We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for short, budget-tight stays” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Legazpi City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for short, budget-tight stays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

A good hotel has, at least, an air-conditioned reception hall where guests could relax and avoid the heat of the metropolis. This hotel does not have an AC in the entire lobby, hallways and other rooms!

The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfy. The shower area had a tarnished tub.

There is a swingers bar at the lobby :-( and mini resto just across the bar. I think it's not strategically located especially for conservative guests.

Thereis no wifi in the room, and while there is at the lobby, guests will be charged over their bills to access the net. And it's expensive for a day!

There is a pool, but it was dirty and too small.

The only thing I enjoyed is the company of family and friends so I didn't complain much about the hotel amenities.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JJGuerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
4
11
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I once stayed here with my college friends and boy were we in for a treat-sarcastically speaking.

The room that we were assigned to was a two bedroom deluxe. What we got was a creaking old room. Spacious but creaky and creepy. They had this "OK: facade, modern and fitting with the location of the hotel, but once, you come inside the lobby, the air of antiquity kicks in. From the check-in counter to their bar and restaurant - which I still commend for it's European/Swiss feel - to their rooms, to their wood furniture laden lounge areas, which are all in dire need of refurbishment.

On the bright side, Amenities inside the room are complete, Facilities such as swimming pool and fitness center are available. Other services such as laundry and pressing and room service is accessible for in-house guests. Service is quite prompt, telephone operators are courteous and polite and so are the receptionists.

Location is great since, local shopping malls are accessible, the hotel is fronting the historic Paco Park and is few minutes away from Rizal Park.

Sure, it have been a sight and scene during it's prime. But, there are a handful of better hotels out there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marvpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

very disappointing! i will never go back to this hotel. at first the room assigned was ok but then when i checked in again for the second time i was assigned to a big room with a mouldy scent. i requested the room attendant to spray some air freshener but still the smell won't go away. their room television and ref are archaic just like the entire place. the comforter was itchy so i decided not to use it. :( :( :(

Room Tip: i forgot the room no. but i think its 3rd floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelatlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I'm sure in it's glory days this place must have been wonderful. You can still see beneath the run down and well used exterior a once beautiful women of a hotel. A grand story of a Swiss man building a hotel in this tropical paradise to remind him of a chalet in the Swiss Alps. Much of the heavy dark wood funiture and a once great bar area still exsists. The staff is plentyful, friendly and always polite. I had an interior room with no window so I could not hear the outside noise. The only noise came from some children running around the halls. The room was clean and the bed comfortible. Clean towels and a decent shower. Make sure you walk around Paco Park and Cemetery located across the street. It's kind of cool and would be very scary at night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank derektrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Garden Plaza Hotel may be disliked by some because of the location but not me . It is located beside Paco Park and I personally find it a plus . Aside from accommodation it offers, a few steps away you can visit the park where heroes were once buried. The park also has a beautiful chapel where most couples would love to tie the knot .

Taxis abound so transport is not a problem while parking space is a challenge . You have to park along the streets because their small parking area is convertible to a function room leaving you no choice.

The place is simple , clean and cozy with a cute fountain and chandelier . The restaurant needs to be renovated since it smells like an old abandoned library . The big sofas and coaches at the second level make it ideal for bonding with family and friends.

The pool is small and appropriate for kids and good for us since I brought children with me . The room is okey with only towels and small soaps provided . No complimentary water but it's expected because the rate was only P1,600.00 . The headboard needs to be fixed as it creates noise as it wobbles . The shower knob needs to be replaced .

At the back of our room is a staircase which I was not aware at first . Footsteps can be heard at night and can give an eerie feeling since hotel location is beside a cemetery . Management can do something to make it sound proof to ensure uninterrupted sleep .

The staff are all friendly and professional from booking , handling follow-ups , entertaining requests up to check-in and check-out . They are all warm and well-trained.

If you don't have too much fancy expectations , then you can try this hotel . Not that bad .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acn_saq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We checked into 3 rooms to avoid the floods in the area. Left an ipad when we hastily checked out to avoid further floods. I reported the loss a little over an hour after check out. Staff got back to me MORE THAN AN HOUR later saying the iPad was not there (though the tracking said it was before it was shut off). Makes one wonder what they did in that hour before they got back to me. Beware of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank esquire18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 days, on my way out of Philippines. They had then a special offer at 1600 Pesos per night (including Breakfast) and at this rate it is well worthwyle, even if the rooms at promotional rates are rather small and without a window.
However the bathroom was clean and well fonctionning.
Conveniently situated within reach of the nightlife spots, without the inconvenience of the noise associated to the nightlife areas

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing Paco Park (Belen Street) and not those facing the road behind, which has conti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanatani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Manila Crown Palace Hotel
#49 of 109 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Ermita
TOILENA room & board
TOILENA room & board
#53 of 109 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel
#56 of 109 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Time Travellers Hotel
#57 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#30 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Plaza Hotel

Property: Garden Plaza Hotel
Address: 1030 Belen Str | Paco, Manila, Luzon 1007, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Plaza Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing