We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel to visit Manila”
Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bayleaf
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to visit Manila”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Modern hotel in the centre of old Manila and close to all sights. Good service, helpful staff, great location. Rooftop restaurant is a bit expensive but has great views. Breakfast is not great but ok. Would definitely stay there again for the convenience next time I am in Manila.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AS_Williams23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    538
    99
    33
    14
See reviews for
227
654
158
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A new hotel nestled in one of oldest city in the country. The place is quiet and you can feel the ambiance of old Manila. various restaurants around the hotel. Since it is located inside the Intramuros, you can walk down the memory lane and rekindle our history.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Nice little hotel, great restaurant up top - with views, and helpful staff. Quiet area in Intramuros, close to the National Museum but away from traffic noise. The room was very modern and comfortable. Quite pleased with my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrb_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed at the Bayleaf a couple of nights. The hotel is ok, a bit expensive for Manila standards. The breakfast is not good but the employees are very helpful and the roof restaurant has great views. The food at the roof is not great but its quite ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertoBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We only stayed here for a one-night layover in Manila, but it was a shiny oasis after a tough day of travel mishaps. The staff were absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was bright and clean, and had a surprisingly fantastic view of the Intramuros wall and golf course - just as advertised. Our room service pizza was average but did the trick for we hungry travelers, and breakfast was also so-so, but filled the gap (though again, the staff on duty were friendly and helpful in every way - they really were the high point of our stay).Though a little far from the airport for a stop-over, I'd recommend the Bayleaf for visitors looking for a mid-priced hotel in Manila.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandkatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We checked in for my brother's wedding. Place is neat and we had an awesome view of the Manila City Hall and Intramuros Wall. Staff are nice and attentive to guests'needs. Place is also accessible to yummy street food and waljung distance to SM Manila. We would definitely recommend. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KundolandKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The location, staff, and value are all on full display here. Located inside Intramuros, and central to other amenities in Manila, this would be our first choice every time in Manila. While the bedroom is no more than appropriate in size, the bath is large and well appointed. Each room has a color scheme (1st stay was dark turquoise/brilliant white, and 2nd stay was eggplant/brilliant white) and is modern in furnishings. We partook of the rooftop dining and were pleased with selection and price. We also had an incident in which the staff was incredibly helpful. A perfect storm led us to leave an item in the trunk of a taxi we took from the hotel. While the item wasn't hyper critical, it's loss would have been most inconvenient and led to several hours to replace the items inside. We were able to call the hotel and the staff tracked down the taxi company and that particular taxi was contacted and our belongings were returned to the hotel in our absence. That is a miracle in Manila. We later checked out and travelled to another location, but opted to return for the night before our flight. We could have chosen any hotel, including those closer to the airport, but our prior stay convinced us to come back. The staff even offered and had ready sandwiches and water for our early departure at 4:30 am. You could not ask for better service.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms and besides the color, we could discern no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiesPosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#12 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Property: The Bayleaf
Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing