We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Mansion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 10 October 2010

i was really happy with my stay , i stayed 2 nights after returning from boracay. for under 50 dollars i got a great room in a great location just 2 blocks from robinson place , i really feel you will have a hard time beating the value of this hotel , i will be back for sure

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

My first arrival in the Philippines was November. 04, 2003 I'm American. From manila airport was given a name Riviera mansion hotel on mabini st. by taxi driver, said it was clean and decent price. Well i have to be completely open and honest about my experience at riviera mansion, the place is great, i have stayed over 1,095 days in the hotel. a standard room and i have not one thing bad i can say. I can say more than the average traveler. The workers always treated me with respect and kindness. always help me watch out for the pitfalls of being a foreigner. Comfortable rooms with a new elaborate entrance and all rooms newly renovated, food is great , great restaurant.the hotel is in a great location walking distance to all the hot spots close to the Robinson mall and U.S. embassy. Security in the hotel is outstanding, its just a great hotel cant say enough about riviera mansion.

Ernest C.E Meunier

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The staff were very friendly (in a very sincere way) and it provides very good value for money. I think the rooms are a bit too dark but everything is kept in good working condition, rooms are very clean.

Perfect location! Compared to the other hotels, you get the best deal
Here since you pay a good price and get quality service/offering.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolobroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed in this hotel recently for 2 days for a business meeting. The receptionist gave me an upgrade for free to their newly renovated room, and oh i felt special!...i was surprised with my room, it felt like i checked in a luxury hotel in Makati which i stayed at 3 months ago.. The room looks fresh, fully carpeted, nice bed,the bathroom that has tub is so elegant (similar to five star accommodation), there is also wifi access and a cozy interior. I also dined at their restaurant, the food is so good especially the "Tinolang Manok"-yum...=)
All in all it was a great stay... two thumbs up!
I recommend this really nice hotel, i will keep on coming back, definitely...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Hotel Riviera Mansion is located in the heart of The Red Light Disctrict of Malate Manila. Surrounded by the busy street of congested traffic, public transportation (local jeepneys). If you are planning to take a cab from somewhere going back to your hotel or even getting picked up by someone to your hotel expect major delays and most probably you will be going somewhere for a walk to catch a cab or to be dropped off few blacks from your hotel. It was a bit of a hassle as the area is a bit scary.

For the price of $50 a day. you get what you paid for. The first night i could sleep because the room I stayed in smelled like smoke from the carpet. I have asked them to transfer to a different room but unlucky to get the same non smoking room. Take note it was a non smoking room. I have to cover my pillows with my shirt. Bed were so uncomforable. The hotel was dated. Need major investment on renovations to save this hotel.

The hotel is filled with japanese guests lurking over young filipinas. I remember not going to an elevator without a foreigner with a young filipina. I imagine what they're doing in those room and the same bed as I was sleeping. it was a horrible experience.

I would only recommend this place if they started doing renos and major road trafficking control it was aweful.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firstjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Owner at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2010

Major road congestion unfortunately is a part of life in Manila. Our property though is centrally situated near the airport, major shopping areas, the financial district of Makati and near popular bars/clubs of Malate. Our hotel is also currently going through a major renovation in some floors. We are already 60% of the way done. Please feel free to ask for a newly renovated room when booking a reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This last trip to Manila found us staying at the Mansion Rivera after a jaunt to Palawan.

It's not your boutique, five star, or resort type of place, but for 55 bucks a day, not a bad place at all.

A couple of blocks off of Roxas prime (the street along Manila Bay), minutes away from Robinson's Malate, a short cab ride from the dizzying Mall of Asia, central to all things touristy in Manila, and for those so inclined, a short walk from the main gay and lesbian hotspot in Manila. In toto, this is a fine example of budget accommodations in the seventh largest city in the world. It's a great and comfortable springboard for whatever your plans in Manila, if you're budget minded and keen for a taste of everyday life. The Manila Zoo is also within proximity of Mansion Rivera.

It is located in the seedy district of Malate on Mabini street, so if you're one to immerse yourself in the culture, you can't go wrong here. A walk to any area establishment will bring you face-to-face with street hawkers proffering goods ranging from fake coins to bootleg dvd's to viagra to umbrellas to a companion for the night. We didn't hail any of the vendors to partake of their goods, but we loved the experience of encountering them.

We stayed in a Double Superior room, which entered off of the hallway into a kitchen/dining/living area. It was spacious and boasted stocked cabinets and drawers, a refrigerater, portable electric dual burner, sink, dining table and "living area" consisting of a couch and coffee table…and a chambermaid to clean up our culinary mess. 

A doorway took us into the bedroom and bath areas. The bedroom boasted a matrimonial bed, night stand, desk, tv and very adequate closet/drawer space. Herein also lived the aircon (with an in-wall fan/vent feeding the front of the quarters.)

The bathroom was roomy and tiled, with a western toilet and lavatory and a nice shower.

The room service menu was extensive and reasonably priced, with items ranging from Filipino to Western to Middle Eastern, as clientel is mixed. The smell wafting from the kitchen was heavenly, but we opted to buy staples at the market in Robinson's Mall and cook our own rather than avail room service of their delectables, as we like to cook.

Front desk personnel was matter-of factly-competent. Neither rude nor gracious.

Security personnel bars the entrance to Rivera Mansion, offering a layer of safety from the outside, as is the norm in Manila.

High speed internet was available in our room by purchasing incremental time cards that had user names and passwords. The signal was strong here and there in the room and weak in other places. Unfortunately, it was weak by the desk, but we were able to accomplish our internet necessities.

Regarding dining, there are chain venues of Max's, David's Tea House and Aristocrat just down a few blocks and right close to the baroque and historical Malate Church. Our favorite was the Dim Sum sampler at David's for just over $US4.00. Also high on the list was Ube Decadence dessert at Max's. There are also a number of one shot restaurants that offer tasty alternatives surrounding the Mansion Rivera, not to mention a bevy of eateries at Robinson's Mall, including a very authentic TGIFriday;s.

This was our third trip to Manila and we have stayed in Malate all three times; our first stay in Rivera Mansion, but not our last.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank oreoero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Every time we go back to the Philippines we stay on just one hotel, The Riviera Mansion, located in the center of everything. On top of a great rates they have (discounted especially if you will go directly to their website), the people are very friendly from the bell men, the receptionist and the people from the in house restaurant. Not to mention, the head of the security is also very supportive and friendly. The room is big with 1 single bed and a full bed for a price of way below the market price. The bathroom is conveniently located in the entrace and is well maintained with hot and cold shower fully functional.

We recommended this hotel to our friends who visited the same year and we recommended it too to our relatives visiting next year.

We've been in the Philippines 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008 and we stayed in the same hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank noelmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Rothman Hotel
#10 of 109 in Manila
314 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#13 of 109 in Manila
278 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#21 of 109 in Manila
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 109 in Manila
254 reviews
Malate
Pearl Lane Hotel
Pearl Lane Hotel
#34 of 109 in Manila
184 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#8 of 109 in Manila
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £30 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing