We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cockroach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Manila
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cockroach hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

it's one of the worse thing we encountered as a family to stay in this hotel,i hate the cockroach crawling everywhere,it's disgusting...we check-in early and paid 300 peso since 2 pm is a check-in time and when we get to the room we are deadly tired since we had a long flight for that day at least 24 hours,the only thing you want that day is to go lay your back and rest,check-in time is a joke,they cant even tell you how to use the key at the front desk and when we get to the room it was really hot inside,so we had to go down, no problem with that and than when we get to the room we started seeing cockroach everywhere on the table,walls,and washroom,hate it,but had to put up with it since we are just staying in 2 days,the safety deposit box inside the room is nice,the rest of it, it's horrible hotel.

Room Tip: cockroach hotel,don't want to go back to this hotel anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathrockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    356
    183
    46
    23
See reviews for
71
218
212
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This is the worse hotel I ever had you have to pay for everything like xtra towel pillows and wifi you can only use it for 2 device junk. And the stuff is rude. The security guard is not helping with your baggage. This hotel is not recommended. "waste of money.!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

One of the better tunes I've stayed in. The building looks welcoming and the room feels cheerful, could be due to a better brighter paint job then the other tunes regionally.

As for the room, everything works.

Amenites wise, 7 eleven on the ground floor. Jollibee and chow king round the corner; 5 minutes walk. A Robinsons (very big shopping mall, probably amalgamated) is 10-12 mins walk away.

Walk to the intersection near Jollibee to get a cab, you'll get one faster thats willing to use a meter, unlike the small road outside tune; or the best western with the taxi drivers out to make a killing.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors as night time street volume could be high, because of the girlie bars that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've been staying at Tune Hotel twice the last 2 months and we're coming back.This hotel is very fresh and Clean. It's a lot of value for the money. The location is next to Ayala and the hotel also has a 7/11 in the same building.

I see that people write that "everything costs", but if you just add the packages you want directly that won't be a problem and you will still get a fair rate for the hotel room. Also, if you don't need wifi, television etc. (we didn't the first time) you can save money by just buying the things you want at the time.

If you decide to get the whole package, the wifi is great, TV is big and the aircon is the best we've experienced in the Philippines. Except from the package Tune has a nice and fresh shower and a really comfortable bed.

We also enjoyed getting our room cleaned, because of the funny housekeepers, giving us towel animals and stuff. :-)

See you next time!

Room Tip: Rooms at a higher level has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

First time to stay at a Tune Hotel ever. Nice hotel. Parking was readily available. Bellboy helpful. Check-in took some time and front desk wasn't too interested and accommodating. Stayed for one night only. Check-out was at 11am but requested til 11:30am. Towels are free but depending on your booking. Room was small but comfortable, internet connection was ok. Water pressure/heater was ok as well. Check-out was fast. Will stay again.

Room Tip: pick a room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel has a perfect location, the price is cheap if you booking few months before (6 months before is recommended). I bring my family to stay at this hotel, and first impression is really good! Because I often stay at tune hotels, I already know that even air conditioner have to pay, but that's okay.

The negative for this hotel is only at night. When I walk to Robinson Mall with the whole family, there's many prostitute from the hotel to Robinson Mall. So if you bring your family, you better consider to ride a taxi, because that is not good for children. They're all okay, not try to harm us, but I guess next time I will ride a taxi :)

Oh one more thing, you can find many restaurant, Jollibee fast food, and even a Church, which is Malate Church near this hotel! And walking distance also to Manila Baywalk. There's is Jeepney in Bay Area that can take you right in front of Rizal Park, from there you can walk all the way to Intramuros...

Room Tip: Choose higher floor and rooms with window..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hays, Kansas
Level Contributor
440 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Be aware that if you stay here you will be charged for every little thing. I booked online for a 4 night stay with a package including towels, wifi and tv. When I checked in without even looking the attendant knew that my online reservation only included the package for one night instead of 4 nights. And what a surprise they charge more when you pay at the hotel rather than online. I said I wanted to talk with manager, but told he is not there so I said I would wait. She went in the office and came back and said I could then have it at the online price. Check in time is at 2 pm but I arrived at 1 pm and even though the room was available I was told I would have to pay an extra charge for an earlier check in. I elected to just wait rather than pay an extra charge. Second night my room was not cleaned, so had to go ask for it to be done, but no clean towels given. Next night room cleaned, but still no clean towels even though I had paid extra for the package. Contacted the desk and instead of them sending someone up with the towels I had to go get them. I would not recommend this place and there are nicer and better places in the area to stay. You also might want to be aware that the area around the hotel seems geared mainly to cater to Japanese and Korean tourists. Hotel is okay but service is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Ermita, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Ermita, Manila

Property: Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Address: 1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Ermita, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Ermita, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometre away. The Red Planet Ermita, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Ermita, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing