We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly Hotel, With excellent staff”
Review of The Pearl Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Manila
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful hotel, yes it's showing signs of wear and tear, but I guarantee that you won't find more friendlier staff anywhere in Manila.
The rooms are a little dated, but they are exceptionally clean and comfortable with good air conditioning units.

I've stayed in many hotels, but very few have impressed me like this one. I have never met more helpful and friendly staff anywhere in the world, they are an absolute credit to the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014
6  Thank ianlowe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pearlmanila, Manager at The Pearl Manila, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Hi Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Pearl Manila Hotel.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff is committed in delivery excellent guest service, and I am happy you noticed. Guest are treated as members of our family and your comments will greatly motivate our staff to maintain it. Status of our hotel are noted for future improvements.

Looking to forward to serve you again, the Pearl Manila way...

Best regards,

Claire Ortiz
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is well located. That said, the carpets in the hallways should be removed as they are horribly stained. The room itself is clean and reasonably appointed. The one huge plus is a rooftop swimming pool with chaise lounges. Which is unusual in Manila Most have pool but no place to lounge about.
I would stay again but for the lack of wifi!! It's a small thing to install routers!!
At first the hotel wished to charge me 1800 pesos extra for a room with cable but backed down and thankfully gave it to me without extra charge.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

we could not find a room for a last minute booking in the area near Intramuros. In fact no even this had room s available, according to their reception, but one booking online site sold us the room and it was available! Nothing special in this hotel, save a swimming pool on the 9th floor, where you will also find the reception (?).
We had paid in advance the full amount, not too expensive, but at registration they asked for a 1.000 PHP as down-payment to be returned in case all is OK (?).
The hotel has not been renovated for some time, judging by the style and by the furniture, but it is OK, could do with a better cleaning, but not too bad.
Breakfast not so good, the buffet was there, but not operative, and the menu list just OK, just OK also the food.
All in all, not a bad experience for the price paid. But we are told the price was a special deal, with more then 50% discount, If this was true, then the full price would have been much too much.

Room Tip: there is am open air swimming pool on the 9th floor, so, if you are fond of swimming, try a near roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel has passed it's prime, but don't be worried, the staff are friendly, our room was clean, the air con worked, hot water was provided for drinks on request for our bedroom, an iron was loaned,breakfast was cooked to our request. We felt secure at all times. My wallet, containing a lot of local currency, fell out of my pocket in one of the hotel armchairs, and it was handed back to me, having been found by one of the staff. Quite amazing honesty. The swimming pool is clean and on the 9 floor. The hotel charges are reasonable for the area..

Internet access was only available on the 9 floor but worked very well.


Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My first impression about the hotel is not that good. I find the lobby gloomy and old. It needs a renovation in design. But when we already went to one of its restaurants, I then realized the place is not that bad. They have this buttered salmon which I really like and the staff are very courteous. The price for what we have eaten is very reasonable compared with others.

Thank JCGlorioso
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night with my wife before going to the airport the next day. Checked in to one room, and the safe did not work, carpet dirty and stained and room looked like it hadn't been painted in a long long time. Manager came and safe could not be fixed so moved to a new room. New room did look a small bit cleaner and nice pool view. Room suppose to have 2 bottles of complimentary water, requested these at the bar and the bar tried to charge me for them. Then requested these at the reception and it was about 1 hour before they were brought to the room. We had actually gone to bed. There are 2 bedside tables and behind one of them, there was an open condom wrapper(not ours). The hot and cold water were in the opposite taps. By far the most disturbing thing was at about 4am I had to get up out of the bed as I felt I was been eaten alive by insects and had to jump into the shower. It was disgusting. Next morning I had bites all over my two feet, and on my flight home, I had a reaction to these bites and had to go to the doctor where I had to take cream and tablets for this. Hotel said we could stay longer in our room and have a late check out and wanted to charge us the same price again as we paid for staying a night in the hotel and that was to stay an extra 2 to 3 hours, no thank you. The noise of the air con is like a helicopter taking off in your room, very loud and you will not be able to sleep. I have never left a post on these sites before but I just think there is a need to warn others of this hotel. Will never ever stay there again.

Room Tip: If your room looks dirty, ask to see another one and your room MIGHT be a bit cleaner if your lucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 94Fitzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

At the entrance facing the main road (Taft Ave.), it was a Saturday and it seemed close. the alley was dark, smelly and scary. There was nobody in the reception area on the 1st floor. We didn't even know that we have to proceed straight to ? floor for another reception area.

The check-in was a hussle. The staff seemed untrained. One of the groups (I was with my hotel management students and the immersion was for their subject) had to numerously transfer room since the aircon was dripping wet straight from their bed, the carpet was soaking wet and flooded. Couldn't get some sleep since water motor/heater from the bathroom was making terrible noise. Had trouble with opening the door with key cards since the staff gave us wrong ones! Food was terrible and overpriced PERIOD. Had to get a "coupon" just to use the gym. Aren't those checked-in guests supposed to be automatically entitled to any amenities a hotel has? Staff were rude and unwelcoming. Checking-out was more hussle than the checking-in procedure!

All in all, terrible. Won't go back there even if it's for free.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShinCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
1.7 mi away
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#29 of 111 in Manila
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Manila Pavilion Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
Regency Grand Suites
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 111 in Manila
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#15 of 111 in Manila
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
V Hotel
V Hotel
#62 of 111 in Manila
59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Orchid Garden Suites - Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Manila

Address: 1155 Gen.Luna St | Corner Taft & United Nations Avenue, Ermita, Across Manila Med hospital, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £27 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila's Pearl of the Bay!The Pearl Manila Hotel is located at the heart of Manila’s business center and historical landmarks, close to leisure and entertainment centers. Its proximate vicinity includes the World Health Organization, Medical Center Manila and two major hospitals, schools, the world-famed Rizal Park, ‘Walled City’ of Intramuros, National Museum, Club Intramuros an 18-hole golf course, government offices and shopping malls.Just 6 kms. from the convention and trade exhibits sites such as Philippine International Convention Center, Cultural Center of the Philippines, World Trade Center and 11.5 kms. from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Manila Hotel Manila
Pearl Hotel Manila
The Pearl Hotel Manila
Hotel Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing