We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel to stay! I highly recommend <3” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Oskarshamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel to stay! I highly recommend <3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good location, nice and friendly personnel and room with a touch of luxury! We enjoyed dining at the hotel's resto and had a perfect drink at the bar with live music band a gorgeous singer who sings like a Goddess!

Room Tip: A perfect place to live <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    467
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
305
368
132
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Situated on Manila bay and Roxas Blvd. near Intramuros - a grand old hotel from a bygone era whose marble and stone is etched with history and culture - a hotel that hosted the likes of Gen. Douglas MacArthur, Robert Kennedy, and The Beatles.
From the outside it is weathered and worn but once inside through the tight security and grand entrance you take a step back in time to when hotels treated guests as celebrities and sultans. I felt terribly under-dressed and yet I was treated as if i were Kipling himself. I was promptly escorted across old marble floors to a modern yet appropriately finished elevator that kept with the fine and classic craftsmanship of colonial artisans to the most well appointed room I have yet slept in.
The rooms are modern and updated. The bathroom has a modern and luxurious shower with separate tub that is so big that my six-one 215lbs almost nearly layed flat. The bed is super comfortable with the finest sheets and pillows. The furniture is classic and luxurious without seeming decadent. The in-room wifi was the best I have ever had in the Philippines (speed and reliability).
My room came with complimentary breakfast buffet for two. The buffet was without a doubt the best buffet I have ever seen. It seemed endless with the highest quality foods.
The pool was nice with private areas to relax undisturbed.
The bar was elegant and smug with history. The bar staff where particularly attentive and rife with stories.
Simply put, I love this hotel. If only the hotel lived in Makati it would be perfect for me as that is where I prefer to stay when in Manila. However it is perfectly situated for those wishing to explore old Manila/Intramuros/Baywalk/Binondo. I recommend this hotel absolutely.

Room Tip: West facing rooms look upon Manila Bay and the hotel pool and get the most spectacular sunset in Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed twice in May...

The bed was amazing with soft sheets and great support, and we were far enough up that there is absolute quiet in the room. A good sleep is primarily what I look for in hotels :)

Check-in seems slower than normal, but that's also fine as then you get to spend time in the lovely lobby. Rest of the service from porters to greeters were excellent, polite and very friendly.

The only glitch is the breakfast. Food is great, but there are a lot of tables and a lot of people. We came in at about 9 am or so, and it was probably at the worst time. We were given a table, but when we came back from getting food from the buffet, they have given the table to other people. We were then shown another table (we were carrying our food the whole time), but then the people who went to the buffet came back to claim it as their table.

After this kerfuffle, we were shown to a private dining room, which is nice as we stayed away from the noise and our toddler can run free in the room. Being busy is not an excuse; this was a complete disaster, but at least, they fixed....

I would definitely come back, and perhaps they would have sorted the breakfast issue by then. (I think a simple trick like putting the coffee cups up to indicate that a table is taken would do the trick!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBriones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was our second stay at the Manila Hotel and we loved it.

You enter the lobby and you just feel good, carried by this delighful musical atmosphere. "Grandeur oblige", one would want to say.

We loved the classic wood furniture in the large and comfortable rooms. The connection to the internet is hardwired, so you get a very good signal.

And if you have the luck of getting a room with view on Manila Bay: These grandiose sunrises and sunsets are just overwhelming!

The breakfast is simply first class (great espresso). The staff is, as in all hotels of this category, extremely attentionate, well trained and friendly.

.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CSTZug_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Manila Hotel at one time one of the best hotel in Manila however it is showing signs of aging. The good news is that I can see some upgrading done from the last time I was there. Very large room size but furniture is dated but new technology is added like wifi and a TV on the bathroom. The TV in the bathroom is a nice touch but it is place a bit to high and beside the bathtub instant of the front which make it a bit difficult to watch if you are lazying in the tub. A very big gym and swimming pool. Breakfast is also quite nice with a very wide selection. The staff is also fantastic and they change the style uniform everyday. Not too guest friendly. Location is also not good unless your business is around that area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LarryGwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had the wonderful occasion to stay at this hotel in March, and May. An outstanding property with a rich history. Like stepping back in a grand time, with first class reception. The entire staff is wonderful, and extremely accommodating. This will always be my first choice hotel while staying in Manila. Right next to Intramuros, and Fort Santiago is a must visit. St. Augustin Catholic church is within the fort walls, and it is the oldest Catholic church in all the Philippines.
Get a room on a top floor with a bay view. Beautiful sunsets!
Don't forget your swim trunks, as the pool is awesome!

Room Tip: Top Floor - Bay view rooms are awesome! Don't miss the buffet breakfast, as it is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Check-In/Reception:
Like many hotels in Manila, you need a pass a metal detector and an x-ray machine. The hotel x-ray screeners detained my pair of scissors, although there was no notice that scissors are banned in the hotel. I found this is a misguided approach to security.
Although we checked in around 2.00 pm, our room wasn’t ready and were informed that it would take about 30 minutes for the room to be ready. We were given a complementary beverage and told that the receptionist will call us in 30 minutes. After one hour, I approach the reception to inquire about the status. The room was ready but the receptionist forgot to call us. No big deal.

Room:
You have to take an antiquate elevator (but charming) to the room. The room was basic, having stayed in five star hotels in Manila, room was nothing special. It is difficult to consider the Manila Hotel matches standards of other five star properties. Our room was very basis. The room only had only one bedside table and the chairs in the room were very flimsy. The rooms were in need of a refurbishment.

Breakfast:
Our room booking included breakfast. The breakfast buffet is extremely crowded. This hotel gets loads of tour groups and they all show up to the breakfast buffet, and it becomes so crowded and noisy. If your expectations are to have a peaceful breakfast, you might want to look elsewhere.

Gym:
The hotel gym is decent and well maintained.

Overall Impression:
When you arrive at this hotel, you are very happy to see the grand colonial style. But, in my opinion, it doesn’t meet the hype. In addition, the hotel is located in the middle of n where. You need to get a taxi to any shopping or restaurants/cafes (including Starbucks). There is virtually nothing with within walking distance. This hotel resembles a tour group and function theme park – there are always busloads of tour groups and all kinds of functions. This is certainly not a place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#9 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
The Bayleaf
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Property: The Manila Hotel
Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing