We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 5-star hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Hotel Philippines
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm going to start with the positives by saying the room was nice and comfortable. The bed was really comfortable and so were the big pillows. It's so easy to spend the whole day sleeping in this hotel.

My complaints were mostly with the service and the 'privileges' we were supposed to have. We stayed during holy week to relax, and that time they had a promo where we can upgrade our room to the Diamond Club, and the perks looked pretty enticing so we did.

We had a buffet breakfast, but the since the main dining area was too crowded we were redirected to another dining area which had fewer food--even though we paid the same as those who ate in the main area.
Then the other day we went to the 24th floor lounge for some snacks...and there was no one there! Granted, we stayed during the holy week which probably meant the staff had many people to attend to...but is it too much to expect to be served at the lounge? We had to get our own drinks at the small fridge that I think only the staff were allowed to open. But what could we do? There was no one there.
Since the one of the perks of the Diamond Club was that we get to have international newspapers, I called operator with the intention of asking if they had a Spanish newspaper. El Pais, maybe. When the operator picked up, I asked "You offer international newspapers, right?", and the operator answered that yes, and it will be sent to my room. What will be sent to my room? I didn't even say what newspaper I wanted! Needless to say, nothing came to my room.
Another perk of the Diamond Club was free rental of the Nintendo Wii for a few hours, so I did. The Wii came with only two games: Wii Sports Resort and Wii Fit. The balance board of the Wii Fit didn't work at all, and the Wii Sports Resort required the nunchuck controller to be able to play, which wasn't provided. So while I was able to rent the Wii, none of the accessories worked and nothing can be played. What a waste.

So there. I'd say if your only intention is to get a basic and comfortable room to sleep in, it's a great hotel for that. But if you're going to this hotel to kick back, relax, and have fun with family, then you should probably choose a better hotel. One that actually delivers on its promises.

Room Tip: Don't get the Diamond Club upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Diamond Hotel Philippines!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Diamond Hotel Philippines. We appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments will help us continue improving our service.

We would like to express our heartfelt apology for any inconvenience you had during your last stay with us. Rest assured that we would immediately implement improvements on our services to ensure that your next stay will be more satisfactory and pleasurable. We shall cascade to the team your valuable comments. Please feel free to contact us at your most convenient time should you have suggestions on anything to make your next stay with us a more delightful experience.

Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us. We hope you can visit Diamond Hotel Philippines again in the not so distant future.


Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for their Easter promotion which includes a deluxe room and a ticket to the Easter show on Sunday. We got here early and fell in line for check-in. The room was already ready as it was past 12 noon (before their 2pm check-in time) and they did let us in the room immediately. The room was spacious with a King sized bed and requested for a baby crib. They use the Graco play pen and my son enjoyed it!

We ate dinner in the hotel at their Japanese restaurant and it was good. It's pricey considering it is a 5-star hotel but it's worth the experience if you are first time to dine there. The desserts at the cake club/hotel lounge was awesome and the most enjoyable. We had ice cream (Valrhona and cheesecake) and it was superb. Cake also was great!

The next day, the breakfast buffet was full. There were a lot of options like Breads, Chinese, Filipino, American dishes. But given that we had lunch buffet one time (which was expensive), the breakfast is a level below the lunch. But given it's included in the room (Php5k per night or $115) it's worth it.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel's amenities like the pool, lounge, restaurant and of course our room. Definitely going back if they lower the prices for the Executive Suite where we had our first night after getting married!

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the Manila Bay (suites only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Diamond Hotel Philippines!

We received your favorable comments during your recent stay with us. We truly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your kind words.

We value comments and suggestions from our guests as this allows us to maintain and improve the “Diamond Class” service we provide to meet the most demanding needs of our distinguished guests.

Should you have inquiries about the hotel and for your future reservation, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me. We look forward to our continuing pleasant relationship.


Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Came here just for a few nights in Manila, very convenient and close to malls (Mall of Asia & Robinsons).

You can see the beach line from the hotel and there's a zoo nearby. It's only 20 minutes from the main airport (on a good day without traffic).

The hotel itself has a great pool and a decent gym. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. I'll definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful remarks about your recent stay here at Diamond Hotel. We shall cascade to the team your valuable comments about our hotel as your words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay; from our nice location, rooms with an excellent view of the bay, our courteous staff and other hotel facilities. We are very humbled by your kind words and delighted to know that our guest sees and appreciates all our efforts.
Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us. We hope you can visit Diamond Hotel Philippines again in the not so distant future.


Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spoiled ourselves at the end of our Philippines holiday with 2 nights in a club room. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. We felt really pampered with extra service afforded this room; such as having a turn down service each night such as giving the room a tidy, closing the curtains, turning down the bed and mints on our pillows. The Club Lounge was certainly the best we have ever used. The food and drinks were available all day and included breakfast, light snacks throughout the day and cocktails and nibbles each evening. Fantastic view of the Bay and stunning sunsets. Wish we could stay here each time we were in Manila.

Room Tip: Club room is great if you can stretch the budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Diamond Hotel Philippines!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Diamond Hotel Philippines. We are pleased to read the various things you like in the Hotel.

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy all the perks and priviledges of being our Diamond Club guest. You can be sure that we will share this with the rest of the team because words of appreciation never fail to inspire us to be consistent in providing excellent service.

We sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Diamond Hotel, where the warmest hospitality awaits you.


Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Diamond Hotel in the (very distant) past, in the mid 1990's and at that time the hotel was trendy and hip. At least through my 16 year old eyes. Today, the hotel looks EXACTLY the same. Which is a bit of a disappointment. It needs refreshing, a makeover. What was elegant and trendy 20 years ago is run down and tired-looking now. We stayed for 5 days on a business trip. Here is a rundown of what happened during our recent stay:
1. We asked for our vehicle to be valet parked and were handed at valet stub that said "valet fee: PHP100" when we questioned why we were being charged they said, "oh, you are inhouse guests?" With nearly 10 bags to be unloaded from our vehicle i thought it was pretty obvious we were staying.
2. We thought the bellman was promptly getting our luggage from our vehicle as we entered the hotel but there was no luggage trolley readily available and we were standing in the lobby while our vehicle's doors were swung wide open with nobody tending to our vehicle!!! My husband had to say, "isn't anybody going to help us with our luggage at all???"
3. Our floor was non-smoking but the halls reeked of cigarette smoke.
4. The bathroom: Our room's bathtub drain was clogged and we asked someone to fix it, which was promptly done but the man who did forgot to close the door behind him when he left. The shower curtain smelled bad too.
5. The room: The fridge didn't work. The headboards were dusty. The wall lamp was loose and nearly fell off.
6. The buffet breakfast was ok, but there was a long queue, clearly not enough tables for the number of guests. when i asked for hot sauce they said they didn't have any. The chef manning the omelet station accidentally dipped her elbow in the bowl of egg mixture. I asked for milk and sugar for my coffee and i finished my breakfast before they brought me any.
The list just goes on and on. However, i found most of their staff to be well-groomed, friendly and accommodating.
My rating:
4/5 for the staff and 2/5 for the hotel and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibiimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Diamond Hotel Philippines!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience at Diamond Hotel Philippines. I'm very concerned with the comments you made specifically about the service rendered to you by our Bell Service staff upon your arrival as well your concerns about the room and our Coffee Shop.

The problems that you mentioned in your response have been brought to the attention of the concern departments. We remind our employees to perform their best to avoid unpleasant observations from our guests.

We would like to express our heartfelt apology for any inconvenience you had during your last stay with us. Rest assured that we would immediately implement improvements on our services to ensure that your next stay will be more

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will have a more enjoyable stay on your next visit to us.


Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

LOCATION: Located along Roxas Boulevard in the City of Manila. Hotel is overlooking the Manila Bay and has a nice view of the famous Manila sunset. Walking distance to Robinsons Place Manila (mall), a casino, restaurants and bars.

ROOM: We got a family room with two (2) double beds. Room was clean and spacious. with a great view of Roxas Boulevard, Manila Yacht Club, Cultural Center of the Philippines and the Manila Bay. Bathroom is clean and spacious, with a bathtub. Room was very nice despite the fact that the hotel has been there for a long time. There was always something new everytime we checked in the said hotel.

FOOD: We dined at both the Corniche Restaurant and Yurakuen Restaurant. Food were excellent. Free breakfast buffet is okay.

SERVICE: Great service! Staff are very polite and accommodating.

POOL: Pool is a little bit small but big enough for the kids to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Diamond Hotel Philippines!

We received your favorable comments during your recent stay with us. We truly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your kind words.

We value comments and suggestions from our guests as this allows us to maintain and improve the “Diamond Class” service we provide to meet the most demanding needs of our distinguished guests.

Your patronage and loyalty are very important to us. We hope you can visit Diamond Hotel Philippines again in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,


Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Old, Dusty & Tiny hard queen size beds advertised as King Bed, I booked 3 nights at this hotel (non refundable) though walked out within 20 minutes of checking in, my "Diamond Club Suite" did not have a King size bed it was actually a short hard queen size bed (unsuitable) the room was smelly and dusty, thankfully Hyatt Hotel next door had a real 5 star room available.

Never again.

Room Tip: Old hotel with dusty rooms, if you have dust allergy like me do not go near this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiamondHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Hotel Philippines, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Diamond Hotel Philippines!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Diamond Hotel Philippines. We appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments will help us continue improving our service.

We would like to express our heartfelt apology for any inconvenience you had during your last stay with us. Rest assured that we would immediately implement improvements on our services to ensure that your next stay will be more satisfactory and pleasurable.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will have a more enjoyable stay on your next visit to us.

Maria Zarina Nicolas
Guest Services Manager

Diamond Hotel Philippines
Roxas Blvd. cor. Dr. J. Quintos St.
Manila 1000, Philippines
Tel No.: (+63 2) 528.3000 / (+63 2) 305.3000 local 1111
Fax no.: (+63 2) 521.8724 / (+63 2) 526.2255

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 109 in Manila
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,491 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Hotel Philippines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Hotel Philippines

Address: Roxas Boulevard cor. Dr. J. Quintos St., Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £84 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Hotel Philippines 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the magnificent golden sunset of the Manila Bay is the five-star hotel Diamond Hotel Philippines. A luxury hotel in Manila with a sunset view, Diamond Hotel is only minutes away from the international and domestic airports, and from the Makati business district. Diamond Hotel is near SMX Convention Center, Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) and the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC). It is also near SM Mall of Asia, Robinsons Manila and other shopping destinations. Also within the vicinity are Manila's famous historical landmarks, cultural sites, and Malate's spectacular nightlife. Diamond Hotel has a variety of restaurants and bars specializing in different cuisines and diners are sure to have a remarkable dining experience. Function rooms are also available for memorable weddings and successful corporate events. Swimming pool and outdoor whirlpool, tennis court, Diamond Spa, LifeSpan Reflexology and Diamond Club gym facilities are perfect for recreational and fitness activities. Service from the efficient and courteous staff of Diamond Hotel Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diamond Hotel Philippines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing