We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms in our wing were newly renovated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rooms in our wing were newly renovated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Corporate price per room at p6,000 was ok (published rate of p9000). Toilet and bath was grand, with small flat tv screen, phone and tub inside. Our room had great view of the Manila bay with ships passing by.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms, with view of the Manila bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    485
    153
    53
    24
See reviews for
319
390
137
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Still the best hotel for me and the family. I have 2 young kids and they enjoy this hotel as much as we do. Clean and spacious rooms, old filipino culture charms, warmth and friendliness of employees from cleaners to managers, kid friendly facilities, great food, fast service, no words are enough to describe our every stay here. I love love love the toiletries and soft clean towels. Location in the heart of manila is awesome as its near museums, historical sites and walking distance to ocean park.Have i told you guys about the welcome fruits and chocolates? And the pool area, best for kids and adults love love manila hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeyni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

An impressive entrance as you drive in, just as impressive is the number of staff in the entrance but I didn't quite get why so many - quite overwhelming actually & yet not a single staff directed us to reception, I had to ask where it was (tucked away to the side of the massive foyer). My room was big enough but it can do with a revamp on furnishings. It was a bit plain in comparison to the grandeur of the foyer. The buffet was excellent, the staff at the restaurant were the most accommodating. For the rate this hotel charges and the 5 star rating it holds, I expected a bit more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The facilities and lobby of thr hotel are very good and the hotel but the feel of an outdated Raffles hotel
In some ways it feels very traditional with the large chandeliers and piano playing in the background in the lobby. The receptionists are efficient yet officious as were some of the wait staff. The pool is very clean and has a swimm up bar. The breakfast bar is farly typical of most 5 star establishments with various international selections and the egg station.
The rooms are clean and spacious , the beds are very firm.The view of Manila bay is interuppted with the port and docks area.
The furnishings are very 80's all over the hotel and in definite need of an upgrade
Its central to the Intramusos old city and 10/15 minute cab ride from the Asia mall and 30 mins from the airport

Room Tip: Get a room at the top of the hotel with views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriswalsh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marikina City, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Manila Hotel has rich history and traditions. Worth staying in this hotel because this hotel is part of Philippine History. Rooms are clean and tidy. Staff are courteous and accommodating. I just hope they can make the rates affordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before my wedding day and 2 more rooms for my Uncle and my parents from Cebu. Overall experience was amazing. My parents room was facing the Manila Bay where they have great views of the sunset. Main lobby is clean and well appointed. Our reception in Sampaguita Hall was great. Service is excellent especially the house keeping that fixed our bed in time for the photo shoot. One thing you should not miss here is the breakfast, its great food and variety of choices from Continental to Filipino food. They taste great too. I have not been to any other hotel that serves such great breakfast. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

stayed at manila hotel for three nights last July. the hotel is great, grand, beautiful....our room was over looking the bay with the shipping yard or the port which we didnt mind because my husband loved watching the big ships dock and load and unload shipping containers (its a guy thing). The room was clean and spacious, though it is not fully sound prooff, we could hear people going in and out of their rooms and talking. Our room rate included a horse and carriage ride with a tour guide, I reccomend getting this package and i think it worked out cheaper as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour, we went to intramurous and a couple of museums, rizal park etc. it was very enjoyable and our tour guide was very knowledgable. It was a bit scary getting to intramurous though, a little horse and carriage in manila traffic, bus, jeepneys, taxis going everywhere, you get the picture.

We love everything about this hotel. except for two things. first the room service food, i dont know if im just picky, but i wasnt that impress with the food choices. The breakfast buffet had so much selection it is overwhelming, yes it is a huge spread but the food (taste) was underwhelming. I dont eat breakfast really, so i normally just get orange juice and a croisant, the croisant was a disappointment. Hubby wasnt too impress with the taste of the food either.
Second was the location of this hotel, because it is not on a main street, taxis are hard to come by. one time we waited nearly 40mins for a taxi. You cant just walk to the mall of asia to go shopping etc. not like if you stay in makati (we stayed at the peninsula and fairmont) you can just walk across the road to shop or eat. We also found that when we catch a taxi from the mall of asia, all of the taxi drivers we had always ask for more or a fix rate and wont use the meter to go to manila hotel. they always say beacuse of the location of the hotel and traffic. I dont know really. but incase someone come across a taxi driver(s) like we had, just ask them to use the meter and that u will give them a tip. the manila bay location is beautiful but we found it to be not very safe. One time we were in a taxi and kids were trying to sell us some flower garland, we didnt open the window and simply gestured no. few seconds later one of the kids has thrown a mud ball at our taxi. (Its not the hotels fault I know but i thought I should share this experience with my fellow travellers who want to know something about the over all location of the hotel).

We loved this hotel, and was going to extend our stay, but due to the main two reasons I just mentioned we went back to makati and stayed at the fairmont instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Property: The Manila Hotel
Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing