We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good business hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Hotel Philippines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamond Hotel Philippines
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you are able to get good price deal, it is certainly good option for Manila! Good and large selection breakfast, plenty of TV channels on flat-screen TV, all amenities you need, clean and efficient service, smiling staff - all speak for this hotel.

Just a few minor remarks to justify my 4 out of 5 star rating:

- access to swimming pool is via 2nd floor and through metal spiral stairs: not convenient
- pool itself small for the number of rooms
- strange system to request free newspaper- to put out sign before 9 pm. Last night, even if I did so, no newspaper...
- rather slow internet via cable with many European sites extremely slow or blocked
- free minibar is just 2 bottles of ice tea in addition to water, not replenished


All in all, recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    378
    88
    44
    36
See reviews for
187
192
91
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

All Nippon Airways cancelled our flight to Tokyo because of maintenance issues so they put us up (along with many other upset travellers) at the Diamond. I can't comment on the value for money as our rooms were paid for. We were pleasantly surprised after the shuttle dropped us off. It is a very nice luxury hotel located in downtown Manila. I was hoping for Makati but you take what's given to you.

The room was large and comfortable and had a very nice view of the bay. Pretty standard for luxury hotels in Asia. (Luxury hotels in Asia are always better than the equivalent at my home in North America)

What surprised us was the amazing buffet. The beautiful dining room was recently renovated. The selection of food was extensive and well presented. I don't know how much this costs because it was included for us. Nonetheless, the food was excellent.

The hotel is located downtown which might be convenient for some travellers. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in March 2012 and found it to be very nice and clean. I stayed in an Executive Suite, which was perfect to spread out and entertain people who came to visit. The master bath was very large with full tub and large shower and there was another full bath by the entrance. The master bedroom was very large with king size bed and an LCD tv. The living room had a nice table to dine as well as a couch that converted into a pull-out bed as well as a very large LCD tv. Local bottled water and bottled TV was complimentary from the mini-bar. The view was very nice overlooking the waterfront. The location was right for me as I was coming from the port area, which was only 5-10 minutes depending on traffic and the SM Mall of Asia was also very close.

A few of the negatives: only 3 hours of internet were included in the room (and only with ethernet cable, no wi-fi in the room), the pull-out bed was so uncomfortable it was unusable, there are several extra taxes but that is true anywhere in Manila, and even after paying for a relatively expensive suite they still try to get you to upgrade to the "Diamond Club" package to get access to the lounges and free happy hours. I would have thought that it would have been included at the price of the room compared to other rooms and hotels in the area.

There is a buffet restaurant, The Corniche, in the main floor of the hotel and it is very nice but on the expensive side (around $34 per person for lunch). The food was outstanding and a great mix of Western and Eastern offerings. We had a group of people join us for lunch, so the 10% service fee and food tax, beverage tax, and VAT added quite a bit on top of the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kragujevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel does not diserve 5 stars because:
1. Not feeling welcome
2. Staff's focus is not on guests
3. Missing the friendly Philippinos
4. Internet room charge of USD 20 per day is a rape! You get 1mb speed, many contents from Europe and USA are blocked. The public internet in the lobby is great, so if you can access it from the room, DO NOT BUY IT IN ROOM
5. The hotel restaurant is to expensive

Me, never again here

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShumadiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
649 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

stayed 2nights 3 days in this hotel , lobby was actually nice , many guests noted at this time, since there was an ongoing convention nearby, and several activities are held in this property.. rooms : spacious , comfortable enough , not quite sound proof , television not the lcd type , i actually compromised for a non smoking in the lower floors , but it seems the upgraded tv's are in the higher floors ..bathroom are good, functional , shower stall not separate ...internet wired is free in the rooms x 3 hrs daily ...internet is also free in the lobby.. security aspect is quite good, and card keys provide elevator access , .. visually inspect the health center and the swimming pool area , and yes they seem updated .. staff service seem inconsistent , some are very courteous but some seem disinterested , well maybe they are tired .... breakfast buffet was quite good , definitely the food selection, service and facilities expected for a 5 star hotel ... what i liked in this hotel that separates it from the other top hotels in the area such as pan pacific, hyatt ( best restaurants is the advantage ) , manila hotel are the following ... 1) free items in the mini bar such as the drinks and cookies 2) free internet , which the other top hotels don't offer , from what i know and experienced 3) best rooms with the sunset view ...

Room Tip: request for the room with the palisading sunset view , you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Diamond Hotel recently for two days and three nights, mainly to attend a lecture series at a nearby school, but also used the time to take a break from my usual routine.

My comments on specific aspects of the hotel that I directly observed/experienced:


CHECK-IN: Check-in took about ten minutes or so, which was the time it took for them to process my credit card (for the deposit) and for me to sign some papers. My reservation was made directly through the hotel website. There were only three of us at the counter at that time and all were being attended to by a hotel staff.

ROOM: I was given a premiere corner room on a non-smoking floor, and had both a city and bay-side view. From my perch, I was able to appreciate the famous Manila Bay sunset, and had a view of the hotel pool. The room given to me had generous windows, which is what I really prefer in any room I stay in, allowing natural light to stream in from outside. Unfortunately, since the previous days had been very hot, I had to draw the heavy curtains around noon it tended to get hot in the room even with the airconditioning unit at full.

Room was sufficiently large: I could imagine a child doing cartwheels inside the room with ease. Bed and pillow was comfortable enough.

Hot water in the bath was consistent.

Three complaints regarding the room though:

1) I suffer from allergic rhinitis, and my condition tells me that the room (carpet, bed, sheets, and sofa) needs some airing or at least a more thorough cleaning since I had a runny nose while staying in the hotel. Also, even though the room was labeled non-smoking, I still had the impression of detecting faint scents of smoke wafting in the air.

2) Even though my room was located way up the hotel and all windows were shut, noise of vehicles from the street is still audible inside the room.

3) I don't know if it is just me, but definitely, the shower, lavatory and toilet cannot be operated at the same time perhaps due to low water pressure. After flushing the toilet, I noticed that it took some time for water to come out of the lavatory faucet.

BREAKFAST: I paid for room and buffet breakfast upon reservation. Fairly large selection of food at breakfast (Filipino, Continental, Chinese, Japanese) although it appeared to be the same set served daily. I am stating this from my observations on two consecutive days of sampling the buffet breakfast.

SECURITY: Metal detector + body frisking + baggage inspection + K9 at lobby + Key card access for elevator

STAFF: Average. Some were courteous, but others were conspicuously more courteous towards foreign guests.

CHECK-OUT: Check-out was a breeze. Around five minutes at the most from the time I approached the front desk until I signed the bill.

CONCLUSION: I might go back, but would also like to try the Hyatt located nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ML_Visayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is more of a business hotel... the service was wonderful but not personalized. Breakfast was superb, excellent buffet. The room was just a so so since we took the cheapest.... TV set was the old one with a taped remote...I didn't expect that in a 4 star hotel...but its not a big deal. I bet they replaced it by now...haha! The view from the room was fantastic...just over looking the Roxas Bl., Manila bay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSMgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#4 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
The Bayleaf
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel Philippines

Property: Diamond Hotel Philippines
Address: Roxas Boulevard cor. Dr. J. Quintos St., Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Hotel Philippines 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent golden sunset of the Manila Bay is the five-star hotel Diamond Hotel Philippines. A luxury hotel in Manila with a sunset view, Diamond Hotel is only minutes away from the international and domestic airports, and from the Makati business district. Diamond Hotel is near SMX Convention Center, Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) and the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC). It is also near SM Mall of Asia, Robinsons Manila and other shopping destinations. Also within the vicinity are Manila's famous historical landmarks, cultural sites, and Malate's spectacular nightlife. Diamond Hotel has a variety of restaurants and bars specializing in different cuisines and diners are sure to have a remarkable dining experience. Function rooms are also available for memorable weddings and successful corporate events. Swimming pool and outdoor whirlpool, tennis court, Diamond Spa, LifeSpan Reflexology and Diamond Club gym facilities are perfect for recreational and fitness activities. Service from the efficient and courteous staff of Diamond Hotel Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Diamond Hotel Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing