We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall from grace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Mansion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Manila
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fall from grace”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

I reviewed this hotel, positively, about 18 months ago but returned and had a far worse experience.

We had a one night stop over with a very early morning flight, so picked somewhere familiar to get a bit of food and a few hours sleep before departing at 3am.

Baggage and reception staff did well, they were polite and helpful. I want to make that clear. Things started to go badly wrong at the point we ordered room service.

We ordered a couple of dishes and drinks; one dish being fried chicken and chips. I'd had a stomach upset the previous day so wanted something quite safe (by comparison to my familiar English diet). The second piece of chicken I picked up to eat had a quite big bloody patch on the bottom. Pretty disgusting, but I put it to one side and picked up the rest to check - three others were similar (though to a less extent). I called room service and asked them to collect. They apologised and said they'd cook it again. Things wouldn't have been so bad if at this point they'd just accepted that I lost my appetite and no longer wanted the food (besides, I'd had some of the other food and that was settling in my stomach - I didn't want more food an hour later).

On the phone they told me they couldn't do that because it was "in the computer". More their problem than mine I thought. They did send somebody to collect it, but then half an hour later (when me and my partner were in bed trying to sleep ahead of our flight) a woman came back with another plate. I repeated that I don't want it and a longer than necessary conversation ensued, they just wouldn't take no for an answer. Finally she left, we went back to bed. Half an hour later, she came back with another woman and contined to debate the cancellation - saying because I'd eaten one piece they shouldn't cancel. A ridiculous argument as that would imply every diner has to check their whole meal before eating any of it. Eventually they had to accept my refusal to pay and did go away.

The point of my stay was a quick bite to eat and short sleep before a flight, none of which were helped by the room service staff. So, despite the other merits and efforts of other staff my visit failed in its findamental purpose.

This is a one person anecdote, and if you're not interested in room service unlikely to affect you, but it does show a pretty poor side to their customer service.

As an aside; I rated down cleanliness and rooms as the interior is getting quite dated and there are little things here and there that could do with freshening up (or fixing).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Sir,
I sincerely apologize for the incident. I have looked into it and have found out that it was due to some new kitchen staff who may be lacking a bit in the common sense department. Excellent customer service is our passion and this was certainly a lapse in judgement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured that they will be retrained to prevent similar incidents in the future.
Please check your inbox as I have sent you a personal note. I hope that you will still consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    99
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
39
61
73
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at the Riveria for a total of 5 nights during our two week stay in the philippines. We enjoyed every bit of it. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a large bathroom. You can reach Robinson Plaza (which is a big mall) within a 5min walk from the Hotel. The service is fantastic and the staff do there very best to accomodate your every need. They even let us store our large luggage at the hotel during our small island trips around the country which was very convienient. The hotel offers free wifi in the lobby, (wi fi in the rooms are a bit costly). There is also a small resrtraunt/bar in the lobby that serves a decent breakfast in the morning.(although service could be faster)
Also: Although the higher floors (12 and above) offer decent views of the city and even Manila Bay, the elevator is quite slow. So if your not the patient type. Choose a lower floor. Also be sure to book your hotel online as you tend to get a free breakfast voucher.

All in all the hotel is great choice for a stay in Manila offering everything a budget traveler needs and more. We look forward to staying here again the next time we are in Manila.

Room Tip: Although the higher floors (12 and above) offer decent views of the city and even Manila Bay, the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The room I stayed in was large, clean and most things worked as expected. Bathroom was large with excellent hot water from the shower. Unfortunately there was no deadbolt on the door nor did the security chain work - it was too short and could never have worked. Bed was comfortable with nice sheets and covers. Staff were friendly and checkin/checkout was fast and smooth. Good location within easy distance of Robinson's Mall and even Harrisons Plaza.

My main gripes with this hotel was the price for wireless Internet access in your room - one hour cost 100 pesos - and cellphone coverage was spotty. I did not have a signal at times for some reason. This is the only reason I did not give this hotel a very good rating.

Would stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an exterior window,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We currently offer free hi speed internet for your mobile devices and laptops at the lobby and coffee shop area. More areas will follow in the near future. I apologize for the inconveniences you had encountered during your stay. We will definitely look into these concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed in the premier room for a few days. Front desk was very responsive to my rescheduling needs via email. Housekeeping does a good job keeping it squeaky clean. The furniture was in very good condition however its decor may be from the 90's. I think the small old style tube TV needs to be replaced with a flat panel TV (at least for the higher priced rooms). The bathroom looks to be recently renovated and modern. One issue that I would like management to look into for future guests is the access into the bathroom. There is a three inch high threshold that you have to step over to get to the bathroom. I must have banged my foot into it at least three times leaving me with a painful bruise under my toenail. It can certainly be a tripping hazard especially in the middle of the night if you don't look. Location is more suitable for the adult traveler as the hotel is located in an entertainment district. A big mall is two blocks away with plenty of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at riviera mansion for 2 nights last feb 23 & 24, 2013, we are a big group & we occupied 5 rooms (3 deluxe & 2 premier) service is excellent and the rooms are clean and decent, the only downside is the dead spots of the cellular phone connection, we have a.hard time contacting our group because of the choppy signal inside the hotel and we had a hard time receiving calls from home. Hope the management could fix that. We stayed at the sixth floor but still the signal is bad. I have internet in my phone but i cannot use it when we had a slight problem with our flight booking. I tried to have a web check- in but i cannot do it since there's no printer in computer in the the business center beside the restaurant. But still we had a great stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher floors cellular signal,might be better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
I am glad you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the new Premier rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for the third time. For future printing needs, please advise our front desk personnel and we can print anything for you at reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Rooms are fine. Breakfast room is small for the number of rooms and not buffet style, so portion control in swing. Breakfast nothing great. The staff as ever very helpful and the duty manager went out of his way to help me with internet search (I had no laptop). They do not get upset if you keep changing your guests in the rooms.. We had 2 rooms and some 8 people in all staying overnight. (But never more than 2 in room on any night).. They looked sort of amused as different members of family/friends came and went each morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Hi there, it was a pleasure to have helped you with your internet search. Thanks for the feedback regarding our breakfast. I will be working on improving the breakfast that we currently serve. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

i had a great stay at my favourite malate hotel , i stayed here so many times i lost count , great location near the mall , i really love the fact i have so many options for food only a 5 min walk . i would like to say the girls at front desk do a great job , if your looking for a nice hotel in the heart of malate this is a great choice for under 60$

Room Tip: try and get room at back of hotel , street noise is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
On behalf of the front desk reception staff, thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#16 of 108 in Manila
794 reviews
Rothman Hotel
#9 of 108 in Manila
282 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 108 in Manila
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 108 in Manila
254 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 108 in Manila
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Property: Riviera Mansion Hotel
Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing