We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call it 2 and half stars....”
Review of Pan Pacific Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Manila
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel. The staff was friendly. The rooms were really well put together with rich wood paneling and excellent attention to detail. Conference facilities were good. Beds were comfortable. Showers were....incredible. Great water pressure! Driver's service was pretty inexpensive and saved me from getting a car rental. The driver's were on point and were a pleasure to work with even in Manila traffic where traffic rules are optional.

Here's the middling side.

The evening cocktail hour/evening meal is pretty decent. The breakfast was not great for the price of the hotel or the size of the spread. The gym was 'fair'...three treadmills, some weight equipment, and the ability to use the 'broken down' cardio equipment in the available commercial gym that is attached to, but not part of the hotel. Wifi is fickle, particularly if you're trying to operate with two devices (tablet/phone). The arrangement between the pseudo-mall/casino next door and the hotel is...well...weird.

Now the downsides.

The neighborhood is a rude awakening. I understand Manila is not the richest city in the world, but I did not anticipate the human element which continued to 'wash up' on the respective shores of the hotel. There is a complete shadow economy surrounding the hotel with people peddling either stolen or fake electronics and drugs (Samsung S4/Cialis/Viagra), or KTVs (Karoake Bars) with aggressive 'pimps' or 'bar girls'. All of this with a 'PULICE' station within arm throwing distance. Toss in a few limb-less beggars and streetwalking 'transvestites' (HOLY CRAP WOW!...and not in a good way) and prostitutes and you start to get a feel for the neighborhood. Hang around in the hotel lobby in the evening and you'll see that some of the better monied 'pros' have the run of the hotel; a real breach of personal security. I'm not a prude by any extent of the imagination, but this was very 'in your face' behavior. The Diamond Hotel, in contrast, is two blocks away and has an exceptionally robust security presence and keeps the chaos, human trafficking, and human misery at arm's length.

The night I arrived, the bar was closing up and I asked if there were any restaurants or bars that were serving food. The first answer was 'we can get you room service'. That should have been my final answer. When I asked on the security staff, they ushered over a 'gentleman' who first, asked me if I wanted a girl, and then asked me if I wanted a massage. The security staff then spoke in Tagalic and I was taken down the street to a KTV where I was offered a choice of 30 women and all the beer I wanted to drink. I opted for the one beer and the plate of french fries and the opportunity to watch an 80 year old Japanese businessman stand on the Karaoke stage with four other women...which he later left the bar with. Even the most reputable looking of these venues place charge after charge on your bill, even without letting you know that they're doing it whith an implied threat that they will get police involved (or other muscle) if you don't pay up - so, yeah it's essentially extortion. My recommendation is to head over to Molly Malones, which has a late night menu, a nice, but a highly inefficient wait staff (45 mins to get breakfast, a hour to get dinner), some ex-pat flavor, and good pricing. If it's during normal hours, the Robinson's mall has a decent selection of restaurants.

I won't belabor the point.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MEZRANEXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest Mabuhay!


Thank you for taking the time to provide your feeddback on your recent stay among us.


It is Good to hear that you have truly enjoyed the friendlyiness of our Filipino hospitality and the modern comfort of our guest rooms.

It is alwasy good to hear that we offer great value and that you were generally delighted by the service provided by of our butlers.

we acknoowledge your comments with regard to the surrounding neighbordhood and its unconducive elements. As an active community partner, we are very engaged with Business owner associations and the local government units at uplifting and certainly refreshing the appearance and feel of the city.
There are indeed opportunities and we, as a Global Brand, are committed to those: we respect and care for our wider community with our concrete actions.

Thank you for for being loyal and promoting our Brand. We lookf forward to your next visit.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your Home and Family in Manila.

Warmest Regards. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Pan Pacific Manila is one of my favorite hotels in the metro. It is very accessible since it is located arms away of shopping malls, government offices and parks. We also dined at Pan Pacific 360 and the food is delicious. We had many choices of food and drinks. The staff is amazing.

Room Tip: Try staying in a room located in higher floors to enjoy less noise and have a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest Mabuhay!



Thank you for your wonderful feeddback on your recent stay among us.


It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed the ambience of our Property, and our friendly hospitality.

It is always good to hear that we offer great value and that you were delighted with your Pacific lounge experience.

Thank you for for being loyal and promoting our Brand. We lookf forward to your next visit.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment, please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

When you're in Manila This is one of the best Hotel. The food was great. the employee are so helpful to ur needs :) This Hotel is near Robinsons Manila so you dont have to worry about shopping too far. Walking distance. A Luxurious Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamAng168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest Mabuhay!

Thank you for your wonderful feeddback on your recent stay among us
and thank you for recognizing us at the "BEST HOTEL IN TOWN"!!!!.


It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed the ambience of our Property, and our friendly hospitality.

Good to hear that we offer great value and that you were delighted by our food preparations at the Pacific Lounge and by the service provided by of our butlers

Thank you for for being loyal and promoting our Brand.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your Home and Family in Manila.

Warmest Regards. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I loved this hotel. Its away from the noise the main street. The room was a great size and furnished nicely. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The security is tight so we felt safe here. Id definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onerenegade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest Mabuhay!

Thank you for your wonderful feeddback on your recent stay among us.


It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed the ambience of our Property, and our friendly hospitality.

It is alwasy good to hear that we offer great value and that you were delighted by the service provided by of our butlers

Thank you for for being loyal and promoting our Brand. We lookf forward to your next visit.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your Home and Family in Manila.
Warmest Regards. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spending 5 nights here in Manila with a lot of friends. Stuff and directorate were amazing friendly, helpful and gave suppert where ever support was needed. The pool area at 7th floor isperfect for relaxing. I recommend this PP in Manila

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helmut G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest Mabuhay!

Thank you for being with us and thank you for your wonderful feeddback.

It is Great to hear that you are truly enjoying the ambience of our Property, and the Frienliness of our People.

Yes, the sundeck is a Great Place to unwind and enjoy The Manila Bay SUNSET!

It is alwasy good to hear that we offer great value and that are delighted by the Hotel Experience we are creating for you.

Thank you for for being loyal and promoting our Brand.

If we can be of any further assistance, please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly.

Enjoy !

Warmest Regards. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having done a fair bit of traveling in the last several years I have become very particular in my choice of hotels, and in many cases have been met with disappointment. It was by chance, a year ago on an unplanned first visit to Manila that I stumbled across the Pan Pacific. In terms of value for money, this hotel is incomparable. From the warmth and charming nature of its staff, to the sublime buffet breakfast generally included in the rate, to its beautiful swimming pool, the Pan Pacific is a well oiled machine, due to general manager Richard and his executive assistant Josephine, who, unlike so many hotels I've stayed in, accept any criticism with grace and action. I come here often to spend time with my fiancee and this has become a second home. Practically everyone knows our name and the service is impeccable. The king size bed is flawlessly comfortable, and the location, in the Malate area, is conveniently located near some restaurants and a huge shopping mall, but foreign tourists need to be vigilant with the increase in beggars, especially children, who congregate the surrounding streets.
The hotel has a 'butler' service, specialized staff whose job it is to deal with any problems. Perhaps it's part of the Filipino culture that helps make this Pan Pacific an exceptional hotel, and one of the city's most popular. I can't recommend the hotel with more genuine enthusiasm and even for the breakfast alone, with its friendly omelette station and vast array of western and Asian cuisine, this hotel is one of the best in Asia that I have experienced thus far.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 12th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAUL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Valued Returning Guest Mabuhay!

Thank you for your wonderful feeddback on your recent stay among us.
And Thank you for electing us "One the Best Hotels"


It is always Great to hear that we offer great value and that you continue to be delighted by the service provided by of our butlers and their friendliness.

I most appreciate your personal recognition for my assistant Joesphine and myself and of coure all Our Butlers. Thank you you fo this indeed

I will duly share your kind message with our entire community.

Thank you for for being loyal to us and promoting our Brand.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly as usual .

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your Home and Family in Manila.
Warmest Regards et A Bientot. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really excellent hotel with very friendly and polite staff. The view from the room was perfect, I could have spent the whole holiday just sitting in front of the window. Swimming pool area is good for sun bathing and it has a sea view. Delicious breakfast is served on the top floor. The hotel is very clean, even the elevators have a nice odour! Location is good if you don't mind the girl bars and beggars, altho there are lots of sightseeings just a stone's throw away. If I have to give minus points, I would give them to breakfast staff: we had to wait the coffee for too long on few mornings. Anyway, had an amazing stay at Pan Pacific!

Room Tip: Take the room from higher floors with a city view. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aanavee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMasselin, General Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest Mabuhay!

Thank you for your wonderful feeddback on your recent stay among us.
It is Great to hear that you have truly enjoyed the ambience of our Property, our location and the views we offer from our rooms, the Pacific Lounge and the sundeck at our pool.

It is alwasy good to hear that we offer great value and that you were delighted by the service provided by of our butlers and their friendliness.

Thank you for for being loyal and promoting our Brand.

If we can be of any further assistance at the moment please just let us know and feel free to contact me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your Home and Family in Manila.
Warmest Regards. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,491 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Manila

Address: M. Adriatico corner General Malvar Streets | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manila
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#2 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: £91 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Manila Hotel is the first and finest luxury hotel in the Philippines that delivers the promise of royal treatment by providing all guests with impeccable 'Butler Service' - a unique concept of consolidated services associated with the utmost personalised care. Located at the heart of the historical and cultural district of Malate in Manila, Pan Pacific Manila Hotel is just a short drive from the city's convention, exhibition and business centres. It is just 8 kilometers away from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport.A business hotel, designed to offer a comfortable abode to business travellers with its excellent facilities and service, it has 236 all-executive rooms and 7 spacious function rooms that cater to the accurate needs of the most demanding clientele.Pan Pacific Manila was recently recognised as the Philippines' Leading Business Hotel at the 2008 World Travel Awards. The hotel also ranked 44th in the Conde Nast Traveler Magazine's 2008 Top 100 Readers' Choice Awards for Asia Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Manila Hotel Manila
Manila Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing