We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bayleaf
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very busy place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three days at the Bayleaf. I found it to be extremely busy with the restaurant booked out with private functions both nights, so no access to this area for guests. The decor was very 90's frenti, orange walls purple carpet. Some of the staff were helpful, and some simply looked straight through me. As a single lady travelling on my own, I expected more of a warm welcome. The room was clean, service average, sky city bar overrated on trip advisor. Good view, but that was it. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRSeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    534
    99
    33
    13
See reviews for
226
649
157
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

After 20 hours flight and first vacation from dubai my first choice is really this hotel not because i thought its cheap but because of the location and i always thought its an awesome place to stay unfortunately its fully booked when we arrived thou only the presidential suite is available the guy in the front desk has been actually very helpful of suggesting other hotel to stay after a few inquiry my fiancé end up telling me that we should actually try the presidential suite since its not that expensive finally got our room a bellman and a girl showed us the room ive been working in hospitality in dubai filipinos are famous on being hospitable i definitely know the standard on how it works none of them actually engage with the guests they smile at you as if they've been just told to do so anyway entered the room its beautiful just enough on the price just the shower that we didnt like its trying too much to be modern and chic but it failed no bathtub aswell no amenities in the presidential suite which is surprising minibar is not complimentary thou its acceptable no wine list in the room so hard to call for room service coz no one answers ur call decided to order a penfolds retreat redwine service is fast but unfortunately a lot of lipstick marks on the glasses which i end up washing on my own then ordered some food since im dying to eat pork had classic bagnet and chorizo unfortunately found a piece of plastic in bagnet its so disappointing i must say. Had breakfast in penthouse also no one will actually assist u thou theres a lot of them around, egg live station is there but no chef u nid to chase them and ask them even coffee and tea , we liked the room but overall its not worth staying anymore just sad that we need to experience all of that in our first night in manila.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeGraceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed 2 days at this hotel .. Good place .. nice boutique hotel ... Firstly, I will be honest, the photo on tripadvisor is kind of deceiving .. its been taken from across the golf course ...

I had to do an early check in and they made me wait for 30 mins .. means no other place i have been, I had to wait that long for an early check in. Other than this point, the stay was quiet pleasant.

Lester, the concierge is great .. he found a comedy club for me .. also arranged for a few hours trip around Intramuros and it was good to know the history of Philippines ..

The roof top sky bar is good place to relax and have few drinks at the night ..

Overall i will give good rating to this place ..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bong_Traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Recently we visited this hotel for a weekend with my husband, we did not have a great experience with the restaurant, both of us got food poisoning for 3 days, and we know that was the only place where we went to eat. Also, the air aconditioning is not very good as it is not able to remove humidity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ANXIPACO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I chose this hotel because it was rated #1 in trip advisor but after staying there I am searching for reason why. First off the picture they show of it is very deceiving as it looks like hotel is off of a green lawn area when in reality it is crammed in behind some old walls of Intramuros and other multiple buildings that are pretty run down. It is surrounded by some kind of school so you have kids running around the hotel all the time. The hotel has NO pool, NO conceire, No SPA and basically it is a place to sleep with no real nice amenities that you would expect in standard hotels. My biggest issue is transportation out of this place. I had them get me a taxi 3 times and the shortest time took 15 minutes and the longest took 45 minutes. They basically have to try to wing down a taxi and hope they want to take a passenger from Bayleaf.
I would never stay here again as it just has nothing to really offer other than a place on roof to eat but I do want to say that the staff were very friendly and tried to help when they could. Also if you need to change money they have a very limited supply so you might want to do it before you get to this hotel.

Room Tip: You must get a higher room to have any view at all. I think I was on the 6th floor and its view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you want to stay in or near Intramuros, this is the only hotel to consider. Excellent customer service, very clean and new ameneties. The roof top had awesome views of the sunset over Manila Bay.
As a blonde female, it's not really a place I felt I could walk around by myself at night. Go to Makati if that's important to you. Otherwise, I loved it.
Free buffet breakfast was really good and included a lot of food.
No fitness center or pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Definitely an excellent hotel with well furnished room. The location is great; in the historical part of the city where you can do the Walk. China town is also close by. Service of the hotel is fantastic and they respond to your needs and queries in the quickest time possible. Never had a problem with service. The only draw back was the breakfast; I guess it tends more to the Filipino palate than the non-Filipino. It is a heavy meaty/curried breakfast which is not for everyone taste. A right balance would be good. Room service menu was excellent. Also wish there was a remote to the Aircon instead of the need to get out of bed to adjust the thermostat!

Room Tip: Do take the rooms which overlook the golf course and the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Property: The Bayleaf
Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing