expect. Their churrascaria, during a Monday lunch, was just offering small chunks of prime rib, some sausages and a sign that says there's lamb but didn't get a chance to see it. But to their credit, their crustacean selections are impressive with abundant clams, mussels, curacha (coconut crab) and rock lobsters and their Indian dishes are very flavorful. Don't get me wrong, every food in Spirals is delicious and I wouldn't refuse to eat there. It's just that you can get relatively equal quality at more affordable rates in other buffets. Perhaps it's better during weekends or during dinners when they serve foie gras and more churrascaria selections?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hizonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with the TripAdvisor community about your dining experience. With 21 dining ateliers, Spiral is a real travel in taste and discoveries,

We certainly take note of the feedback you gave, and we will look onto it as it is a way for us to keep on improving.

We look forward to having you back again soon and wish you best in your personal and business endeavors.


Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    422
    94
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good for the food display, horrible wine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The display and taste are very good. Impressive around the world buffet, the best being the cheese and cold cuts cold room. Unfortunately the wine offered on a cart at the table is simply horrible. We tried and Australian merlot, hideous, the California Cabernet Sauvignon was barely passable. Do not order wine at the cart the waitress as beautiful as she is has no clue what she is serving. Shame as one expect a better wine selection in a French institution .
Service was alright, nothing special. Plates were left on our table while we went back to the buffet.
Overall the experience is positive for the food display, is it worth 2.800 pesos per pax, not sure., Manila offers amazing restaurants. Some of the best ones being in greenbelt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyweeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your experience with us.

At Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations in all the aspects of your experience with us but we take it as a way to improve and to do better for your next visit. Thank you for calling our attention on this matter.

We look forward to seeing you soon, to be at your service again.


Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

You have to see it to believe it. There are so many food stations you can get lost trying to find your way back to your table. The food and the staff are beautifully presented. WOW.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0P60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for your positive feedback about the dining experience you had at Spiral. Here at Spiral, our master chefs offers our guest a delightful variety of dishes from the four corners of the world, Therefore, with 21 different dining ateliers we have to admit that it is sometimes a challenge to try everything.

We are impatient to have you back with us.

Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet at sofitel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

we had a lunch buffet at spiral, we tried different cuisines, each had distinctive taste,the meat were tender, I like the dessert, and the different kinds of cheese. Hope we can do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mctm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you very much for your kind comment that you share with the TripAdvisor community.
Here in Spiral, 21 different ateliers means an infinite varieties of taste, that we want our guest to experience. It is always a pleasure to satisfy our guests' taste buds.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
239 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“So Much, So Much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The choices are endless, all top-rate, Grade-A foodstuff, from appetizers to desserts. (Love the desserts!) Question is - can anybody really try all the different dishes laid out before him? That'll be quite a challenge . . . and a major accomplishment if one can do so. Why can't they cut down on the food choices, and probably offer the buffet at a lower price? That way, they'll be able to serve - and satisfy - a bigger, food-crazy market! Take note though that service was a bit sluggish when we had lunch there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LSSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at Spiral. We are glad that you enjoyed the food, and we certainly take note of the quality ratings you have provided us.

Thank you again for your nice feedback.


Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spiral also viewed

 

Been to Spiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing