We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kiernan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada Hotel Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Armada Hotel Manila
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kiernan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

First we were put in the wrong room no daylight dark all day then moved to another room after 2 days no hot water for two days moved to another room which was ok
Breakfast was good but no bacon for 3 days moved told supply had run out
Joke. If you want laundry done go across the road 150 pesos instead of 1000
After having to move twice and no hot water for two2 days maybe a meal or something would have been good .pr this was not a 4 star experience .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiernan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    113
    75
    23
    16
See reviews for
51
98
39
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Armada Hotel in Manila is what you would expect. The location is not bad and overall cleanliness and service is what you would expect for what you pay to stay there. It is close to Manila Bay and restaurants within that area. The water pressure was not good. We had to turn on the shower and leave it running for a good 20 minutes to get hot water and the water pressure was very week. We also left a 100 Peso note on the dressing table which was taken by who ever cleaned the room on a daily basis. That was disappointing to think you cannot leave valuables out and have trust in the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't leave valuables out if leaving your room. Hotel cleaning staff cannot be tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Armada this Holy Week vacation 2 nites and 3 days. As soon as we enter, we received very warm smiles from the guards, concierge and front desk reception. My daughter was quite hesitant because of the small lobby and not that nice location. Last year we stayed at a wellknown hotel in Manila and she cant help it to compare it to lobby of that hotel.

But as soon as we enter, from the registration desk to the elevator and down the corridor towards a room and the room itself, we were all impressed.. all we said was "Wow" ohhh.. “Rooms are the heart of the hotel”. The décor is appropriate, air odor free, the room it self is spotlessly clean, plus cr is also organized with complete freebies (in fact more freebies than the expensive hotel, because they have more than the usual like mouthwash, comb, lotion, razor with shaving cream) and a good tub. (vs. the expensive hotel freebies of shampoo, conditioner and soap, toothbrush and paste only)

2 Big Twin Beds with super white clean sheets/comforter and pillows. Freezer cold aircon, nice lighting and nice view (bay area). Fast service too.

Pool area - very clean, with nice music background, very nice view from the rooftop (the whole of Manila), the attendant is very polite. tho.. on our second day he allowed swimmers with no proper swimming attire (which is a no no for us, wearing shirt and short, its not hygienic.) so we alight ourselves and decided to go back to our room.

My daughter told her sister that "don't judge a hotel by its lobby" because, tho some expensive hotels have big nice lobby, but rooms are just the same with small hotels, or shall i say much better than the expensive good looking lobby hotels. You will not sleep at the lobby right? so why pay for a very expensive hotel, when you can stay at small hotels but with the same room amenities.

we find the location very convenient (or just maybe because its holy week), walking distance from well known restaurants, walking distance to the bay area, and some good spots.. but im not sure if its still good during regular days (coz as i can see, there's a bar accross the hotel).

Just hoping that you will add more choices in your breakfast buffet, like the filipino breakfast, i think we should let the foreigners try our breakfast, like tapsilog, tocilog, danggit, arrozcaldo, etc.)

we will definitely go back to armada on our next holy week vcation.. hope they will add more parking space by then.

thanks Armada.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaHM, Asst. Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest/s,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

To begin with, we sincerely give our thanks for a very wonderful feedback. Giving warm welcomes, best hotel and dining experience is our mission. Sadly though, you have encountered an incident in our pool area. This matter was already discussed with the concerned personnel and we are taking the necessary action to avoid such setbacks.

We are also acknowledging your suggestions for our buffet breakfast menu and we will look into it.

Your comments will surely inspire us to be at our best and give the utmost service to our guests.

Once again, Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon here at Armada Hotel Manila!

Best Regards

Rowena C. Asanon
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my Partner stayed here for 4 nights. The room was spacious and clean. The things inside the rooms are new so that is very good. The bathroom is also nice but the water pressure is very poor. You need to wait for 10 mins to let it sit and get the water heated up. The breakfast buffet was nice. My partner and I like the selections. The staff in the restaurant needs to be attentive. Like they at least have to offer coffee to guests. Location is secured. Overall We like the hotel but we may not stay here again. Room service is really slow.

Room Tip: pick a room in a higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asian_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaHM, Asst. Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest/s,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our guest rooms.

However, we do feel sorry for the weak water pressure. We have already forwarded your concern to the Engineering Department. As for the restaurant staff, they will definitely undergo retraining and will have constant briefing on how to treat guests cordially.

Service and cleanliness is our top priority. We apologize if we have not exceeded your expectations. Nonetheless, thank you for this feedback. It will surely make us strive more eagerly to give a better service in the future.

We hope to see you again in your next visit and wish you all the best.

Regards,

Rowena C. Asanon
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here on the 28th of march for 1 night, booked it on the booking.com web site where there was no extra charges, when we arrived we were told there was a 1.5% gov tax to be added! that was fine as we're traveling with 4 small children and just wanted to get to the room. On the next morning we had to leave at 7:00am as we had an early flight, while at reception checking out, the receptionist sent cleaners up to the room, we were told we'd have to pay extra for black stains left on bed sheets, when we asked to go and investigate as we still had room till 10:00, we were told we weren't allowed, after going back and forward she came and apologised that she made a mistake.

P.S.

By the way, if you don't mind that there's a brothel and strip club across the lane way, that elderly men are bringing young girls back to the hotel, and that the staff need to learn there job,

you'll probably enjoy it here.

John R

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmadaHM, Asst. Front Office Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest/s,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

We are glad that you and your family chose to stay with us.

However, we apologize for charging you an extra 1.5% government tax and for not indicating it in your booking details at first. We also recognize that you have problems with our location. We always make sure that we make hotel security one of our top priorities. So that, couples who are with their children will feel much safer the next time they stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your effort in placing the review. We strive to give you the best hotel experience.

We hope to see you again here in Armada Hotel Manila!

Best Regards,

Rowena C. Asanon
Asst. Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I wouldn't recommend this hotel as they need to learn a bit about cleanliness and a bit of air freshener especially in the lobby. The staff is okay but really don't care. Toilet in room was so filthy I wouldn't use it.
It is a budget hotel so if one is counting pennies it might be an option. But for 5 or 10 dollars more you can feel secure and be in much cleaner surroundings. It also had a bordello flavor to it. Might have been the prostitutes hanging around the lobby

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and i, with our 2 kids (6 & 3 years old) stayed overnight at Armada for the new year. We just live in the city but decided to stay in a hotel to avoid the after- new year smoke. I chose this hotel because of the reviews i saw here at tripadvisor.

1. Booking. I made my booking a month before our intended stay. I contacted them thru email, thru their website and even called them to confirm and reconfirm everything because i wanted everything to be in order when we get there. I booked for a deluxe room with 2 queen beds and buffet breakfast. They assured me that everything is in order, and that was the day before our arrival.

We arrived as scheduled with the photocopy of our email exchanges and my ID. But lo and behold...our room was apparently not available. Naturally, I was pissed because i even contacted them to check and remind them of my reservation the day before and i was made to believe that everything was settled. Maricar Dy, whom i think is the manager, in order to appease me, gave us the premium room with no extra cost, and still with free buffet breakfast for 2. She even gave us 4 free tickets for their new year party at their poolside restaurant costing P550/head (i think, which we didnt use because obviously my kids will be in bed at that time).

2. Premium room. Maricar Dy personally attended to us, and send us to our room. The 1st room she sent us to has apparently a leaking bathtub, so she took us to the 3rd floor where another premium room was. I was insistent that my room should be in a non-smoking floor, facing the bay and free from outside noise. She gave us a corner room which had a view of the dilapidated buildings outside. But we still took it because the room itself was more than we expected. It was huge, had 2 queen beds, clean floors, clean bathroom and a nice tub.It's so spacious that my kids started to do their usual monkeys-in-the- zoo kind of play. I just let them because i thought the room looked sterile enough (im kind of a neat freak). So thumbs up really for this room!

3. Swimming pool. The pool was at the topmost floor. When you're there, you will get a good view of the bay. The pool was rather small. And there is little space to walk or lounge around. So it feels cramped at that time with all the kids and some adults. We just decided to skip the pool, and go to the baywalk instead.

4. Location. The hotel is just a few blocks from malate church and the famous baywalk stretch. Aristocrat, maxs and some other restaurants are just a few choices for hungry tummies. The only thing is it gets scary to go back to the hotel when it hits dark because the area where the hotel is is kind of creepy and isolated.

5. Buffet breakfast. Food was great. There were a lot of choices! And what was even greater was the staff was all nice. Paid extra for the kids but just minimal.

All in all, our stay was okay. I would totally recommend this hotel to my friends, if they fix the way they do their reservations. Btw, the people at the front desk should smile more. It was the holidays and it felt like it was all saints day...all brooding face, especially those girls seated at that corner talking and talking and talking to each other while their manager is busy fixing trouble at the front. Tsk.

Kudos to Maricar Dy for going the extra mile to please customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeahBudikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#9 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#22 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Malate
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#20 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel Manila

Property: Armada Hotel Manila
Address: 2108 Del Pilar St, Manila, Luzon 1009, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armada Hotel Manila is a contemporary 3-star hotel within the heart of Malate, a culturally rich district of Manila. Guests are welcomed in spacious rooms and suites, with luxury amenities for their personal use. All guests have unlimited access to the hotel's top quality fitness center and picturesque rooftop pool. Its restaurant, Caliber Cafe, serves sumptuous international cuisine and Filipino specialties. For weary travelers, Sensui Spa offers an extensive range of rejuvenating aromatherapy treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Armada Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing