We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“year-end countdown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“year-end countdown”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spend our year-end countdown in this hotel. It was not our first time to spend year-end party here, we kept coming back! The party is awesome.Again, the lobby looks really great! I think one of the best looking hotel lobby in the Philippines. We stayed in the Aguinaldo Suite. I was surprised that it is one of the rooms that was not renovated (yet)! The room is not well lighted, only lampshades. And there is no balcony,only windows. Last year, I was impressed with our room, there is a flat screen tv on the bathroom. I will still give a high rating notwithstanding the minor inconveniences we had. Overall, this is one the best hotels in Asia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ces168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    483
    152
    53
    24
See reviews for
317
390
137
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel has history and you feel it as soon as you walk into the lobby. Rooms have been renovated so there is a modern feel once you are in your own cocoon. Decent gym and spa including in-room massage. Nice buffet for breakfast. Close to Intramuros and Rizal Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My Filipina companion and I stayed at the Manila Hotel on 2 separate occasions during a 3 week period, for 3 and 2 nights respectively for each stay. This is a lovely and historic hotel, and my friend was so proud to see the traditional architecture and furnishings of the Philippines on such fine display for visitors to Manila. The breakfast and dinner buffets are spectacular, tasty, and not-to-be-missed. The service from the staff is both gracious and attentive.

I would give this hotel 5 stars, except for some quirky and comic experiences. Frist, when my friend and I asked the doorman for a cab, he told us to sit in the lobby, that there were 6 people ahead of us, and it would be about 30 minutes. Astonished, we walked down the 30 foot driveway to the main road where a guard obtained for us a cab in about 30 seconds by hailing a cab from the highway. From that day forward, we followed this procedure and never had a problem with getting a cab quickly at the Manila Hotel.

Second, one evening we went to the dinner buffet and we were told that we could not be seated because we did not have a prior reservation. I laughed in the face on the hostess, because the spacious, multi-room restaurant behind her was only, at best, 25% full. I told her that we were guests at the hotel and we wanted to be seated. Another staff member hurried up to us and offered to seat us. We were in the restaurant for over an hour, and it was never more than 50% occupied, so I will never understand what that was all about.

Third, we booked a full body massage and foot massage at the hotel's spa, which were first class and excellent. However, we were told we could not have facials because a certain product was on order for over 6 weeks from Germany and there could be no facials without this mysterious and unidentified product. I found this to be disappointing and not worthy of a spa located at a fine hotel like the Manila Hotel.

Fourth, on our second stay, housekeeping could not seem to get it right. The top sheet on the bed was stained and there were crumbs on the rug when we checked in, and the clock radio was broken. When we called housekeeping, they responded immediately and were extremely apologetic. I don't want to be hypercritical, but I was disappointed in the condition of the room during our second stay at this beautiful hotel.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. It is lovely and worthy of the rave reviews it has received on this site.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Beautiful hotel with lovely staff and charming interiors, beautiful wooden furnitured rooms, and probably the best breakfast buffet out there! A winner and must go, at least for high tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I frequent stay here because of practical reason 1) hotel is been renovated like 3 or four year ago and still being well maintain 2) amazing facility like gym, spa and pool 3) reasonable price. Recently stay to spend xmas eve with my wife, the lobby was well design with xmas decor ... check in was quick despite the number guest at the check in counter, assign us to a room facing the city, king size bed which we requested at a non smoking floor. Room here are very spacious with complete amenities, room are clean and still well maintain, still there are few glitches such the wifi connection was a bit slow and the it took a while for air condition to cool the room, we didn't bother to visit the gym and the pool knowing that the number of guest will be using them, so we decided to stay in our room for sleep and relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

we stayed in this hotel and we consider this as one of the best hotels in the philippines. The rooms are nice and their bathrooms are great! The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, too. The food is delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I like Manila Hotel...the feel of the place, the location, the service. There was one thing that irked me though. After attending a banquet service last December 8, a waiter handed me a banquet evaluation form with a pen. Few minutes after, he came back to collect the evaluation form. I said I will submit the form myself. He explained that it is their procedure to collect the form on the day itself and to them so they can submit it to their manager. I explained that no evaluation form is submitted to the the same persons being evaluated. By this time, some members of our group were already complaining to the banquet service team about the questionable service we received that night. Perhaps sensing our bad report, they wanted to keep the evaluation to themselves. in fact, the same waiter when asking for the form back said, "hindi pwedeng makalabas ang form." I decided to give the form to the assistant manager on duty at his desk on the lobby. If he had done his job and submitted the form dutifully or kept the form, I do not know. I'm not writing complaints about the service here because we did encounter nice service while at Cafe Ilang Ilang especially this guy named Julio. We did have to bear with "the face" of another waiter when we cancelled a breakfast order a minute after he punched them. So it's hard to comment on the service as it is very different and inconsistent, but this one thing really bothers me...the transparency and openness on how they handle customer evaluation, which is very important in ensuring good consistent service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank expatbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
1,156 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 109 in Manila
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Property: The Manila Hotel
Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing