We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable management and service levels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unacceptable management and service levels”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed at the Philippine Plaza many times, even way back when it was the Westin Philippine Plaza, then the best hotel in Manila. It has sentimental associations for us. However, the last trip was disappointing, the hotel showing signs of wear and the service levels lower than previously experienced......then we checked in today!

One can forgive the poor greeting skills and the waiting in line to check in, perhaps. The lack of advice and information, let alone escort to lifts or rooms, the tired rooms with only one power point, lack of bath, shaving mirror, low shower water pressure, a faulty telephone, insufficient pillows, insufficient wardrobe space, grimy corners not cleaned in the bathroom, the faint stench of stale tobacco in an allegedly non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor (7th).....and this apparently in their 'Luxury King' room with only suites being better!

What is unforgivable is finding no room information detailing dining times and options, calling the 'One Call Service' asking for the A la carte dining times in the main 'Spiral' restaurant then being told up to 10:20pm for buffet service but any time for a la carte. Then arriving at 'Spiral' at 10pm to be refused seating in the main restaurant where ample seats were available and being offered a table in a dark dingy corner of an outer conservatory near a door......why you may ask? Well simply because the restaurant closes at 11pm and at 10pm they wanted to finish early and get home perhaps - guests and customers be damned! Or perhaps because this hotel only wants to serve buffet dinner service 'cafeteria style'?
Having refused the dingy conservatory table we were point blank refused seating in the main Spiral restaurant at 10pm and directed to the lobby 'Le Bar' restaurant which we were told would serve us from the a la carte menu......at 10:05pm 'Le Bar' told us they had finished serving food! The only alternatives offered by the front desk were bar snacks or room service!

It seems the staff at the various restaurants within this hotel make their own policy independently of the management and hotel policies. Management has lost control to the detriment of guest satisfaction. Guest do not matter here any longer!

And what you might ask was the management reaction when this was drawn to the attention of the Duty Manager? Ahhh, well, it was a 'Communication error' We should have been told that seating would not be in 'Spiral' but in the dingy conservatory. And what about being redirected to 'Le Bar' where service had finished.....errrr nothing said. In other words.....'not our problem'. Perhaps that's why there is no guest information in the rooms about dining hours! Plausible deniability opportunities!

When we first arrived in Manila we stayed at the Pan Pacific Hotel in Malate, a true 5 star hotel and the best I have ever stayed in (more in a review to come). Sadly, we decided that the traffic delays from Malate to the airport were too long and decided to revisit the Sofitel for our last couple of days before flying home - biggest mistake I have ever made! It is well worth an extra 40 minutes in traffic for the superb standards at the Pan Pacific compared to the sad mismanaged Sofitel, and frankly, for the same price, you will get a room three times larger and twice as luxurious with a panoramic bath room glass wall overlooking the city.....oh and the restaurant served us superb food at 11pm!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishfilipino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to acknowledge the feedback you have posted on Trip Advisor. While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards at all times, it is not always possible to monitor our effectiveness, and comments such as yours indicate to us in what areas we will still need to improve.

It is with regret and disappointment that you have to experience the inconveniences and shortcomings during your stay with us. The comfort and convenience of our guests is of our utmost priority. However, in this instance, we have fallen short in meeting your overall expectations and needs.

Your comments in providing the restaurant operating hours clearly show that there is a lapse in communication with the accurate information which is totally unacceptable. Much as we take pride with our Ambassadors and the service we provide, we do not tolerate acts that will compromise our standards especially if it will influence our guest’s experience. The feedback has been shared to the team and management and reiteration has been done ensuring non-recurrence. You may wish to know that a Room Directory with the listing of the hotel facilities and services indicating the respective operating hours is available in each room. Snaps Sports Bar and Room Service are other outlets in the hotel that caters 24 hours with an extensive menu selection.

Regardless of the explanation, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies this unpleasant incident may have caused. Rest assured that your insights prove to be valuable to us as we strive to serve our guests better.

We hope that this incident has not marred your perception of Sofitel Manila and will give us opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,464
    1,394
    547
    213
    151
See reviews for
1,626
1,163
320
976
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Sofitel Plaza Manila really surprised me I didn't expect it to be so lovely. We booked a luxury room and I expected a little more for the money but over all the grounds, the food, the service all made up for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank KiLi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We are delighted to read your comments about your stay experience at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila. It is with great pride that we are able to live up to our standards while aiming comfort and convenience for our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.


Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel looks like a 5 star and has good location by the bay but that's where the positives end. We spent 2 nights over New Year's Eve partly to celebrate 2014 and were left sorely disappointed. The problem with the hotel is that management has decided to try their best to squeeze paying guest of every dollar for almost everything which would normally be complimentary in other truly 5 star hotels. It reeks of being short sighted, trying to make as much profit from guests in the short term never mind if the guests leave disappointed and never come back again. It feels like one of those budget airlines where you have to pay for everything.

The list is endless. Starting fom reservation, we had initially booked through ACCOR for a suite and a luxury room. On their website you will notice that descriptions of all rooms are stated as either with bay view or city view. In other 5 star hotels, this would mean that guest can get their preference subject to availability. But when we called up the hotel the day of checking in, we were told that if we wanted the bay view, we have to pay 980 pesos extra per night per room! This is not disclosed on the website and is basically a quick way to charge more!

Next is the valet system. This is the first 5 star hotel I've heard of which actually charge their staying guest for valet service! Never mind that guest are paying in excess of $500 for rooms, they still felt the need to charge for valet.

The farce culminated during New Year's Eve. All guest were greeted with what is basically an advertisement of the different dining options on the morning of December 31st. Then in the evening, all guest were not allowed to go to the pool area to chill and see the fireworks till 1130pm. This was because, the hotel had closed off the entire pool and bay area for those having their buffet dinner. Presumably this was to incentivize customers to take up their buffet dinner which was around $100++ per head. But hang on a minute, we are paying in excess of $1000 for the rooms and we are not allowed to go the pool area till very late on? So non guest who paid a couple of hundred bucks for dinner gets priority over in house guest? How is it even logical?? When we did get to the bay area, the fireworks paled in comparison to the free show provided at Mall of Asia. By the way, want to celebrate new year with whistle horns and face mask, 500 pesos please!

Even the much hyped Spiral buffet breakfast does not live up to expectations. True the spread is huge but again looks can be deceiving. The Indian food corner for instance only had 3-4 dishes. The worse part is unlike other 5 star hotels, a huge majority of the food items were not labelled. So if you had allergy or specific dietary requirements, well too bad for you. I spoke to the manager of Spiral on our first day and told him that all food should be labelled and that this is common practice in 5 star hotel. He said yes yes yes but on the day we checked out, I did not see any improvement. This is before I even go into how I had to ask 3 times for a simple cup of cafe latte. I eventually got my coffee 25 minutes after starting breakfast. 5 star, seriously??

The coup de grace was of course their check out policy. All 5 star, in fact even most 4 star and 3 star hotels would allow 30 minutes to 1 hour grace period for check out. Not so in '5 star' Sofitel. Upon checked in, guests are advised that an automatic charge of 1000 pesos will be levied by the money grabbing system in case you check out one minute late after 12 noon. We didn't want to test the system so promptly checked out at 1145am.

The only good thing is that our stay helped us make an important decision. We had stayed here for the new year but was also scouting for a possible hotel venue for our wedding in 2014 and we were considering Sofitel as one option. After this experience, we both swore that no way are we coming back here let alone celebrate our wedding here. They will probably just ruin it! Management should seriously stay at hotels like Shangri-La, Discovery....etc to understand what 5 star really means. Here's a hint, it's not the building or location. It's the overall experience and leaving guest satisfied and happy. Unless Sofitel changes their whole management approach, they will not be achieving this and does not deserve the 5 star recognition.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to extend our appreciation for taking the time to bring the concerns to our attention. While we constantly strive to maintain the highest standards of customer satisfaction, regrettably, on this occasion, we have fallen short of our key objective.

Your observations have been well noted and shared to the team members and management with which will be carefully examined and perform appropriate measures where it is necessary. We seek your kind understanding while we do our future planning to better our services.

Unfortunately, there is no way of recreating the past or reversing the unpleasant incident you experienced. What we can assure is we value your feedback which will be utilized to improve the quality in every aspect of our operations and achieve guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.


Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We usually spend two nights in a suite at the Makati Shangri-La for Dec 31 - Jan 2 but because we have had good food at the Sofitel in the past, we booked a 'prestige suite' overlooking the ocean here. While the view was great, having doors that open onto two terraces, there were several disappointments: 1) We were asked to checkin in the club lounge on the 10th floor yet the elevator won't go to the 10th floor without a key card, 2) There was an EXTREMELY limited food menu for the night of Dec 31st, 3) Even when the normal room service menu was 'available', some of the items LISTED IN THE MENU were not available, e.g. Fish Congee, Rosti potatoes, …. We will return to the Shang or Fairmont next year. Sofitel was a letdown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is with regret to know that your expectations of our services have not been met.

While we aim to strive for excellence, it is only through our guest’s feedback that we are able to learn areas where improvement is needed. Your comments on your stay experience during the New Year’s celebration have been noted. We could have been more sensitive in leading you to the Club Millesime where check-in takes place. You may wish to know that special selections for the holiday apart from the other variety is available at the Spiral buffet while the other outlets we have in the hotel caters with its standard menu. These have all been communicated to the respective department s to ensure that each feedback are look after.

Once again, thank you and it is with hope that we will have the chance to better serve you in the future.


Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Second year we have spent celebrating New Year here, and the last. Its expensive, the fireworks fantastic, the service great amongst great surroundings, but the buffet... The initial impression seems impressive but when one gets down to the final selection its poor, especially if one is looking for Western food. There was a roast turkey and rather poor beef, but no potatoes of any kind or vegetables. The Japanese selection was good and its only saving grace.The desserts selection was pathetic . There is always a perception that this buffet rivals its competition in Makati, they don't even come a poor second.
Also getting out of the place was a nightmare as taxis were restricted whilst they pushed their own hotel cars. Took one hour to get out!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for sharing your views on your New Year’s Eve experience. We are glad that you have appreciated the fireworks and the services rendered. It is with regret that Spiral’s food selection has not met your expectations even with its 21 dining ateliers being available to cater to ones palate. Your comments will be shared to the team members to carefully review and make necessary improvement where it is needed.

Our guest’s comfort, convenience and safety are of our utmost priority thus hotel cars are initially offered yet the option to get a metered taxi is always possible however maybe subjected to availability as we do not hold any control.

Again, thank you and it is with hope that we will be able to serve you better in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,224 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 110 in Manila
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Property: Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing