We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what she used to be”
Review of The Pearl Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Manila
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not what she used to be”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I used to stay at this hotel as I thought it was good value for money with it's acceptable rooms and more so the pool..! but last time we stayed here we were shown half a dozen rooms until we gave up trying to find a clean one! :( I don't think they ever vacuum any of the floors of any of the rooms! Eeeewww!!! :/ ...Also, the aircon in our room was not adjustable, the food was below average (still) and the neighbourhood really is quite dodgy! well, Manila is dodgy period. One saving grace is the staff who are friendly. We'll be looking for a different hotel for our next stay in Manila.

Room Tip: ask for a CLEAN room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GavzTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    108
    93
    56
    31
See reviews for
40
53
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Its a beautiful place with a mostly great staff. Its close to the US embassy P.b.I. and many other great things in Manila. Spent a week there and loved every moment. The breakfast buffet is enough to let you skip lunch. I will stay at the Pearl if I ever need to be in Manila again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is just average, not that outstanding. What's good is their location that is very near LRT-UN ave station which will help you go about places. walking distance from Robinsons malate,PGH and Manila Doctors Hosp. The room is clean and big, and well maintained but you'll really notice that this hotel is an old one. The pool is just ok; we did not try eating there bec of their pricey menu and besides fast foods and malls are just around the corner.
They have free welcome drinks upon check-in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar0nr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quezon city
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Booked an overnight stay with 2 friends because had a seminar to attend. Location wise, this is a good choice since light rail UN station is right near the hotel, and very accessible to public transportation. Very near Robinson's mall and other tourist attractions in manila.
We booked a room via the hotel website and specifically requested for a room with 3 single beds. checked in around 10pm, and the lady at the front desk forgot her name, but I remember that she was the front desk officer as what, her nameplate read. The way she dealt with us while she asked us for our IDs was a little too "cold" and unwelcoming. Would have appreciated a smile at least, after a busy and tiring day. Upon entering the room, there was kinda 70s feel to it, the room was very basic, and our request for 3 beds was not heeded. don't like the cabinet housing the tv and the ref together. Found that furniture piece, too not hotel-like. Toiletries were provided, as well as slippers, with free bottle of water. The toilet bowl wasn't given a good cleaning, needs more scrubbing actually. Overall the room needs refurbishing. Have stayed in smaller budget hotels but this hotel is more like a transient lodging house. Good for overnight stay in my opinion, and if youre on budget and just looking for a place to sleep, with location foremost in your list, then I guess, it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chambie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elanora, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I think that this Hotel would have been better 10 years ago , still it does have a good location , 10 mins walk from Robinsons Plaza Ermita ,the rooms are very tired the bathrooms only ordinary and the furniture in the rooms falling apart , the restaurant on level 9 where reception is is too expensive and Breakfast is fading from its past glory ( have been here before 3 times over the past 3 years), but for the money it was ok , the staff try really hard to please . John.

Room Tip: Try the upper floors for the breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation of a friend.
We stayed at the begining of our trip and at the end.
The BIGGEST disappointment was when we came back for our 2nd time, breakfast was no longer included. And I really enjoyed the breakfast: Salad (a rare commodity I feel in this country), fruit, breads, eggs, fish, bacon/sasuages, rice, soup and coffee/tea. Great way to start the day.

Other than that, for it's price, it is a great hotel in a great location.
Yes, it is an older hotel. You will notice it most with the bathrooms and when by the pool, looking up at the building exterior. But at $55 a night, it fit the budget and often met or exceeded expectations.
The BEST thing about the hotel is the pool. It wasn't heavily chlorinated. It was warm (thank you sun for the heating, I dislike really cold water) but very refeshing if you went in the day. The pool was cooler at night and a Godsend when you were out all day and want to unwind before bed. Being able to bring our own rum (Philippino small estate brand Don Papa.. pick it up at duty free if you love rum... it`s AMAZING) to the pool was the cherry on the top. Also, it had a great view of the skyline.
The internet in the lobby was fairly fast.
Less than 15 min tricycle away from the boardwalk/aqaurium, Robinson center is walking distance (if you are brave), Mall of Asia 15-30 min cab ride away (less than $5 if they put the fare on), right next to a subway station; great for location.

I recommend learning the intersection (UN and Taft) and stating it first for the tricycle and cab drivers becuase, on more than 1 occassion, the drivers went to take us to the the Pearl Hotel.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay the The Pearl Manila. I would give it 4 stars as budget hotel since we did not have a single issue, 4.5 if they decided to keep breakfast included. On the grand scale, it is what is, an average hotel available at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the pool. I found it had the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We recently stayed at The Pearl. The rooms were clean and tidy.The shower wasn't sparkling.I just hope they focus on cleaning the tiles but then in saying that, it is an old hotel. Location was excellent because it's in Central Manila. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We booked 5 junior suite rooms for all 23 of us and we had 20 guests come over using the swimming pool. Management wasn't all that fussed.Over all we had a great time! The only thing that's a bit worrying is the pool area. I suggest they raise the walls around it because anyone can jump over and kill themselves. So maybe a refurb?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlmanila, Manager at The Pearl Manila, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
June 22, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience. We are so glad to have you here in our hotel and be your placed of relaxation. Will check the shower area and tiles for improvement. With regards to pool area, i will raised your concern.

It’s really great to hear that you had the opportunity to experience our excellent service and that your enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and staying in the Pearl Manila hotel. Looking forward to serve you again soon. For any concern please email reservation.pearlmanila@gmail.com.

Sincerely yours,

Claire Ortiz
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
712 reviews
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#28 of 109 in Manila
182 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 109 in Manila
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Manila Crown Palace Hotel
#53 of 109 in Manila
43 reviews
V Hotel
#59 of 109 in Manila
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Manila

Property: The Pearl Manila
Address: 1155 Gen.Luna St | Corner Taft & United Nations Avenue, Ermita, Across Manila Med hospital, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila's Pearl of the Bay!The Pearl Manila Hotel is located at the heart of Manila’s business center and historical landmarks, close to leisure and entertainment centers. Its proximate vicinity includes the World Health Organization, Medical Center Manila and two major hospitals, schools, the world-famed Rizal Park, ‘Walled City’ of Intramuros, National Museum, Club Intramuros an 18-hole golf course, government offices and shopping malls.Just 6 kms. from the convention and trade exhibits sites such as Philippine International Convention Center, Cultural Center of the Philippines, World Trade Center and 11.5 kms. from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Pearl Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Manila Hotel Manila
Pearl Hotel Manila
The Pearl Hotel Manila
Hotel Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing