We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Garden Suites
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I like the friendly staff. The room was clean and nice. The bed was comfortable. I like the samll stationery in the drawer. The cabinet it has the the safe box, the iron, table for Iron, the bath robe, the slippers ( they have tow kind of them the free ones and other for purchase). The bathroom was good. In the morning you will find out door the daily news paper of the Philippines. the breakfast was good. The location of the hotel is good. I like also at the outside it's near to the Cowboy Grill if you like to spend some time there and I highly recommended to spend the time there. Overall It was a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    195
    94
    28
    24
See reviews for
54
94
122
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed for 5 days during last trip.
Have frequent this hotel earlier 3 times. Conevient for shopping and access to airport with minimum traffic jam compared to Makati and elsewhere.

Limited choice in menu & breafast for foreigners.

Friendly helpful front office & lounge bar staff but not the restaurant staff.

I would rank 5 if improvement are make to educate & train the restaurant and house keeping staff
to service the guest well.

Generally I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Do not request for front rooms as they are noise from street hinder your sleep. Choose mid or rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KANA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel location is very convenient if you want to travel around Manila. There is a shopping center, Robinson's Ermita, which is a walking distance from the hotel. The free breakfast is average and there's nothing special. The staff are very courteous and approachable. The wireless connection and 3G network inside the room is very poor. The room is very clean is spacious.

One suggestion for the hotel reception is to have a list of phone numbers of taxi operators for booking. You don't expect every guest to wait at the lobby while the security guard look for a free cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhomramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Would not bring the wife to stay here and when they say at check in about payments for other guests it is obvious what they mean!! But it is Manila. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to help and make your stay a pleasant one. Did four nights here and the food was good, breakfast a little plain for Europeans but you could get an omelette made and breakfast meals available rather then the help yourself buffet. You can easily get around here and taxi's do not really cost alot. Everything is within easy reach here and it seemed ok to walk around but only did this during the day and did stay to the main routes! Pollution is the main thing from the beltching Jeepneys. No views from most of the rooms but not much of a view anyway with it being on the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudpilot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I wonder why this hotel was ranked below top 10 when in fact I rank it as my umber 3 hotel in Manila. Of course, Hyatt Hotel and Manila Hotel being my top, but as a 4-star hotel. City Garden made a value for my stay. They have at par standards with good hotels and even staff are very energetic. I have talked to their lobby assistant and enjoyed staying there because of the ambiance. I really had a good time considering that this is near a famous mall and the US Embassy. I rank this hotel as one of my finest hotels I have checked in through Manila.

Room Tip: Choose the bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiscesGirl143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The highlight of my stay was definitely the staff.
The room/hotel services/food ratio is perfect for the price (around 3 stars).

The breakfast was good but the sight of old men with barely legal teens is somehow disturbing ... Maybe the hotel should look into implementing a dresscode or something similar to prevent.

The area is perfect and it is safe to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thebeachwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed there two nights, and we liked this hotel, the room was clean and spacious, nice bathroom and shower, you had to be patient to get hot water, but ok. It was not much noise from the small street outside and heavy curtains kept most of it outside, The staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay there again.
It is also very close to the german pub and resto Munchen, and almost across the street for cowboy grill bar, a nice live band place. Only a few minutes walk to LRT

Room Tip: The street outside the entrance is rather noisy, but the street on the back side is almost without t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brasse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#22 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#9 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Suites

Property: City Garden Suites
Address: 1158 A. Mabini Street | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Garden Suites Manila is a Standard Class Hotel and an ISO 9001:2008 Certified in all aspects of its operations. One of the 3 properties under the City Garden brand, has emerged to be first-in-mind for hotels in the Philippines' capital city. The hotel offers top class accommodation with business character and elegant furnishings that provide guests value for their money. A great choice for business and leisure travelers who are seeking comfort, affordable rates and cozy ambiance that is so relaxing and refreshing. Every guestroom offers modern and up to date facilities and five star quality amenities bringing new dimensions in luxury and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your City Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Manila
City Garden Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing