We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this place!”
Review of Golden City Hotel

Golden City Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden City Hotel
Ranked #35 of 74 Manila B&B and Inns
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Skip this place!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have booked 4 nights, but we had to change hotel.
That was the dirtiest room ever, other people hair everywhere, mold in bathroom.
We asked for the quiet room ,and got one but without windows, and with not so functional air con so it was impossible to bread from the sticky air. Drainage from air con was going straight to the bathroom floor, which was bad-enough.
Although staff was great that just was not enough.
Bed was the hardest ever, and mattress had thick plastic cover.
I dont see how this could be good value for the money, I just dont.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anajiTijana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had a wonderful time here. The hotel staff are nice and friendly. Room is very clean. Located in the center of Manila (very busy street). Good Food, Free Wifi. Although the place is not very classy nevertheless travelers on a budget. You'll get your money's worth. I'd be back.

Room Tip: Tip: Go to Ongpin Street to find authentic chinese food
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

It was not comfortable to stay in this hotel. It was dirty everywhere. The bed, the towels and the slippers were so disgusting! The bathroom there is so small that the shower is just above the toilet bowl. I absolutely don't recommend this to anyone. You will just waste your money..seriously. And the area is very unsafe!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nally67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed there two nights, one night in a standard room and the other in the "suite".

First of all, most locals say that this area is quite bad to go at night. Apparently there are a lot of snatchers in the area.

Secondly, the hotel maintenance is poor, the rooms are not clean and the entrance of the hotel stinks. In both rooms, the bathroom was not clean and in the "suite", there where papers, old flowers and hair under my bed. Additionally, the beds are really hard (box-spring), it takes a while to get used to these.

The pros is that you are in the true heart of manila. Also, there is free wifi all around the hotel so that's a plus. The hotel staff where nice, but most of them are in the Philippines anyways.

I would recommend against this hotel, there is definitely better value for money in manila.

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cesar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in January 2012. This was one night too much!

- The room was dirty, with other people's hairs all over the floor and in the bathroom.
- The bed was so hard that we may as well have been sleeping on the floor. It was incredibly uncomfortable.
- The room rate is not particularly cheap, considering the poor quality of the accommodation.
- The hotel itself was noisy, with people coming and going all night.

Overall, we had a worse night's sleep than we would have done in a dormitory, but for about six times the cost. If there is one redeeming feature about the place, it is that the staff are very friendly and welcoming. I can't comment on location, since we used the place for an airport stopover only.

As an aside, we ate in the attached restaurant ("Phat Panda") as it has received favourable reviews on TripAdvisor. I can only imagine that the people who reviewed it well were affiliated with it in some way, as it served the worst kind of cheap, greasy Chinese food imaginable - the sort of thing you'd find in a backstreet Leicester Square post-pub Chinese cafe.

Avoid.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room as far from the front desk as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here for a night and i thought it was good hotel based from reviews down but i was wrong
and here are the pro's and cons
PROS
-Great Location and near the church and LRT
-Cheap affordable prices
-Good Service and staff
-WiFi strong
CONS
-Bed very hard
-Small Rooms
-Hotel is not very known if you come from ongpin or 168 when you ride a tricycle drivers don't know
-They give you this blanket that is very dirty and dusty
-Small CR which is so dissapointing
-Bad if your with your family

Such a bad hotel in ongpin bad i could find better hotel cheaper and cleaner next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josh ambio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claymont, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel because there were good reviews on this hotel. I thought this was in a good area but was wrong. This is located in a dangerous section of Manila. In the hotel, the beds used were box-springs only, no mattresses. Very uncomfortable. Also the restaurant downstairs seemed dirty and was not open when we wanted food. My fiance and I felt very unsafe and uncomfortable and would recommend a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Chinatown Lai Lai Hotel
#35 of 110 in Manila
21 reviews
Quiapo
Sun Star Grand Hotel
Sun Star Grand Hotel
#28 of 110 in Manila
43 reviews
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#29 of 110 in Manila
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Manila Central
#6 of 110 in Manila
464 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#19 of 110 in Manila
548 reviews
Governor Forbes Inn
#15 of 74 in Manila
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City Hotel

Property: Golden City Hotel
Address: 504 Bustos St, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden City Hotel opened its doors in early 2011 catering to businessmen and travellers on a budget. The budget style hotel stands above a restaurant with three levels and a total of 27 rooms with choices of single or double beds. It is located right at the end of Ongpin Street, Chinatown Manila. The hotel is named after the thousands of gold jewelers surrounded by the area. Its location is strategically situated near the LRT, Sta. Cruz Church, drugstores and most especially near Chinatown where there are plenty of authentic Chinese cuisine and imported goods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing