We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where Old Meets New and Service is Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bayleaf
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Where Old Meets New and Service is Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is such a beautiful building, from inside out. The hotel's exterior facade blends well with the old structures around it, but it is surprisingly very modern inside.

Our stay was part of a promotion of the hotel, and we made our reservation via email. It took some time before we were able to finalize the booking as we kept on changing the dates, but their reservation officer, Mr. Serrano, was very patient and accommodating.

Check-in was fast and easy with no hassles whatsoever. We just had to fill in some forms and, in no time, we are in our room. The room that was assigned to us was very clean and comfortable. It may not be as spacious as in other hotels, but it was adequate, nonetheless. My only qualm about the room is that the bed was really hard.

There are a couple of restaurants here (9 Spoons and Sky Deck) and a cafe on the ground floor of the building just in case you want to grab something to eat, and the place is also near 7-eleven and McDonald's, which is pretty convenient.

Our stay comes with complimentary breakfast for two at 9 Spoons, but their breakfast buffet was bad. There was nothing worth noting in the breakfast spread. We only had a few bland breads, some unappetizing and uninteresting viands, a jar of bitter yogurt, and cereals. Good thing they had lots of fruits in season, so I just filled my plate with watermelon and pineapple slices.

Lunch, however, was a completely different story. The lunch buffet at 9 Spoons was surprisingly good. It was light years better than the breakfast spread. They have some roast dishes, buttered vegetables, a pizza and pasta station, a salad bar, and a huge selection of local and international desserts. The dishes were also really tasty, and even their beverages are quite refreshing.

With its lackluster breakfast spread, hard bed, and basic amenities, this hotel is, indeed, not perfect. However, what it lacks is well compensated by its highly efficient, honest, and attentive staff. Of note, we specified our requests for our room before our stay. We asked for a non-smoking aubergine-themed room with the view of the golf course and one that is on the higher floors, and every single one of our requests was granted. Also, without noticing, I left my camera in the room and was only able to realize it was missing when I got home. I immediately phoned the reception and was informed that the housekeeping staff saw the camera, and I can pick it up from the front desk. The next day, I went back to the hotel and the item was returned to me in one piece.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel not just for the excellent rooms with lovely views but also its outstanding staff.

Room Tip: Pick an aubergine-themed room. It looks a lot posher than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xero9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    522
    97
    33
    12
See reviews for
225
636
152
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everything was wonderful from the location, to the staff, the beds, the room, and the delicious breakfast buffet. We didn't want to leave the hotel at all, to even look around Intramuros. Highly, highly recommend this place. The staff bends over backwards to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

our family stayed in this hotel for my wedding preparation because its historical view was picture perfect. Sir Francis is very accomodating specially when we have a problem booking online, he make sure that everything will be alright also two thumbs up for their fast room service and friendly staff. we surely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

There is nothing I would change about this hotel. It was perfect in every way. All the staff are polite, kind, attentive and helpful. The food is fantastic, the room was clean and very comfortable. I was made to feel very welcome, I can't praise this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Loved this hotel, sorry to leave!! Nice breakfast, lovely view and very courtesy and kind staff!! Room very clean and copy. If I need to find something, in the room missed some tissues.....:-) The best hotel so far in philippines.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninnetta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semporna, Sabah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My stay here has been nothing but wonderful. Everything, from the reception, to the customer service person who took all the trouble to transport my luggage and offered me a map of the Intramuros, and the wonderful ambience at its top level restaurants should be the gold standards of which every commercial accommodation providers should strive to achieve and even surpass. I am even more impressed by the fact that the hotel is actually a teaching hotel for the nearby Lyceum of Philippines University, and I am sure that many of its graduates will go on pursuing very stellar career around the world too.

The hotel took very good care of me throughout my stay; they endeavored to fulfilling all my requests, such as providing extra pillows when I arrive and arranging transfer to the airport for me. The staff deserves all the commendation for going the extra mile for their guests.

The location of the hotel is also a major selling point; it is within walking distance to many wonderful attractions such as Casa Manila, San Agustin Church, the Manila Cathedral and of course the must-visit Fort Santiago. I am very pleasantly surprised by the abundance of these attractions, requiring less than USD5 to visit for each place! The surrounding barangays made the sightseeing felt very down to earth authentic and interesting. I only have myself to blame for allocating only two days to visit the places, and I will be sure to return soon to see and do more.

As a conclusion, I have nothing but praises for the hotel and I hope they will continue to uphold the excellence in providing hospitality to every guest that comes through the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our stay here was very pleasant. The staff were friendly and the room was nice and clean. We also had dinner at the rooftop restaurant and the views were great... The only down side was that there were not many other restaurants within walking distance (apart from McDonalds...). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomad007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Property: The Bayleaf
Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing