We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful pool grounds ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful pool grounds ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel lobby was very elegant and grand. I almost got a bit embarrassed when my 4 year old son started running around. Check in was quick and efficient, however, they were unable to give us a king size bed which I had previously requested when booking. The hotel was apparently fully booked.

Room- Very cramped and old looking. The wardrobe doors were not sliding properly (it kept getting jammed) and the safe wasn't working. Worst of all was the view. As it was located by the bay, I was expecting a more relaxing view. It was literally a view of a car park (mostly concrete!). We shut the curtains straight away.

Location- very accessible and close to the airport and Mall of Asia.

Parking- while leaving to drop my parents off at the airport, the guards at the gate were charging us for parking. They told us that we needed some sort of permit thing from the reception counter. However, they let us through in the end and requested that we leave an identity card. Parking was extremely difficult! The hotel had reserved more than half the slots for guests from the American Embassy (many of them were empty too!). I think that all guests should have equal access to all parking slots.

Pool- this was certainly the highlight of our stay. The view was breathtaking! The loungers by the sea were so relaxing and made you feel like you were in another country. My son had a blast and made some friends.

Everything would have been perfect if it wasn't for the room. I will definitely go back if we return to the Philippines. Perhaps I'll request for a pool view instead.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JWP_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for staying with Sofitel Manila during your visit to the Philippines. It is a pleasure to know that you find the hotel’s lobby very elegant and grand and that your family enjoyed the pool area. The lagoon shaped pool facing the famous Manila bay view is one of the attractions of Sofitel Manila. A lot of our guest enjoys the luxury of a resort facility while still being in the city. We are very delighted to hear that your son had a blast and made some friends.

However, it is with regret that we were not able to provide you your preferred king size bed due to its availability. We have noted your comments regarding the room and the parking. This will be shared with the concern department for necessary action.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Manila.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,313
    1,336
    528
    201
    144
See reviews for
1,532
1,114
299
921
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
707 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a luxury hotel built by Manila bays reclamation area. Room is good size with comfortable bed and clean. Checking in and out was good. Since I often stay in this hotel, I would instead give you tips. When checking in, be sure you request the quiet side. The other side will put you facing plane landing sounds. Get your reservation to include breakfast, spiral serves very good breakfast, because when checking in, you have to sign a form prohibiting food being brought in. Quite unique. When checking out, and you need bell service, make sure you call them earlier, as they are so slow or maybe lacking in numbers. You also have pillow menu when sleeping.Make use of it. They also have free wifi. The closes shopping area here is Mall of Asia. There are restaurant near by. However everyplace needs a taxi.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the quiet side facing the bay or the pool. The other side facing the film center is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdchua521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to thank you for your continued patronage of Sofitel Manila. Your tips will be helpful to travelers who may wish to visit Manila. Your comments are very valuable to us as this will help us to improve the quality of our products and services especially on our bell service. Rest assured that we will continue to strive for excellent service.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

i stayed at sofitel for two nights with my partner as a birthday treat to self and after a long week of travelling to various cities/countries. to be honest, i didn't commit to doing the thorough research of the hotel but that it looked "comfortable and relaxing" enough for me. it met all those expectations and more, at a price of course, and with a few cons.

pros:

1/ overall service. we were treated like VIPs from the moment we stepped out of the jeep, with the conciege and doormen taking superb care of our bags, and were ushered straight to the priority check-in counter at the front desk. special mentions to Mr. Edward who served us with warmth, professionalism and a big smile. he noticed my birthday fell within my stay at sofitel and immediately upgraded me to a premium room with breathtaking views of the pool and bay. thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

2/ room service. the quality of the food and service received for room service was excellent. we felt like king and queen being fussed around with a perfectly presented table. food portions were larger than the ones we had at the outdoor cafe, and food was warm and tasty.

3/ rooms. rooms were wonderfully well-appointed, the mattress and sheets were sublime and the toiletries provided were comprehensive and quality products.

4/ food. the brunch buffet at spiral. nothing could prepare us for the spread of food, the freshness and yumminess. 21 ateliers, including a temperature-controlled cheese and cold cuts room. at approx AUD$60 a pop, you'd expect nothing less. fresh sashimi, peking duck, pasta station, perfectly portioned dessert selections, the works.

4/ overall. it was an all-in-one building - we learnt there was a boutique casino in addition to a spa, gymboree, aesthetics clinic, pharmacy, travel agency etc.

cons:

1/ room. pillows were too flat. we subsequently learnt there is a pillow selection menu.

2/ room. the shower should be upgraded. it is old, weak-pressured and took away the fine living experience.

3/ service. service at spiral. i noticed many have commented on this, and it was no different for us. we noticed many staff around, from the general manager to the assistant GMs to the chef to the wait staff, but they were not attentive, we often have to signal for them to clear our stacked-up dishes and even that took some time. also, they were pushing around a wine cart and offered us wine, which i eventually selected one. we knew nothing of it being an extra charge till we received the bill. that is not how things should be done and left me thoroughly displeased.

4/ service. we asked for a metered taxi to go to the mall. the doorman ushered us into one which turned out not to be metered. i have been to other hotels where the doorman ensures the taxi driver knows where we are going, ensures it is what we asked for and keeps a record of all taxis coming through to ensure their guests do not get ripped off.

all in all, it was a really enjoyable birthday vacation in sofitel for us. but for the staff at spiral, we were fussed around, greeted by staff everywhere we went and had top quality food. we were not far from chaotic downtown Manila, but we felt like we were in a resort bali, sans the beach -which is perfect for anyone seeking to escape that hectic hustle and bustle.

be prepared to pay though for the luxury; for the prices at the restros, sports bar, and all other additional services offered for your convenience are equivalent to singapore, if not australia, prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel-natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Sofitel Manila. We are glad that you celebrated your birthday with us. It is a pleasure to know that you were treated like VIP especially by our ambassador Edward. Your kind words will serve as an inspiration to all of our ambassadors to continuously strive for perfection. It is our aim that we will be able to provide all our guests need while staying with us.

We have noted of your comments regarding the pillow, the shower pressure, service in Spiral and the metered taxi. Rest assured that these will be shared with the team for necessary action.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Anybody who has enjoyed a stay in this hotel knows how superb the swimming pool is, how comfortable and clean the rooms are, not to mention the great breakfast buffet at the Spiral. The staff are all friendly and polite. Making my room reservation was made easy by Kevin, who efficiently detailed the different room accommodartions, rates and packages. What impresses me most is the personal touch we experience with Carlo Liwag (Front Desk) who was always patient with all our queries, and even asking us how our stay was when we were about to check out. These may be small kind gestures from staff but these are some reasons why I would like to visit again Hotel Sofite Manila.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is really heartwarming to read thru your review. It is always our aim to provide quality products and excellent service for our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Sofitel Manila to the TripAdvisor community. This will be shared to all ambassadors especially to Kevin and Carlo to continuously inspire as we strive to offer our guests comfort and convenience they well-deserved during the stay.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

In March 2014 I was a returning guest at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila for about 6 nights and the stay brought me back to the hotel again for another 5 nights from 22 - 27 June 2014.
The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the doormen were excellent and provided good help and care.

Some staff at the Spiral need to be more alert tho and also treat all guests alike

I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my business associates and friends and if my visit does not require me to travel to the Makati Commercial Centre then this is my choice of hotel

Room Tip: Ensure good Wifi connection as I had problems. A good Manila Bay and swimming pool view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip Chua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Our sincerest gratitude for the kind words of appreciation for our ambassadors at the reception and lobby area. This will be shared to all ambassadors to serve as an inspiration so that the same warm behavior and care be demonstrated all throughout the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at Sofitel Manila and we hope to welcome you and your business associates and friends on your next visit to Manila.

Kind regards,
Maureen Lagarto
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Property: Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing