We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven amidst chaos!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Mansion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Haven amidst chaos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my friends. Clean rooms at affordable price, got our room at promo price, complete with kitchen and living area for only 2450 php- what a bargain!The location is in mabini so expect it to be a little chaotic. Service is good and all hotel staff are hospitable and friendly. Food is good and the price is fair. Ill surely recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room facing the bay....great sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again. We also have deluxe rooms starting at rates as low as P2125 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    91
    69
    18
    13
See reviews for
35
58
67
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I would describe it as an "unexpected delight". You would expect to get the short end of the stick for a hotel of this price however it was not the case with this one. It defied every preconceived notion of what hotels of this price level would be like. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The room design wasn't too shabby at all, but the most important aspect of this place was how clean and tidy it was. I loved their attention to cleanliness, and the added bonus, a location at the heart of the bustling metro. This is how all hotels of this level should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whatafeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
On behalf of the housekeeping team, I would like to thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, hoping to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had a very special check-in. Arrived almost 2 hours early with my Asian daughter and her kid. I asked permission to put my luggage in the lobby. I said "madam, I'll go out to smoke 7 sigarettes till it is time to check in." Answer: "don't do sir, we will help you immediately". Ten minutes later: "sir your room is ready..." Fifteen minutes later I came down to ask for an extra pillow for the kid to sleep on: "yes sir, we will bring it, and it is for free"; later I needed boiling water..."yes sir, we will bring it and it is for free..."

Got a room with modern design furniture, large bathroom, fridge and really thick carpet... if ever you have a fight with your partner and do not want to share the bed: no problem, you can easily sleep on the carpet...huhu!
Breafast is set breakfast, but don't worry, you won't feel hungry!

Personally I did not like the location and on the other hand, I liked it very much. Difficult to understand? Maybe easy when I tell you that the front entrance is Mabinistreet which I don't like at all...but a shortcut brings you to Adriaticostreet, which is a much better part of of Malate.

Was everything ok then? No! On the 3rd day of my stay I got seriously sick. I wanted to check my bodytemperature before going to Manila Doctors Hospital...on UN Ave.

No thermometer available at the reception, no first aid kit, nothing at all. If ever you cut your finger seriously you have to run to 7/11.... Is a first aid kit such a big investment for a wellknow hotel like the Mansion? Maybe they can put a donation box at the reception to buy a first aid kit, at Mercury at Padre Faure...

I know that I may not exaggerate...The Mansion is one of the better hotels (value for money) in Ermita/Malate!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2jerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Sir,
We are glad you enjoyed our facilities during your stay. I have just checked with the staff and we do have a first aid kit. We don't have a thermometer though. It was something that was missed but I have since had thermometers ordered. Thanks for the feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I loved the rooms in this hotel. Stylish and clean and pretty affordable. The staff were really kind too. I recommend this for those who want to stay in a quiet, comfortable place in the middle of busy Manila. Everything was just a stone's throw away and it was very easy to get around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with my friends during the final leg of our trip around South East Asia. This little gem along Malate exceeded our preconceptions. For the price we paid, I wasn't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised with the service. Rooms were clean and decent. Location is very convenient. It is only a stone's throw away from Robinsons Mall and the famous Manila Bay. Bars, restaurants, spas, and casinos also gives the area a nice vibrant atmosphere at night. Overall, a delightful place for travellers on a shoe string budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zyprone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Riviera Mansion is a good hotel in manila. Location is convenient 3 minutes walk from Robinson Place. The service here was great and also the room here was great. All the staff here are very friendly especially the room attendant staff. The room here are newly renovated, very clean room and i love the bathtub here. I would recommend this Hotel to everyone...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zyrus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

First of all it was my mistake to book in Malate. If you are here for business or solo or just friends it would do but to stay in Malate was just a turnoff for us because of the feel of a red light district. As for the hotel, we had to upgrade from a superior room to a queens suite yet it was very small & the main problem with all the rooms is that they have very small windows. even the fixed menu breakfast was not worth it. The staff wasn't friendly or helpful in terms of suggesting attractions or other things.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for replying to my messages and am glad that you had clarified your concerns about our hotel. As per your message, your main concern came from the misunderstanding of upgrading to a "Queen's Suite" that you find too small to be called as such. I sincerely regret the misunderstanding but the room is actually a Suite with a Queen-sized bed, not a "Queen's Suite". I am certain that if your expectations were not unnecessarily raised by the misunderstanding that you would find your room a good value. At 45 square meters (450 square feet) with a rate of P3560 ($85) including breakfast for 2, a living room, 2 LCD TVs and floor-to-ceiling windows in the bedroom, it is well-priced in the area. We are a value-priced hotel situated in the center of Malate, close to all the action with the casino across the street and the mall being just a short walk away. Most of our rooms (Premier and VIP) are recently renovated. Our rooms range from 28 to 45 square meters with rates starting at P2125 for the Deluxe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Rothman Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Malate
The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila
Malate
Palm Plaza Hotel
Palm Plaza Hotel
#36 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#9 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#55 of 109 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Property: Riviera Mansion Hotel
Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing