We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in at this hotel”
Review of City Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Garden Suites
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check in at this hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I wonder why this hotel was ranked below top 10 when in fact I rank it as my umber 3 hotel in Manila. Of course, Hyatt Hotel and Manila Hotel being my top, but as a 4-star hotel. City Garden made a value for my stay. They have at par standards with good hotels and even staff are very energetic. I have talked to their lobby assistant and enjoyed staying there because of the ambiance. I really had a good time considering that this is near a famous mall and the US Embassy. I rank this hotel as one of my finest hotels I have checked in through Manila.

Room Tip: Choose the bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiscesGirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    200
    98
    31
    25
See reviews for
55
100
128
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The highlight of my stay was definitely the staff.
The room/hotel services/food ratio is perfect for the price (around 3 stars).

The breakfast was good but the sight of old men with barely legal teens is somehow disturbing ... Maybe the hotel should look into implementing a dresscode or something similar to prevent.

The area is perfect and it is safe to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed there two nights, and we liked this hotel, the room was clean and spacious, nice bathroom and shower, you had to be patient to get hot water, but ok. It was not much noise from the small street outside and heavy curtains kept most of it outside, The staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay there again.
It is also very close to the german pub and resto Munchen, and almost across the street for cowboy grill bar, a nice live band place. Only a few minutes walk to LRT

Room Tip: The street outside the entrance is rather noisy, but the street on the back side is almost without t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brasse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Once I stayed at City Garden Hotel in Malate, I've been always staying there because all the staff are such a wonderful for their guests any time. Always very much welcoming and great hospitality to all the guests!! A woman who works at business center was so helpful when I had little problems with my trip!! I would stay there whenever I'm in Manila. Thanks always.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveStarbuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ubud
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel was OK. I did not like the neighborhood, but it was nice to be at walking distance to Robinson. The breakfast was good, but it was hard to share the room with all these elderly caucasian man who came down to have breakfast with their teen local women. I did not enjoyed this scene so I ended up buying my own breakfast and eating in my own room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendiptus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed at this very average hotel end of June '13, I wanted to pay cash, however, they needed to visa card to confirm I had funds to pay, ok I thought, this strange, but will play the game, ,end of a 3 day stay, I paid them in cash, What they failed to tell me, is that they took the same amount from my card, after promising me my account would not be touched, two staff, lied to my face, ,its now 10th July, and still waiting for them to return my funds, BEWARE , BEWARE . THEN to rub salt into an already not very happy ( me ) , tried to overbook me on goods from mini bar fridge. Stay away.

Room Tip: Beware of the way you pay, get something in writing 1st,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kipp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

The facade of the hotel does not look so appealing,but the inside looks really nice. One of the most outstanding aspects in this hotel is their costumer service. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel offers free breakfast which is really good because you are given a lot of choices. You can even ask them to make you an
omelette. I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JhuliaBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#16 of 110 in Manila
799 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#21 of 110 in Manila
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 110 in Manila
244 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 110 in Manila
1,190 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 110 in Manila
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Suites

Property: City Garden Suites
Address: 1158 A. Mabini Street | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Garden Suites Manila is a Standard Class Hotel and an ISO 9001:2008 Certified in all aspects of its operations. One of the 3 properties under the City Garden brand, has emerged to be first-in-mind for hotels in the Philippines' capital city. The hotel offers top class accommodation with business character and elegant furnishings that provide guests value for their money. A great choice for business and leisure travelers who are seeking comfort, affordable rates and cozy ambiance that is so relaxing and refreshing. Every guestroom offers modern and up to date facilities and five star quality amenities bringing new dimensions in luxury and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HRS, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Manila
City Garden Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing