We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the Aha Moment?”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Where's the Aha Moment?”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I'm one very disappointed visitor having endured a long flight, and finally having the chance to see and experience this place left me literally mortified. Being a national landmark, this place lacks luster big time.

Security was tight, even bags are x-rayed and monitored. Lobby is nice. Service is poor, actually no customer service at all! Do all that work here government employees? Because that's what I felt! No hi's no hello's, even agent offered no smile at all and wasn't listening.

Elevator is downtrodden with dust, hallway is dark and my room dingy. Bed runners were kept under the TV, stains on the sheets, hair all over the place, bathroom was leaking, shower nobs loose, mirrors were spotted with stains etc...

I did not sleep at all! How embarrassing! I'm one nice reviewer here, and by no means take things personally but come'on this place is a horror!

Sorry, this place ranks the worst hotel I've been to. Underserving of 5 stars, actually 2 stars ;(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kewihiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    502
    158
    53
    27
See reviews for
331
407
138
302
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I first stayed at the Manila Hotel almost ten years ago, for several weeks -- at a time when it had become a bit run down, even though it was still rather gorgeous. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay then, and the service was impeccable. This time, almost a decade later, I found the hotel refurbished, the rooms even more comfortable (the bed in my room was one of the best I've ever slept on at any hotel anywhere) and the service -- despite the demands of a huge number of guests who were there for a two-week convention -- above reproach.

Yet, I found myself noticing a few things which at other hotels one might not usually observe, but given the air of perfection about the Manila Hotel stood out a bit this time around. The little cafe area outside the pub/bar could do with a more imaginative aesthetic -- yes, it's a casual space, but the screen that separates it from the main lobby is a plank of wood that needs to be polished better -- the current look is rough. The breakfast buffet is absurdly busy -- I don't know if there is a way to better balance the number of guests and the rush that ensues with a more spacious layout and seating arrangement, but the breakfast environment is frankly not all that pleasant -- even though the food itself is very good. And, in my particular case, the hotel made a mess of the billing process -- insisting, without having notified me earlier, that because I had planned to stay for a couple of months, I would have to pay the entire amount up front rather than the reasonable deposit of a couple of weeks that is usually done. I made my surprise and displeasure felt and heard via my office travel desk, and the hotel immediately reversed the charge they'd made on my credit card (without having even asked me for my permission in the first place) -- but this did sour my mood, even though the hotel management did apologize.

I would definitely return to the Manila Hotel on a future trip -- it does a great job -- but, as I found out when I switched to the Pan Pacific Hotel (in Malate), the Manila Hotel is not the only game in town. My Pan Pacific experience has been perhaps even more enjoyable -- more of which in a separate review after my current stay there comes to an end.

Room Tip: A higher floor, facing Rizal Park or the Manila Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent there 5 nights and had an international conference there. This was the only reason for me to stay there. Usually I stay in Makati.
I didn't expect much, but was surprised. The service is very good everywhere, breakfast is the widest and richest I have ever seen, the pool is big and nice, lobby + bar look like an old, but well maintain palace. In this hotel you would expect the room to be old fashion, but, it is new, clean and with all the facilities you need + a water resist TV and remote control at the bathroom.
Maybe check in and out can be a bit more effective and faster, but, we are talking about minutes here and there, that do not affect the whole good and pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank boazsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Fantastic staff. Lovely grounds. Well maintained room. Near historic tourist destinations. A buffet that never ends. The internet had its moments with poor speeds but other than that all was perfect, including a very reasonable price. A did not have time to visit the McArthur suite (preserved in time working office of General McArthur) but hope to do so on a future visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joelob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here one night last weekend on business. Check in was chaotic, but in fairness there was a wedding and a prom evening all together in the lobby, so fair enough.
The hotel was started in 1912 and
the lobby reflected this, glorious high beamed ceiling, my expectations were highish.
The quiet room selected on the 17th floor was just that, and looked great when I opened the door, including bowl of inviting fruit and free water.
There were no double beds left so I was happy with a single bed, but it was quite hard and not very comfortable.
But the skirting boards all around we're not clean and dusted , and the carpet a bit weary and not cleaned all around the edges, and it made me question how clean the rest was. The loo had a patched plastic bit on the base at the back, stuck on with tape, which had fallen off, and the loo seat was a cheap one.
The sliding wooden window screen looked nice, but one had come off the runners and if you wanted the view, you had to reattach it every time.
Room service was prompt, but the meal very disappointing at 7.30pm, looked and tasted 'stewed' and poor presentation.
Breakfast was buffet and quite ok if you could locate the various items, but it had a chaotic feel about it

Overall I would not stay here again, the hotel was tiredl Most of the guests were Philippinos and it is clearly a very popular hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper storey room as noisy downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippabray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I offered a stay in a sunset suite for 2 nights as a Xmas gift to my mum. She was delighted! Everybody was really attentioned, the suites have been recently refurbished with all the nicest equipment and connectivity. The view on Manila Bay was fantastic and in some places, you really have the feeling to live in another century in this place filled with history (hemingway bar, lobby,...)

Service and customer care were always first class with a smile!

Room Tip: Sunset suite have a nice view on sunset on Manila Bay. View is beter from Sofitel though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My first visit to this magnificent hotel was over 30 years ago and finances prevented me from staying longer (or even eating there). I vowed that upon my next visit (a bit like Douglas MacArthur once said) I would return. The fabulous Manila Hotel did not disappoint. The cavernous lobby was festooned with Chinese New Year decorations and the hotel was gleaming. Our room overlooked Manila Bay- still grimy but a very pleasant sunset. Breakfast was stunning with many stations set up catering to all tastes. We do recommend the hotel tour of The Macarthur and Presidential Suites. Whist there are many more gleaming 5 star hotels in Manila to tempt the traveller, the Manila Hotel is in a class of it’s own. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#11 of 108 in Manila
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 108 in Manila
1,217 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 108 in Manila
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Property: The Manila Hotel
Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cancelon so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing