We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite convenient!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Manila B&B and Inns
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
“quite convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

we stayed at Orion Hotel due to its (insanely) close proximity to Divisoria. I mean, it's atop the Tutuban Mall itself! We went there to buy merchandise for our business. We had no trouble with our purchases as we could return to the hotel to keep our bags and boxes. We could immediately resume shopping afterwards. The room was very nice, the bathroom was surprisingly large. Plus the free daily breakfast is an added bonus! The only down side however, was getting there from the airport. We took the taxi. The traffic nearing Divisoria is, as per usual, terrible. Prompting us to just walk about 3 blocks to the hotel because the taxi wasn't budging anymore. But that's about it. Overall, the hotel was great. :) We took the suggested taxi service of the hotel on the way home. The driver was friendly and drove safely...

oh and the staff service is tops! very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aikieaiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
33
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Orion is very good value for money, and if Tutuban is your destination it's an ideal choice. The staff are nice, the rooms are big.

However the place IS inconvenient. You may say to yourself, OK, I know this is Tondo, what's the problem? The problem is that it is REALLY HARD to get a taxi in and out of the general area, taxis just don't come in here. You can be standing half an hour in the heat while you wait. That means standing in a very polluted street as heavy lorries zoom past, tricycles choke you, and kids harass you.

If you want to go into town there's the nearby Philippine National Railway (PNR) which works very well, not crowded, air conditioned, take it outside rush hour and it is fine. And cheap!

The Orion is now a little faded, there is also something weird about the plumbling, it seems that the shower plumbing is connected to the toilet plumbing, so for quite a while after you have done your business the smell will be coming from another direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

hotel in a dangerous area
no taxis want to drive there
no support from hotel staff when getting a taxi to airport
standard room without window

overall i can not recommended this hotel again

better to choose a hotel in a more safe area

Room Tip: check before if room have window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank christian_werner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is hidden beyond recognition from you, taxi drivers and others. But when you get there, you take the elevator to the second floor to get to the front desk. The area is somewhat dangerous in the night. Lots of crime and theft. But in daytime it is ok. Lots of clothes and quality junk to be bought in malls (66 and 999) and on the streets.
The hotel was clean, aircon, no window and breakfast (very rudimentary pinoy style)
I recomend you choose to go to other city (Pasay, Eremita or Makati)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed September 14-15, 2013 (Saturday-Sunday), Room 311 Deluxe 2 Double Beds Php1,888 via agoda, smooth check-in, deposited Php1,500, large room & shower, comfy beds, led tv w/ cable, aircon's working fine, free breakfast (Chowking) for 2, try to ask for upgrade you might get it if there's available room, I asked for late check-out and was given until 1pm. Staffs has top notch customer service. No open restaurant near hotel after 9-10pm, ask receptionist for fastfood delivery. Night Market near hotel starts at 7pm-past midnight but I recommend to be vigilant, hotel entrance is at the back part of Tutuban Center. Over-All I'm happy and satisfied. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed from 30-31 August with my friends. Going to the hotel was tiring and we had hard time looking for the hotel entrance. The guards were helpful in giving us directions.

Pros
The frontline agent was nice and the staffs are courteous and helpful. The safe wasnt working and we rang the frontdesk and in few minutes, a staff replaced the battery.
-The location is ideal for bargain hunters. Drop your bags and let the shopping begin! Bring a shopping bag and be on your casual comfy clothes.
-The room was tidy. We had a refreshing sleep. Bathroom has this clean classic look.
-The crackers, beers, etc have almost the same price if you buy it on a grocery. Usually hotel priced it twice as much.
-We were given until 2pm to check out.

Cons
-anything outside
-the child food is pricey at 200pesos with a meal of tocilog and water.
-around 3am there was someone drilling inside the mall.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east are nearer to the mall entrance. You can ask the frontdesk is you can have late c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in Orion Hotel at the end of our trip around Philippines and we loved the room - best quality for the price: modern, classy... BUT the location of the hotel is HORRIBLE. It is further from the airport than other areas, and far from Manila's tourist "attractions". The street even dirtier, noisier and more polluted than other areas in Manila (huge pile of garbage in front of hotel entrance with dogs sniffing)... I don't recommend staying there if you are in Manila for tourism, even if you prefer "off the beaten track" areas (there is a reason why LP does not feature this area for accomodation in the book). The fantastic "shopping" in the area that other comments refer to is just cheap junk (IMO). If you happen to stay there anyway, check the food court in Lucky Chinatown in Reina Regente nearby - great chinese/japanese restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CubiMoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#21 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
#10 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Rothman Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Ramada Manila Central
#7 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Floor 3rd Primeblock Bldg | Tutuban Center, Claro M Recto Avenue, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 3rd level of the Primeblock Building, Orion Hotel in Manila provides guests with unrivaled access to a world of shopping. In the past, a journey to Tutuban would take hours of negotiating traffic-filled streets or a long, stressful commute. Now, as guests of Orion Hotel in Manila, one just needs to step out the door of their hotel to grab the best deals in the city. Yet it doesn't end at simply having a convenient location. With a range of amenities, services, and facilities on offer, guests staying at Orion Hotel in Manila are assured that they can go on shopping trips without a hitch ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and HostelWorld so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing