We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nostalgic but needs facelift”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

check-in: quick and efficient, but didn't get the welcome drinks they promised.
lobby: spacious with choir or folk music playing
room: stayed in the twin deluxe. The beds were more single than twin with not enough space to move around; mattresses were a bit on the hard side and not comfy. The pillows were soft though. Bed linen changed daily. Separate shower, toilet and bath. AC works fine. Big flat screen tv in the main bedroom and small flat tv in the wall of the tub which my son enjoyed. Complimentary 2 bottles of water daily. Toiletries ok, replenished daily. Minibar-nonexistent and they even promised free soda with our package but we never got them! Free internet access! Bedroom fixtures need an upgrade even though they are going for the historical theme.
pool: adequate sized and kid friendly. open till 10 pm.
gym: very good and up to date equipment open till midnight.
food: great variety, but I've tasted better.
staff: polite, courteous, helpful

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeg1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

our family stayed for a night in Manila hotel, we had dinner in Cafe Ylang Ylang, the food were diverse and the kids enjoyed the vast array of desserts ,the pool side have a view of the world famous "Manila Bay Sunset" and the gym are well equipped with a jacuzzi.Love the bathroom amenities by L'Occitane and with all the old world charm of the room ,beds were made of narra, with fluffy pillows we indeed had a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The highs of this hotel include: a great buffet breakfast, fantastic gym/ fitness centre, good concierge and pleasant staff.

The lows: poor pool area which is too small/ crowded, sundeck is shabby and service in the lobby coffee area is inconsistent.

This is a pleasant hotel but certainly not 5*. Both decor and service could and should be more slick.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p0rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent two nights in a deluxe room at a surprisingly good rate through DHR with breakfast included. I loved everything about this hotel. The room is a little tired, though spacious, overlooked the bay and the decor did not appeal. We spent very little time in the room. It is the foyer, the swimming pool and restaurant that make this hotel. There was a choir singing, people enjoy high tea, a wedding in the banquet room. This place is fascinating, you could people watch all day. It has that special feel that makes a great hotel. Outstanding buffet dinner and breakfasts. Left very satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willkeeptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just for reminiscing the past, we had coffee and tea on the lobby cafe. I find it overpriced though they gave complimentary cookies for the drinks we ordered. A cup of brewed coffee is about 150 or 180pesos. I ordered mango juice and the lady asked if a want the bottled or real fruit. I got the bottled for around 150pesos and it tasted like the concentrated mango juice i always buy in the supermarket. Not satisfied with the food but at least the ambiance is great with matching pianist at the background. I also tried the croissants sold at the bakeshop (also at the lobby) ...price okay, tastes ordinary.

NB: my son says meals served in their Champagne Room is the best and don't forget to try their buffets - the produce are fresh and they use original Angus beef for their steaks and bbq.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rossManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I visited the lovely Manila hotel in August and September of 2011. This was my first trip to the Philippines, so I really had no idea what to expect, other than what I had read online.

I have no hotels in Manila to compare this to, but what I can say is that this hotel was pure class. The lobby itself is grand and impressive. I loved the Philippine flags, the high ceilings and beautiful artwork. What really made an impression on me was the the music! There was often a pianist in the lobby playing beautiful music. I will never forget the evening where there was an orchestra, and we were serenaded by the most talented violinist. It was amazing.

The rooms were great. All of the amenities of home, and FREE Internet access, which was great.

We had massages two separate days because they were so wonderful. Best massage I have ever had - hands down!

There were many options at the breakfast buffet and we had fun trying all of the different foods.

Great stay at the Manila Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveler8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is an icon of the city, not only because of its name but its history. I stayed here with my brothers (we had a gift check) overnight and we were thrilled with our experience. The hotel's facade may be dull and dated, but the interiors and staff service make up tenfold for this.
The lobby is grand and very classical Filipino. We were welcomed with a pianist playing and throughout the day, the musicians changed. By dinner time there was a quintet playing.
I believe they are in the process of renovating and we were placed on the 14th floor which had new rooms. Ours had a view of the shipping port and of Manila bay which was nice. The rooms were a decent size but the beds were tiny, and the four pillows were a bit of an overkill.
We ordered room service for late lunch and it was delicious. The shrimp in my pesto pasta was absolutely perfect. The prices aren't bad for a 5-star hotel.
We also checked out the pool, which was a bit small. However, there is a lot of space for sunbathing and lounging by the pool.
The service was excellent and the staff were quick to respond to our requests for extra bottled water and to replace the bathroom TV remote (yes, there is a TV in the bathroom, over the tub).
I would love to stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annaxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#12 of 110 in Manila
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £71 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing