We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

been to Sofitel twice, first time with my wife and then with our 2 daughters and all of us love it here. .Breakfast buffet is as good as it gets. Our adult daughters loved the pool and the pool area. Conveniently located, with shuttle service to MOA

Room Tip: room facing Manila Bay is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We are really pleased to know that your family loves staying in our hotel. Sofitel Manila is famous for its lagoon-shaped pool, perfect for relaxation and the gorgeous views of Manila Bay. Mostly visited food and beverage outlet of the hotel is Spiral, with its 21 dining ateliers serving dishes from all around the world, one is sure to have a memorable gastronomic experience here!

It will be such a pleasure to be of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,709 - 2,715 of 4,912 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank OsloGlobetrotter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The outside of the hotel does not impress much but the inside is much nicer. The rooms were spacious and very nice, with great views even from just the 6th floor. We were close to the Mall of Asia (60 Pesos or under €1 with a taxi or take the free shuttle) and close to Malate and Intramuros. It was a nice area to stay with other interesting buildings around which we walked by and took pics. The buffets looked amazing - we did not eat at the Sofitel but if we had been hungrier we would have, the brunch is even recommended in Lonely Planet. Never seen a breakfast buffet with over 10 or so individual stations with all types of local and international food.
The pool area was quite nice, by the ocean and had a resort feel, despite being "downtown". The pool itself was a bit cold for me but we enjoyed a couple dips.
The beds were very comfortable and the service was great. Got a great advance rate and really had nothing to complain about (except perhaps some kids yelling in the room next to ours).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We appreciate that you took the time in sharing your insights on your recent stay with us. One of the main features of the hotel is its location, strategically situated in a near proximity to the Mall of Asia, Malate, and Intramuros.

We strive to provide a superior service experience to each and every guest; thus, learning of your recognition for the services rendered by the team is truly wonderful. Much as we take pride with the services, the same applies for our quality products. The Sofitel MyBed is designed for a nice and comfortable sleep and we are glad that you were able to enjoy it.

With different Food and Beverage outlets offering variety of international cuisines, one is sure to have an excellent gastronomic experience when dining at Sofitel Manila. Spiral, being famous for it 21 dining ateliers, inspired by special French working stations where each dish is masterfully prepared right before your very eyes. It is but sad that you were not able to dine at Spiral. However, this will be a good opportunity to come back and visit us again.


We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My trip was mostly to rural Laguna, a challenge and a delight, returning to Manila prior to returning home. The staff of Le Bar, though, eased my transition back to "civilisation". The continuing hospitality of the staff reminded me of the best qualities of people (especially Pavino? at Le Bar!). Salamat po.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3StewartJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for making us your accommodation preference on your visit to Manila. Excellent service along with well-appointed products is what we aim to provide to our guests. Reading about your feedback was a delight and will be shared with Pavino and the rest of the team to serve as motivation to continue with our pursuit for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Yesterday, to be honest, I was not in the mood. I was a bit sad. So i tried walking around the hotel and look for a place that can help me forget all the bad things happened to me earlier. Then i went to Le Bar. I was very very glad when i met their receptionist with her warm welcome. Ela really did her job great and met beyond my expectations. She made sure everything's fine. Also, she's an excellent entertainer, made me forget why i was sad after all. I would definetely come back in Le Bar and look for Ela for she is great.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan_Keller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is wonderful to know that you had a memorable dining experience with us. We are pleased to know that you’ve spent a good time in LeBar and especially the services rendered by Ella. Your compliments will be shared with her to serve as recognition for the job well done.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were treated like royalty the moment we checked in. Staff were helpful and friendly, especially those on the Club Floor. Room was very comfortable. The buffet was the best. The only unpleasant thing was the smell from the sea. Shuttle bus was provided to the shopping mall.
All in all.... GREAT!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling_WildLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your feedback on your recent stay. It is wonderful to know that you had a great experience and especially enjoyed the food in Spiral. Your compliments have brought smiles to our faces and the urge for us to continuously offer our guests with the quality products and deliver excellent service from the heart.

Thank you and we shall look forward to creating another magnifique experience on your future visit.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 12 nights on a holiday with my best mate. This hotel is quite beautiful and has every tell of a 5 star hotel when you walk in. The staff are very accommodating and show great initiative.

My main gripe about this hotel is the rooms, the rooms that we got were very outdated, we had rooms next to each other on the 6th floor. Sound isolation from outside the room is very poor, I can clearly hear someone walking past or the rattle of room service trolleys from the corridor, I can also hear the TV and sometimes snoring from other rooms from within my room. There is no door bell for the rooms we had, so staff or visitors had to knock on the door, which doesn't sound too bad but often times I would hear the knock and it would be from the rooms on either side, you also cannot hear it from within the bathroom.

The room is fairly outdated and bland but was spacious enough with a large TV, balcony, study desk and coffee table. The TV had most channels out or barely watchable as there always seemed to be signal issues, thankfully there was a HDMI input which I used for my laptop.

Overall this is a very nice hotel, the pool and outdoor area is relaxing, the restaurant and room service quality is very good quality but at higher prices. There is a great view of Manila Bay and entertainment outside during some nights, a large pool with slides for the kids.

Getting a taxi is sometimes an issue, I had to utilise the hotel taxi twice for 500-700php depending on destination, it is an ordinary car, the cars were old but the drivers were friendly and professional. There is a complimentary shuttle service to and from Mall of Asia but in my opinion it needed more service times.

I must mention at this hotel, outside food is not permitted, which was annoying. For the most part I dined at the hotel but for those moments when you miss the taste of home from within your room, it cannot be done.

I had one instance of bad customer service from a hotel staff member from when I first tried to enter the outdoor pool area, I was stopped at the door by a staff member and was rudely asked if I was a guest at the hotel, and requested my room number. There was no smile, no greeting or courtesy I had been shown by other staff members, it was blunt and rude, I can only put it down to either she was having a bad day or because I was wearing simple clothes consisting of a t-shirt, shorts and thongs (I have to admit I didn't look like I was staying at the hotel by the way I was dressed at the time, but whatever I was going to the pool). After I had confirmed her requests there was no change in attitude.

Overall this is a good hotel, this was based on my experience, it seems other people reviewing this hotel had a better experience. I personally wouldn't stay here again if it can be helped.

I have to stress, apart from my one negative experience with service every other staff member I had met were very friendly, professional, timely, accommodating and went out of their way to cater for any request I had. I cannot thank them enough for the level of service they gave me during my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Your comfort and satisfaction being our top-most priority, delivering excellent service and ensuring quality products is highly essential. We try to exert every effort to ensure that you have a memorable experience with us and it is nice to know that you appreciated the services rendered by most of our ambassadors. Your compliments are very humbling and rest assured that this would motivate us to serve our guests even better.

However, we regret that you have encountered some lapses during your stay causing inconvenience and disappointment. Your recommendations and comments regarding ones comfort while in the room together with its functionalities and the shuttle service timings have been taken note both by the departments and the management. Hotel transportations are offered for our guest’s safety and convenient transportation requirements yet the option to take a public metered taxi is always possible though the availability is not within our control. Sofitel ambassadors are to act in such a way where they showcase the hospitality that Filipinos have been well-known along with French elegance and guided by the values set by the company. We apologize for the inappropriate behavior shown by one of the staff and please be assured that this is an isolated incident. We have always taken pride with the performance by our staff and will not tolerate acts that will compromise the values set by Sofitel.

We do hope that the experience did not mar your overall impression of the hotel, as we would love to be of service to you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,491 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,289 reviews
Conrad Manila
#3 of 32 in Pasay
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: Roxas Boulevard | CCP Complex, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: £94 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing