We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank FoggyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,594 - 2,600 of 4,995 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MariaFrancescaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Best Hotel in Manila, Location is by the Sea so no traffic noise.Many bars lounges and entertaining areas. The best buffet in Manila.After a few stays they know you personally by name.Always a pleasure staying at this hotel. One of the best Sofitels in the world today.
Must be the largest buffet in the Philippines at Spiral.

Room Tip: Best Hotel in Manila, Location is by the Sea so no traffic noise.Many bars lounges and entertaining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WillRIGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is very heart-warming that you consider Sofitel Manila as the best hotel in Manila. Your appreciation for our ambassadors, and our famous buffet restaurant, Spiral is truly a joy to hear. This will definitely motivate our team more in striving to provide a magnifique service to all of our guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joseph Cedric C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

it;s a family staycation during the easter week. My wife avail of the Accor membership to avail of the free room that we use during our stay. As expected, because it's a holiday many guest are checking-in. Good thing we have the Accor membership, so checking-in is a breeze. Our room was just ok. the faucet was broken but usable. the pool was great but as expected it looks like we are in a public pool.

Room Tip: be an accor member to avail of a free room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarr0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for staying with Sofitel Manila for an Easter staycation. We regret that we fell short of your expectations with the room as there was a broken faucet and since it was a holiday, a lot of families were enjoying the moment in the pool area. On the other hand, we are glad that you were assisted well during check-in.

Hope we will be able to have you back for another staycation.

Sincerely,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I used to stay at five stars hotels while on business trips, but now that I am retired, I only stay there on special occasion. One such occasion was my 60th birthday last June 18, and we chose to stay at the Sofitel because of recommendations on social medias, good promo prices, and because of the location near the sea.

We were prepared to have a great experience, but what was not our surprised when we were picked out of the check in line to be "Guess of the Day", with upgrades to the executive floor and the Milesime club, plus free extension to 4 pm and other perks.

We were absolutely thrilled by the experience, with our butler, Mr Romy Evengelista, going out of his way to please us - but actually the whole staff being really extremely caring and guessing what we wanted even before we knew what we wanted. Absolutely top service.

The breakfast is an experience all by itself and I would recommend that if you get a room there, get it with breakfast included, even if it costs a bit more. We also had $60 credit for food, and to our surprise, this was enough to have two well-served quality lunches for two (that is four plates) as some of the meals on the menu are very reasonably priced by European standards. Of course, as we were upgraded to the Milesime club we could also drink and snack à volonté, and that is a welcome extra. All the staff of Ms. Jahleel, the manager of the club, were especially elegant and courteous, though, again, I must emphasize that the overall service from everybody at the Sofitel was excellent.

The bed was also exceptionally comfortable, though a bathtub in the bathroom would be better than the otherwise great rainy shower.

My only suggestion to the Sofitel management would be to add a couple of chairs and a table on the terrace to be able to sip coffee while admiring the sea view and Manila bay area and enjoying the sea breeze.

All in all, we were just floating on a cloud through our extended stay and it truly was a very memorable special birthday! We would go back there anytime as the occasion arises.

Room Tip: Room 1154 was great and next to the suite where Obama stayed. Book with breakfast included, an absol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is a pleasure that you have chosen Sofitel Manila to celebrate a joyous moment in your life. It is also heart warming that you have shared your experience regarding your stay to the TrpAdvisor community.

Your appreciation for our ambassadors especially Romy and Jahleel is truly humbling. It is always our aim to ensure that we are able to provide a magnifique service to all of our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed Spiral and its 21 dining ateliers, the Club Millesime and the MyBed which is ergonomically designed to cocoon you into a deep sleep.

We have noted your suggestion regarding chairs at the balcony area. But due to safety and security purposes we did not put any. As for the bathtub, there are only limited rooms with bathtub.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went there to celebrate the birthday of our daughter in May 2014.

We had the experience of Sofitel Bayerpost in Munich and had absolutely loved the welcome and exceptional service and quality of the premises.

Upon arrival we were sold an upgrade (basically costs as much as the whole stay). This being an exceptional occasion, we bought it. The two only positive aspects: enjoying the child lounge where you can leave little kids to play while you relax, and enjoying the lounge where my wife was thrilled to see Filipino celebrities.

The welcome and service is also great with people welcoming you "Mabuhay, Bonjour" everywhere you go.

Where was a huge fail, is that after having sold me the upgrade, they placed us in a badly damaged room that was stinking, with damaged walls and horrible decoration (room 1161). I guess that room is a room for suckers. I had to call 2x and 3x, before they finally moved us to the room 1061 (just one floor below, which was uncomparably better).

I found it outrageous that the front desk sold us an upgrade just to put us in a horrible room. To be frank, quite dismal experience and not to my understanding of flattering your customers.

Another irritating point is when staff think they can establish a "personal" relationship by inventing that they saw you before (case of a lady sommelier at the restaurant). Tried also to sell me on "champagne", but alas, don't fall for such tricks.

One advice is to skip definitely the buffet restaurant: although the food is good, you will just spend excessively compared to the enjoyment.

Negative aspect: that each time you wish to enjoy the pool you must have upgraded and get a special bracelet. Sounds like they segment and slice their services in as many paying bits as they can.

On the plus side, if Mall Of Asia is all you are interested in, it is just a taxi ride away and they have a free shuttle to it.

Finally, the view on Manila bay is just gorgeous.

But on the whole? A mitigated experience, which falls far from Sofitel Munich.

Room Tip: Avoid absolutely room 1161 (stinking, damaged, no minibar). Room 1061 is quite ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreeMindXs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for choosing Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila during your stay in Manila. It is sad though that we were not able to meet all your expectations of our products and services. I have shared this to all department for them to take action especially on the room concerned. The swimming pool is available for all registered guests of the hotel regardless of room availed.

In spite of our shortfalls, your appreciation for our ambassadors greeting you everywhere you go and the child lounge is very humbling.

We hope to welcome you again and let you experience the service that the Sofitel brand is known for.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,347 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#11 of 110 in Manila
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: Roxas Boulevard | CCP Complex, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: £98 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing