We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past...”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Manila Hotel at one time one of the best hotel in Manila however it is showing signs of aging. The good news is that I can see some upgrading done from the last time I was there. Very large room size but furniture is dated but new technology is added like wifi and a TV on the bathroom. The TV in the bathroom is a nice touch but it is place a bit to high and beside the bathtub instant of the front which make it a bit difficult to watch if you are lazying in the tub. A very big gym and swimming pool. Breakfast is also quite nice with a very wide selection. The staff is also fantastic and they change the style uniform everyday. Not too guest friendly. Location is also not good unless your business is around that area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LarryGwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had the wonderful occasion to stay at this hotel in March, and May. An outstanding property with a rich history. Like stepping back in a grand time, with first class reception. The entire staff is wonderful, and extremely accommodating. This will always be my first choice hotel while staying in Manila. Right next to Intramuros, and Fort Santiago is a must visit. St. Augustin Catholic church is within the fort walls, and it is the oldest Catholic church in all the Philippines.
Get a room on a top floor with a bay view. Beautiful sunsets!
Don't forget your swim trunks, as the pool is awesome!

Room Tip: Top Floor - Bay view rooms are awesome! Don't miss the buffet breakfast, as it is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Check-In/Reception:
Like many hotels in Manila, you need a pass a metal detector and an x-ray machine. The hotel x-ray screeners detained my pair of scissors, although there was no notice that scissors are banned in the hotel. I found this is a misguided approach to security.
Although we checked in around 2.00 pm, our room wasn’t ready and were informed that it would take about 30 minutes for the room to be ready. We were given a complementary beverage and told that the receptionist will call us in 30 minutes. After one hour, I approach the reception to inquire about the status. The room was ready but the receptionist forgot to call us. No big deal.

Room:
You have to take an antiquate elevator (but charming) to the room. The room was basic, having stayed in five star hotels in Manila, room was nothing special. It is difficult to consider the Manila Hotel matches standards of other five star properties. Our room was very basis. The room only had only one bedside table and the chairs in the room were very flimsy. The rooms were in need of a refurbishment.

Breakfast:
Our room booking included breakfast. The breakfast buffet is extremely crowded. This hotel gets loads of tour groups and they all show up to the breakfast buffet, and it becomes so crowded and noisy. If your expectations are to have a peaceful breakfast, you might want to look elsewhere.

Gym:
The hotel gym is decent and well maintained.

Overall Impression:
When you arrive at this hotel, you are very happy to see the grand colonial style. But, in my opinion, it doesn’t meet the hype. In addition, the hotel is located in the middle of n where. You need to get a taxi to any shopping or restaurants/cafes (including Starbucks). There is virtually nothing with within walking distance. This hotel resembles a tour group and function theme park – there are always busloads of tour groups and all kinds of functions. This is certainly not a place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

In the past, I think the Manila Hotel in Manila Bay was the standard of excellence but in today's modern times, the rooms are getting a bit dated. The hotel lobby itself is great as it has a spacious and traditional feel to it. We found that the customer service there was wanting. Checking in was annoying as it wasn't clear where you could check in. So people coming in after us were checked in before us because they went to someone who was open, instead of first in, first out at most hotels. You get a free drink when you check in but after giving the server our coupon, we waited 20 minutes before we got our mango juice drink. We had to remind another server that we were waiting for more than 15 minutes.

The rooms are clean but dated in terms of its look. The wood carved paneling around the TV might have been classy 20 years ago but today, it looks cheesy. The bathrooms were good and they modernized the shower to have the rain showers so that was good. There was also a full sized tub there so you could relax and bathe in it.

The breakfast buffet was included as part of our package and it was very good in terms of selection. There was wide assortment of Filipino and international cuisine available. But I found their ability to make good tasting omelets wanting. Maybe it's because they didn't put any cheese in their omelets. The buffet even had an assortment of candies that you could eat. But if you have kids, you might not want to point this out to them (it was located on the wall near the pastries).

The pool was a nice sized pool with a swim up bar so that was very enjoyable. Their weight room was very good as there was a wide selection of equipment available for use. The steam room and jacuzzi upstairs from the weight room were good too.

Of course, the hotel drinks and snacks inside the room were over priced. But the hotel was located close to Manila Ocean Park so you could easily buy snacks and drinks there. The hotel is close to Rizal Park but there weren't many good restaurants nearby. But we did find a Chow King and Jolibees within a 10 minute walk. If you walk out to Roxas Blvd, cross over the big road and walk to your right, you will find the fast food places here. The closer fast food places were in the mall co located with Manila Ocean Park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it has not failed to impress this time around.
Receiving a warm welcome at the door, we arrived a couple of hours early for our reservation, hoping to store our luggage until the rooms were ready.

To our surprise, the hotel allowed us to check in early at no additional charge and arranged to have our rooms ready within minutes.
The complimentary buffet breakfast buffet were plentiful in selection and freshness of food.

The assistance from the concierge when enquiring about doing tours for both the history of the hotel and the nearby old Manila fortress, Intramuros, were helpful and informative.
The customer service received from all outlets we visited within the hotel grounds has been flawless.
It is apparent that there is intensive training provided to the staff and they are all customer focused.

The operators of this establishment should be really pleased with the results they receive.

I love the rich history this hotel has and it's understandable why people keep coming back.

It is also centrally located to malls, restaurants and bars which is easily accessible on foot, tricycle or taxi and not too expensive to go to either.

I highly recommend staying at this hotel as they are able to maintain their high standards of service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Manila hotel has an old world charm to the hotel. Great lobby with lots of spaces and staff wearing traditional outfits and they are extremely friendly and attentive. The restaurant is great and it has a great seaside view. The rooms are good size with plenty of space even for a small family. But while the hotel kept its old world charm it lacks the modern amenities that modern travellers are used to, such as there is no IPTV or Interactive TV in the room for family to be entertained or order services from the TV. WiFi is not free and has to log in using a cumbersome authentication process everywhere. The internet is also slow. There is no hotel application for guest to check in online or make online request for services. The hotel lacks digital signage to show what's going in the hotel or provide any "wayfinding" to navigate around the hotel. The hotel is also in a bit of a distance away from the "business center" but it's close to areas like the "Old Manila". So if you are looking to relax and have a quite and old fashioned charm stay then this is the hotel to stay in but if you need modern amenities this Hotel fails to deliver in those areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tristan_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel last year , June 2013 and another time last month May, 2014. We booked 3 rooms for a big family wedding. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet offers a great array of Filipino and international dishes. Kids 4 years old and below can have free breakfast. The only downside to our stay is the frequent deactivation of our room keys. The concierge and reception / front desk staff are very helpful and courteous. Ask for the complimentary bottled water from room service/ housekeeping. On the way up to my room , from the lobby, I tripped on the stairs but was glad that the security personnel and the hotel staff quickly helped me stand up and the hotel staff even made sure that I was okay and was led safely to my room. My daughter developed allergies after eating from the buffet, but was quickly attended to by the very efficient and skillful Manila Hotel nurse. Thanks Manila hotel

Room Tip: Get the rooms near the side of the Mc Arthur suite because the elevators there, are not floor speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#11 of 110 in Manila
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £72 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing