We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Manila B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed September 14-15, 2013 (Saturday-Sunday), Room 311 Deluxe 2 Double Beds Php1,888 via agoda, smooth check-in, deposited Php1,500, large room & shower, comfy beds, led tv w/ cable, aircon's working fine, free breakfast (Chowking) for 2, try to ask for upgrade you might get it if there's available room, I asked for late check-out and was given until 1pm. Staffs has top notch customer service. No open restaurant near hotel after 9-10pm, ask receptionist for fastfood delivery. Night Market near hotel starts at 7pm-past midnight but I recommend to be vigilant, hotel entrance is at the back part of Tutuban Center. Over-All I'm happy and satisfied. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
33
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed from 30-31 August with my friends. Going to the hotel was tiring and we had hard time looking for the hotel entrance. The guards were helpful in giving us directions.

Pros
The frontline agent was nice and the staffs are courteous and helpful. The safe wasnt working and we rang the frontdesk and in few minutes, a staff replaced the battery.
-The location is ideal for bargain hunters. Drop your bags and let the shopping begin! Bring a shopping bag and be on your casual comfy clothes.
-The room was tidy. We had a refreshing sleep. Bathroom has this clean classic look.
-The crackers, beers, etc have almost the same price if you buy it on a grocery. Usually hotel priced it twice as much.
-We were given until 2pm to check out.

Cons
-anything outside
-the child food is pricey at 200pesos with a meal of tocilog and water.
-around 3am there was someone drilling inside the mall.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east are nearer to the mall entrance. You can ask the frontdesk is you can have late c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in Orion Hotel at the end of our trip around Philippines and we loved the room - best quality for the price: modern, classy... BUT the location of the hotel is HORRIBLE. It is further from the airport than other areas, and far from Manila's tourist "attractions". The street even dirtier, noisier and more polluted than other areas in Manila (huge pile of garbage in front of hotel entrance with dogs sniffing)... I don't recommend staying there if you are in Manila for tourism, even if you prefer "off the beaten track" areas (there is a reason why LP does not feature this area for accomodation in the book). The fantastic "shopping" in the area that other comments refer to is just cheap junk (IMO). If you happen to stay there anyway, check the food court in Lucky Chinatown in Reina Regente nearby - great chinese/japanese restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CubiMoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Orion Hotel last July 30-31. It was an ideal escape, as my partner was looking to have a relaxing stay after work. It was perfect because it was an LRT ride away from his workplace. While I was excited to stay in the hotel since it was just a short walk away from Divisoria, Manila's shopping paradise. So while my bf slept the day away, I went on a buying spree. And when my feet got tired, I just walked back to the hotel. The convenience and accessibility was what really caught my attention, thus my reason for booking with them.

The staff that greeted us that morning was courteous and all smiles. The lobby may be small but was very welcoming. Our room on the other hand was a sight for sore eyes. The earth tones really brought out the warmth in our chamber. I was actually quite impressed with the amenities (from the bed, wall-mounted TV, cabinet with a safe and mini-ref inside, rainshower stall in the en suite bathroom).

Although there were a few glitches: the stench that came from the bathroom, and the rainshower stall's water heater. The smell of the bathroom (upon entering it) smelled of wet clothes that has not been sun dried. The rainshower on the other hand took a few minutes before the water was heated. Nonetheless, these two can be resolved. We still had a grand time at the hotel. It was worth spending on.

You can also check my full review here: http://www.budgetbiyahera.com/2013/08/orion-hotel-safe-haven-in-heart-of.html

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaiFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed with the family last Aug 13-14 on Junior Suite, promo rate.

Driving thru the vicinity of Tutuban going to the hotel was a bit disappointing at first, because you will see shanties all over. After all it is Tondo, Manila. To be honest, it made me think twice to check-in to this hotel but with good reviews from this site pushed me through. Came to the hotel, we were welcome by guard and led us to the elevator. This changed the ambiance as the elevator is twice as wide as normal and there was courteous elevator operator. At 3rd floor is an average lobby, the receptionist was very accommodating.

Hotel is part of Tutuban mall itself, perfect for those who like bargains and night markets(during weekends only). The room is surprising as you may have not thought that this nice and wonderful place would come from that area. It erased all my turn-offs and first impressions and feels like you are in different dimension. Room is well-lit and has good vibe. I enjoyed the bath tub a lot after a stressful day.

Sleeping was never uneasy as the rooms are guaranteed soundproof and with sensible amenities. Though the carpet should have been vacuumed often as there were still dirt prints. They will help you assist in ordering food (they dont have in-house restaurant), fetching taxicabs and attend to your all other concerns. The service is superb, thanks to its staff who even return my shirt when we check-out.

Pros:
Nice and new rooms
Superb service
Inside Tutuban mall you can go shopping
Affordable, check their rates

Cons:
Anything outside the hotel, shanties
Traffic

With its location, this hotel is definitely not for everybody. But for what it's worth, it serves its purpose.

Room Tip: If you are bound to south, know the routes very carefully to avoid traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xChaLeex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights and it was really relaxing. Prior deciding to stay @ their hotel we really look after for the reviews of those who had been there and all of the reviews are positive. We chose to stay at a Junior Executive Suite and we were amaze when we saw their accommodation...we just couldn't imagine that there was a great hotel existing along Tutuban area. It can be categorized as a 5 star hotel, from its service, staff and accommodation, it was really awesome! We really had a good night sleep and relaxation during our stay...and its really a value for your money. One great thing also is that we availed it from an online site, were we got a superb discount! The good quality customer service of their staffs and guards, the very well room facilities & accommodation, and its perfect place were you can go shopping anytime u want just like what I did...you will surely want to come back! I hope they can have more discount promos in the future so I can bring all my family there for a real perfect relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank ellehcor1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Price is reasonable. Front Desk is accomodating. The standard room is big(has complimentary water, coffee/tea making set, mini fridge. Clean and spacious bathroom, A/C is great, has plasma TV, plus you can order snack/toiletries over the phone for a cheap price. I think there's no room service for complete meals because they don't have a menu in the room. Strong Wifi. The place is quiet given the location which is not ideal because it's within the divisoria area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerfecTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#27 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Ramada Manila Central
#7 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Floor 3rd Primeblock Bldg | Tutuban Center, Claro M Recto Avenue, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 3rd level of the Primeblock Building, Orion Hotel in Manila provides guests with unrivaled access to a world of shopping. In the past, a journey to Tutuban would take hours of negotiating traffic-filled streets or a long, stressful commute. Now, as guests of Orion Hotel in Manila, one just needs to step out the door of their hotel to grab the best deals in the city. Yet it doesn't end at simply having a convenient location. With a range of amenities, services, and facilities on offer, guests staying at Orion Hotel in Manila are assured that they can go on shopping trips without a hitch ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing