We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat infested, moldy, no visible fire exit”
Review of Garden Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #97 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I will never stay in this hotel ever again.Why? It's a long list:
1. I wanted to cry when i entered the hotel premises. No visible fire exits.
2. Rats running around.
3. Creepy rooms. The kitchen looks like someone was murdered there.
4. Scary bath tubs. It's like a scene from Psycho.
5. No drinking water for hotel guests.
6. Ancient refrigerator. 90's bought TV. Noisy AC.
7. Comforter. Check out how it looks like and smells.
8. Moth both scented rooms. With a little dash of moldy, and moist mildew feel. Eeeeeewwwwww!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonGaby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

For the price that I paid, P1800, it's a bit on the high side for the value of the room. I have to say that I loved the bed on my room and the comforter and the pillows. But overall, it didn't measure up to its price.

The worst of my experience was when I ordered dinner from the restaurant in the hotel, the Old Swiss Inn. When you have it delivered to your room, it's much higher!!!! I ended up paying more than P800 for a dinner for ONE!!! Although they will warn you over the phone, that ordering dinner from your room costs higher than dining in their restaurant, I was so TIRED during that day that I had to pay the higher price. STILL, it was RIDICULOUSLY MORE EXPENSIVE.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meimei28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Sorry but it is not the hotel i would have wanted to stay. Dirty, dusty, musty and old, stained beddings. Absolutely not suitable for kids. Pictures on the website isn't true. I agree with the negative reviewers. It is true. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at any time.. Staffs though tried to be helpful.

Room Tip: never at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mspeahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Besides the musky odor that other travelers noticed, I had a problem to take a shower when I saw how the electric heater was hooked up with the ground wire just hanging next to the plug. I know that there have been several fatalities under similar circumstances and I thought that a hot shower would be nice but did not want to get the experience of being electrocuted under the shower (Philippines has 220 Volts...)

Pool was closed for maintenance, I just felt uncomfortable from the first moment I arrived.

This place was not worth the $ 40,- that I paid. Spend a little bit more and stay in a decent place instead.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyhi152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This hotel is great. We will deffinatly be returning here. First on location, It is right next to Paco Park, Quiet neighborhood at night, only about 4 blocks from the LRT. The fornt entrance isn't anything to rave about but the lobby was very well decorated and lit with open air. Everything in marble, and the hotel staff assisted us right away. Once we went to the room we climed quite a few flight of stairs, there was no elevator that we seen or used. Once to our room we could not believe how big it was. We had a living room, dinning room table, full kitchen. And in the bedroom there was two twin beds(much lrger than a real twin) with furniture all over. The bathroom was ok, needs remodeling, but I like the idea with the waterheater, saves energy. They do need ones you can control easier tho. The room was great, but with no view of anything. But no Wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. The only amentities we checked out was the mini pool. And when they say mini they mean miniture. But a pools a pool. Beds were comfortable, and our room had 2 AC units. This hotel has alot of potential, and is a little old, but you can still see the glory in its timed beauity.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allblueflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Anyone traveling, or moving loved ones need to avoid this Hotel at all possible cost!





Are you kidding me? Who writes these reviews? It must be hotel staff that give this hotel anything but the lowest marks!!! Don't buy into it, there are plenty of descent places to stay in this region. This Hotel is not one of them!

The service here is the worst, and their so called reservation system is a bad joke. I placed a reservation with them for my Fiancee, using my credit card. When she arrived late at night, they denied her a room. I ended up spending over an hour on the phone (international call) arguing with their staff who were completely incompetent over ever having made the reservation. I was hung up on twice and put on hold numerous times. When all was said and done, I ended up paying a $500 USD phone bill to correct the issues with a $230 reservation. When contacted about it, the Hotel staff swear that they did everything right. What they don’t understand is that I booked 3 hotels for her stay in Manila. Didn’t have a single problem with any of the others.

The service here was so poor, and the employees were so rude, that my fiancée who is a Philippine native begged me to move her to a different Hotel. Travelers beware! Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else. This Hotel is a nightmare! I believe they are also affiliated with Lotus Garden Hotel. I moved her to the Embassy Suites and she was very happy there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IO_storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My partner and I stayed in different hotels during my husband's travel in the PH. We are usually staying in a 3 star hotel and we thought (since it's a 3-star hotel) that this hotel will at least give us a comfortable bed. We checked in at around 3pm just to find out that they don't have the bed (king size) that we requested for. We were disappointed because we booked the room online and we specified on the form that we wanted to have a king size bed instead of a double and a single bed. Well, we will not expect for one if their website did not say that a king size is available. The young lady (cashier) can't comprehend. But then again, we finally got the keys. The room that we got is a deluxe room. In their website, it shows a kitchenette. The room has one double bed, one single bed, and 2 hospital beds (the white covered beds). There's no space for us to move. The room smells like paint and is still sticky. There was no microwave, no utensils, no stove. Just a small table and two chairs, a faucet and a sink. That's it. My husband called the front desk to let them know that it smells paint (turned out to be the room has just been renovated). We transferred to a different room. This time it has 2 double beds and one hospital bed. The fridge is soooo old. Looks like an 80's model. Again, no kitchenette. Just a counter and a faucet with a sink. The towels are dirty white (gray). They only have one soap, one shampoo, one conditioner, two dirty towels. We were placed in their third floor, we have two big suit cases and backpack.. surprise, no elevator! Honestly, the reviews I've read are not true. This is my honest feedback for this hotel - it's worse.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aeris21410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#15 of 110 in Manila
762 reviews
The Pearl Manila
#74 of 110 in Manila
314 reviews
Ermita
The Corporate Inn Hotel
The Corporate Inn Hotel
#44 of 110 in Manila
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Time Travellers Hotel
#58 of 110 in Manila
24 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#21 of 110 in Manila
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Plaza Hotel

Address: 1030 Belen Str | Paco, Manila, Luzon 1007, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: £25 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Plaza Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing