We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Bayleaf Staff”
Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bayleaf
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Bayleaf Staff”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at your hotel. Everybody was very accommodating and friendly. It was a nice bonus to be upgraded to another room at no additional cost. We'd definitely recommend you to our friends and hopefully get another chance to stay at your hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    538
    99
    33
    14
See reviews for
227
654
158
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

That's right! It's the truth! My husband and I spent the 2013-2014 Christmas/New Years holiday season in the Philippines, staying 10 nights at The Bayleaf. After a 19 hour flight, we finally arrived at this immaculate hotel all decked out tastefully for Christmas. Our room was modern, clean, and fresh with adequate space. The windows were from floor to ceiling with a view over an old fort and golf course, not to mention the Manila skyline as well. Yes, we even enjoyed 2 humongous cookies left on the refrigerator counter for us! Security was 21st century updated. No room key card then no go up elevator. The card needed to be swiped first. The 9 Spoons Restaurant was convenient for breakfast and lunch(YUMMY, nice variety). The Skydeck buffet with panoramic views of the city and New Years fireworks was magnificent. Let it be known that I got sick on New Year's eve but the hotel staff was kind enough to ask if I wanted tea with crackers or a in house nurse to visit me if I needed one. So this brings me to The Bayleaf staff whom everyone in general was super courteous and accomodating. The internationally famous Filipino hospitality in full practice. A shoutout to Liezel by the gingerbread house, Aldrin,Ms. Estorga, Ms. Torres, and the manager of 9 Spoons and Skydeck (thanks for the New Years noisemakers and party hats), and just the ENTIRE hotel staff. Truly, 5 star service!! Why the kitchen staff even packed a small breakfast for us the day we left early for our excursion to Corrigedor Island and on the morning we departed for the airport back home. We even got to witness a few weddings being set up at the hotel. Wow! We couldn't resist taking pics of the gorgeously arranged flowers. Cabs were hailed for us, doors were opened, our flight confirmed by front desk, wake up calls on time, etc. Little things matter and all done graciously. Fantastic hotel management so we're fans who will spread the praises to family and friends. Only one improvement suggestion for future, a bit more storage draws in the rooms would be helpful. Till next time Bayleaf!! Two thumbs up!!

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are quiet due to tall but sealed windows. Front and back views are both fine but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitReyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family stayed in Bayleaf Intramuros from for 2x 5 day stays during December-January 2014, and the service was exceptional.
I know that smiling staff is not difficult to come by in Asia, but what is sometimes difficult to find is initiative. The staff at Bayleaf were proactive with our requests, knew our names by that evening of checkin, and were extremely prompt with housekeeping or room service orders.

The location is also great, as it is situated in Intramuros, one of the few places left in Manila with a touch of old culture. Beautiful Spanish architecture in cathedrals and houses, and the hotel is directly in front of the old battlement walls which still houses canons from the time of the Spanish, which is pretty cool.

The view form the 9th floor restaurant was a beautiful vista to wake up to every morning for breakfast, with the lush green of the neighbouring golf course to remind travellers that Manila is a pretty city after all. The breakfast selection was on the small side, but still caters for most needs and changes daily. There is a nice rooftop bar.

There are often wedding receptions, so the reception can get quite full while waiting for taxis.

A convenience store is a stone throw away, as well as a McDonalds and cafe next door.

Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms are modern and elegant, with a tasteful boutique flair to it. However, pay the tiny bit extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaM_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we had a chance to spend only 5 hours in this hotel (from 11pm to 4am) - due to the flight delays - but even during this short time the hotel managed to impress us enough: we had a perfect dinner on the rooftop terrace (and the kitchen was open at 1am for full service!!) - with the gorgeous views over Manila. It was a shame we didn't have a chance to see how it all looks in daylight (must be even better - looking at the photos of others!).

The staff was very attentive, and made their best to serve us, hence the only disappointment was that we had to leave them so soon :)

I am not sure how long it would take to travel during the rush hour, but in the night it took only 15 mins and 220 (£3) pesos for taxi ride from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights including New Year's Eve. This was the best place to ring in the new year. We got lucky and had a table on the highest point of the roof top bar which has a lower bar in open air too. The music was very loud so being that little bit higher was perfect for ambience and views. If ever there for the new year or a big celebration I would suggest you do not sit in the lower open bar area as the music was really loud. Manila on mew years eve is so crazy we have never seen as many fire works ever. The food was buffet and was good but finding a really pipping hot meal in the Philippines is a challenge :-).the staff are so lovely and very attentive. Not sure how the reception ladies can walk in their 7 inch heels but they do. This hotel is about 15 mins in a taxi to Makati area which is the posh business and shopping area. We did not walk around at night but did do all the back roads inside the walled area during the day and felt safe all the locals were very friendly. They had a nice coffee shop. Shame their is no spa or swimming pool. All in all would recommend staying here as service was great - the open deck bar is a haven.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and it was clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeprachaunKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京都
Level Contributor
225 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

historical area, academic atmosphere and green golf course, I love all of them. The hotel is so cute. All of staff are very kind and gentle. I have been impressed good security of the hotel. This is one of the nice hotel in the manila. And my loving hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank こじこじ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at this hotel. Our room had a great view of the walls of Intramuros. We walked around the walls and took some nice photos. It's also a short distance to the Fort Santiago. There's a 7-eleven store and restaurants that sell cheap food near the hotel. We also noticed some ATM machines close by. You can get a taxi anytime, just ask the front desk to assist you. Service was superb -- staff were very courteous and accommodating. The facilities are up-to-date. The room rates are reasonable. It's a nice venue for pre-wedding preparations. We sampled their Sky Deck buffet dinner (separate review). Overall, our stay at The Bayleaf was flawless.

Room Tip: choose the room with a view of the walls of Intramuros
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G00gle_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#12 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Property: The Bayleaf
Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing