We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but worst receptionists”
Review of Sunny Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Bay Suites
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Location is great, accessible to robinsons mall, US embassy, 7-11, coffee shops and taxi's just around the corner. Needs room improvement though, furnitures are old, poor lightings...but the worst thing I've experienced in this hotel was the way the front desk receptionists entertain guests. We arrived 1:45 pm but we were ushered to our room 45 mins after. I can understand if the satff were busy doin their job but they were just talking about how they will spend the weekend while their guests were instructed to just wait. Will not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yasha002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed there 2 nights, you can see the hotel had it;s hay days probably back when MJ had an Afro, bed linen was old, so I just turned the AC off and slept on topof the bed. The furniture was ok, just the tv was those old big CRT tvs of the late 90s, the channel options made up for that. The hotel staff are friendly, so that's a plus, it's located right next to the entertainment district, I could see the clubs from my room's window, but since I was too tired I never ventured out. Recommend, for those on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Manila Bay Cafe is just around the corner, like literally a few steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaelGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location is the strongest point of this hotel because it is in a very convenient and strategic location since you can easily access a lot of places with just a short walk, most especially banks, restaurants, and Robinsons Ermita. The staff is very helpful, hospitable, and courteous but the receptionist failed to inform us during our reservation call about the deposit fee of Php 2000 so were shocked upon our arrival that the price we have discussed during the call suddenly hiked up pretty high. However, the Studio Room that we booked for 2 nights was very old and is in desperate need of renovation but it was still well-maintained and clean. The front of the airconditioner was broken and was only being held by a thin piece of wire but it was still functioning properly and managed to really cool the entire room. The couch's cover has large rips and one of the socket cover was already dangling precariously off the wall. There was only one small bar of soap and the faucets of the kitchen and the bathroom alongside the showerhead doesn't turn off completely so there was wasted water since it continued to drip no matter how much I tried to close the faucets. I also spotted a small cockroach on the bathroom sink and there is not enough sockets available in the room. The lighting was also not enough to illuminate the entire room since there were only two lamps, a small hanging lamp over the dining table, at the dressing table, and two at the bathroom so the room was dimly lit at night. The Japanese restaurant was good since we had our free breakfast there but the prices there are generally too expensive and totally not pocket-friendly unless you have tons of cash to burn that money is no object to you.

Nevertheless, I did get a good night's sleep for two nights since the beds were perfectly made and the linens were pleasant-smelling, clean, and soft and the mattresses were firm yet soft except for the pillows. The pillows were not plump and were rather too flat for comfort that you feel like your head is sinking uncomfortably deep into the pillow. The room felt really homey and comfy despite the apparent age of the room and its furniture.

All in all, I'll recommend this hotel since it's in an excellent location and is in the heart of pretty much anything and everything. The rooms are also furnished with kitchen equipment.

PROS:
-in a very strategic location
-hospitable, warm, helpful staff (yes, including the security guards)
-comfy, clean, and firm beds with crisp linens
-room has a nice, homey feel
-well-maintained

CONS:
-in desperate need of renovation
-not enough lighting that room was too dimly lit in the evening
-floor halls are empty, barren, and dank that they give off a creepy, ghostly vibe
-not enough power sockets
-furniture are too old and damaged that they need to be replaced or at the very least, repaired
-faucets and the showerhead are leaking
-power sockets not being 100% safe since the cover was already off the wall
-insects are present

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

TAKE ME ADVICE VERY SERIOUSLY. THIS HOTEL IS A SCAM. WHERE DO I START? First of all, if you love cockroaches crawling over the counter at night and rooms that look nothing like the pictures, then this is your place. If you like checking your key at the desk for safety reasons, then being told you checked the wrong room key (we only rented one room) and have to be charged $100 U.S. for the replacement key, then this is your place (btw, keys dont cost U.S. $100 except titanium keys for special needs). If you tell them that you refuse to pay for a key you did not lose, they tell you they will not let you leave till you pay them the money. If you tell them you want the police called bcs now it has become kidnapping and extortion, they lock you in your room and refuse to call the police. You have no choice but to pay for your release. Best thing about this horror was it is close to a safe and clean and honest hotel with friendly staff-the Executive Plaza. Same price approximately too. This is a rough draft. I will be adding the names of the criminals involved in the extortion. Sincerely Martin Shale, Australia

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mantissss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After a shaky start in a sister hotel - Mabini Mansion - where both my colleague and I had inadvertently booked and paid for a room in my name for the same duration and paid a deposit on-line (on Mabini's own website) and told that one of the deposits could not be either refunded or reallocated - very strange and frustrating! As a result I was left frustrated and fairly unimpressed with staff there and with the room (stank of cigarettes and was in desperate need of renovating).
I then asked to see one of their other hotels and was taken to Boulevard Mansion to view a one bedroom apartment room. I was working in Manila for 2 weeks and needed the extra space. This was a top quality room (15th floor corner suite) and the staff and Manager were extremely helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel for longer stays and would recommend for the non-smokers that you ask for a room on the 15th floor as this is non-smoking and is also the only floor that has renovated rooms. Overall, my impressions were good and I would recommend this hotel with a caution to be careful when booking on-line. The end result - after much negotiation - was that the hotel agreed to apply both deposits to my booking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 15th floor are non-smoking and fully renovated. Very beautiful rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on arrival into The Phils before jetting off to the Visayas.

Haven't stayed here before, but am currently booking my next trip and am booking here again.

The free breakfast (if offered on booking from any number of hotel websites - like mine) isnt too bad, but dont expect much. Simple filipino breakfast (rice, egg and some sort of meat)

I booked a suite for the 1st visit and will again for the second. It was clean and tidy and no complaints.

The restaurant itself is to be avoided. It looks nice, but its expensive and you will need to sell a limb to pay for it. Walk outside, go around the corner (2 minute walk) and go to the 711 and Slice N Dice.

We ordered S-N-D, and got drinks from the 711 and went back to the room to eat.

Everything is pretty easily accessible from this hotel, with taxis going past often.

Room Tip: Go for a suite for an extra (AU$) 10 bucks... its worth it for the space to move
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Topher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I was under the impression that I would be getting a nicely renovated room based on the pictures of their website. I booked a corner suite. I stayed here for 4 nights. The parquet floor was rather old with chips here and there. The sofa was small but adequate for my needs. There is a dining table and a kitchen sink for those who want to cook. Everything works. The shower tub was slippery and no mats provided. Towels were change and supplies stocked on a daily basis. The bedroom has a separate door and the bed was comfy enough to sleep. The decor was a bit tired but the room was clean. For those who are light sleeper, this location may not be good as it faces Roxas Avenue, a very highway. It does quite down a bit during the night but I did closed the doors to minimized the noise. One thing I love about this hotel is the view of Manila bay. Same view you will see at the high end hotels at a lower price. The hotel is close to a mall and tons of restaurants. They do not have safety box in the room but you can leave your valuables behind the counter.

Room Tip: one bedroom standard would probably be enough depending on your fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#68 of 110 in Manila
34 reviews
Ermita
Citystate Tower Hotel
Citystate Tower Hotel
#73 of 110 in Manila
238 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#22 of 110 in Manila
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Time Travellers Hotel
#65 of 110 in Manila
25 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#19 of 110 in Manila
574 reviews
Malate
Las Palmas Hotel de Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Bay Suites

Address: 1440 Roxas Blvd, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines (Formerly Boulevard Mansion)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £30 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunny Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunny Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Mansion Manila
Boulevard Mansion Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing