We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No entry”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Palace

Coconut Palace
Ranked #61 of 130 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imelda Marcos ordered the construction of this extravagant guesthouse, built of coconut wood & shells, to accommodate Pope John Paul II for his 1981 visit, although it's opulence turned him off so much he refused to stay there.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No entry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

This place is not open to public. it's home for the Vice President. Our taxi ride and time was wasted. Proper information is required

Helpful?
15 Thank Noorliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tahanang Pilipino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Coconut Palace is well known as the "Tahanang Pilipino" (Filipino Home), wherein it served as the official residence & workplace of the vice president of the Philippines. The place is still intact & well kept from the time it was built in 1978. It was one of the place here in the Philippines that we can be proud of.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoShalini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
328 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Short Tour but Worth It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

As described this place used to be open for tourists now it is the home of the VP of Philippines and we arranged a visit through a friend.

Quite a small place but worth the 20/25 minute tour.

You get to see the bedrooms upstairs and some of the other rooms.

There are some great local designs and craftwork used in the building and the short tour explains the rooms and who has stayed in them.

Clearly this was a controversial building which was meant to be for Pope John Paul (2) to stay in during his visit in 1981, worth the visit but not sure how tourists arrange this.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Only open to visitors at set times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The VP of the Philippines occupies such a grandiose lodging while the majority of Filipinos sleep on the streets. It is interesting to note that, in 1981, Pope John Paul II refused to stay in such a opulent structure.
The Coconut Palace was not open to public. However, since December 2011, it is open for walk-in tours from Tuesdays to Thursdays at 9 a.m., 10:30 a.m., and 2 p.m. Tour schedules, however, may change without prior notice. For group tours, contact Donna Comia at 8326791 to 99 local 125 or at drcomia@ovp.gov.ph. (Retrieved from Google)
I was unable to enter the palace grounds as I was exploring the CCP area before my boat ride to Corregidor Island. The palace looked magnificent & it was indeed very opulent. I wish I could have entered it to enjoy the interior design & the artwork inside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank JarodYJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque
Level Contributor
352 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Please maintain this place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

As you approach the entrance of the Coconut Palace, you cant help bit see the surroundings that serve as a bit of an eye sore!..Landscaping should be work on! I saw the Coconut Palace many years ago and it was such a site ..now sad to say, maintenance of this jewel seems to be taken for granted .. Please please do something , it would be such a pity if it would end up dilapidated...

Helpful?
1 Thank nmc8693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconut Palace also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Coconut Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing