We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value as a base for exploring Ermita and surrounding areas”
Review of Red Planet Mabini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Planet Mabini
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value as a base for exploring Ermita and surrounding areas”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you want to explore Ermita and Intramuros etc this is a great hotel to choose. The rooms are clean and small but are really cheap and as we were out sightseeing and shopping all day it was ideal for us. From this hotel there are a number of nice restaurants (Casa Armas was great for tapas and sangria) around and a few really cheap drinking dens. If you come out of the hotel, turn right and then take your first right then turn right again on to the main road there are places where you can sit and people watch and get a San Miguel for Php35 in what is a basic place but it is great. The huge Robinson mall is also very close with lots of shopping, restaurants and a cinema etc.

The affiliated Mollys bar is a must for breakfast. Great food and good atmosphere. When we were there it was a bit quiet at night though but still a good beer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LankaManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    364
    186
    48
    24
See reviews for
76
225
218
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had to travel to Manila with my wife & son to take care of some business and the US Embassy. It is a relatively short cab ride from the airport to the hotel (maybe 15 minutes on average traffic). The hotel's surrounding neighborhood is typical of Manila. We walked around in the day time and earlier morning hours and felt safe. The hotel is a few blocks from the bay and approx. 15 minute walk to the embassy. It is near the Mall of Asia and Rizal Park. The hotel itself is very clean. Large TV, functioning wifi in the room. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs (not family oriented) and a 7-11 convenience store. Towels, shampoo, soap & hot water. It is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Surprising the noise from the street was not so bad at night (If you have stayed in Manila you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryGCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was surprised upon checking in at Tune Hotel in Ermita. I was not expecting it too be clean, comfortable and safe place to spend a few nights. It is small, small enough to relax with a nice shower, cool air, TV and a courteous staff. That's where I'll be staying on my next visit to Manila.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel for a small budget and if you're staying one night or two but no more.
The area and the surroundings however are dirty and depressing, with people sleeping on the streets, child beggars, prostitutes right opposite the street.
If you're a single man, looking for such distractions I guess this is your place.
Other than that rooms are clean, small and have a safe.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 5 nights n was very happy with what wss provided for the money we paid.
Room is small but has a nice hot shower two very comfy single beds n a tv wit heaps of diff channels for those times u just wanna relax at home.
Location wise is not bad as its in the heart of malate so get ready for alot of hookers n beggers but they're still frienly intheir own way :) but its like a 10-20km drive from makati n mall of asia n theres also a laundry n a ton of 24/7 money changers around..n also a nice little bar downstairs n a 7eleven
The staff here r not only helpful but went out of their way to collect our laundry for us as we had a mix up n left manila before we got our clothes..
Ther r quite a few sports bars n kareoke joints around at night n food is plentiful in manila!!
Overall was very happy with my time here. It really had everything I needed n wanted!!
Keep up the good work guys will def come back ther next time round! :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've stayed in several Tune Hotels in the past and always found them to be good basic hotels at a reasonable price. The Tune Hotel in Ermita is no exception. What you get is a very basic, but clean room with a comfortable bed and a good shower. You can pay extra for air conditioning, TV and wi-fi. Alternatively book through sites such as agoda.com or hotelscombined.com and you can get these amenities included in a package price.

I found the staff at the hotel to be very helpful if I ever needed any information. Also the location is quite near to some of Manila's main attractions, such as Rizal Park and Intramuros. These can both be reached on foot in about 20 minutes or by a short taxi ride. There are also plenty of restaurants close to the hotel, especially on nearby Adriatico Street and Remedios Circle. Even closer still is Molly Malone's pub which is attached to the hotel.

All in all, if you are staying in Manila and want a clean, reasonably priced hotel in a good location then the Tune Hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I like Tune. No fancy stuff. Just a room to stay. This is not a place if you want a fancy room. This is a place if you want to rest your head for a decent price.

Conveniently located near an entertainment area in Ermita. Nice. Malone's outside and a Chinese restaurant opposite.

Serves its purpose, this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank korndamned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Mabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Mabini

Property: Red Planet Mabini
Address: 1740 A Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Red Planet Ermita)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Mabini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Mabini, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometer away. The Red Planet Mabini, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Mabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing