We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midtown oasis but be careful of the jacuzzi pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New World Manila Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Midtown oasis but be careful of the jacuzzi pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Finding a high-end oasis in the middle of Manila can be a challenging task. But fortunately the Manila Hyatt Hotel and Casino offers a special brand of comfort. The food at the Market Cafe in spite of its compact range of choices is freshly prepared and the grill section serves well-seared but juicy food (although this quality depends on certain chefs on board).
While the hotel staff is trained to attend to the needs of every guest, the hotel management needs to upgrade the safety standards of its jacuzzi pool area in the men's locker room area. During a recent stay in early October, I got nearly burned by the scalding temperature of the water. Another foreign guest with limited English expressed the same problem and pointed to his legs to show how flushed these were with the hot water. I searched for a phone in the area to call the reception or staff desk but there was none. It's alarming that should anything happen to the guests there is no phone in case of an emergency. I had to get dressed up again, walk all the way to the reception desk to talk to a Duty manager. The manager was not in and so his assistant came up to personally talk with me. There was no male attendant in the locker area to address our problem since the reception staff said he was on break (around 10 pm!). Later on, the Assistant to the DM told me that there was an emergency button but it was not visible at all. The manager then checked the temperature of the jacuzzi pool water and it was past boiling point. I found it strange for the staff who returned from his break to claim that the pool water was at standard temperature. Two nights in a row before this I was in the same pool but the temperature was very comfortable, not even near 86 degrees F which was the temperature that I ended up with when the manager left. The manager extended the hours of my stay in the pool to make up for the lost time and discomfort I felt. But the staff at some point turned off the relaxing music which they later on claimed was due to a low charged iPad (which makes me wonder why the device was not plugged in the first place). Instead of having a relaxing time, I left the area annoyed and exhausted.

Room Tip: Ask for ta room facing the bay on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    533
    170
    50
    31
See reviews for
332
267
238
569
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, clean and reasonably well located but in my mind a bit pricey for what you get. The room was very spacious, clean and well maintained but the hotel overall fails to justify its five star status for things like its mediocre breakfast, slow lifts and the fact that its creaking with hookers and dazed looking gamblers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud Bali
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 25 - 29 September during Pata Mart 2012. The first impression on arrival is too slow during registration especially when we asked for King size bed due to we booked 4 rooms but seem the receptionist not really capable to anticipate such request. The man just straight say NO and he said the agent book us 4 singles. We are tired after long flight to Manila and the receptionist take more than 45 minutes just for check-in process. The luggage arrived very late until we remind them twice. Need more attention into details in the rooms and public area.


The breakfast is great and lot of choices which is good for selection. Overall the ambience of the hotels is great but it's a pity location is too crowded with local peoples. The lounge is prefect with music which not to loud, Jennifer is a great singer and she make us enjoy the stay in Manila. I would recommend to assign a better Recepionist with do more training to improve the service.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RamiaAdnyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for three nights during my business trip, and the staff not friendly, no waiting seats at lobby area, no free late check out, I request a room with king size bed they adjoin two single beds, the bfast buffet was normal the casino staff is not friendly too, I can say this is not Hyatt hotel, butter to stay next time in four Stars Hotel with lower price

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aturkmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The location is excellent .
Probably one of best hotels of the Hyatt chain.
The staff at the reception was too good. They are very considerate , polite and responsible.
The rooms have a good view and are cleaned well. The lovely breakfast with good service makes things all the more comfortable.
Worth the value

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The best I have stayed in Manila! Very attentive to your needs. My choice in Manila! Want to stay here everytime I am there for sure!

One of the most comfortable beds ever!

Wireless (with charge unless you are certain class of room)

World Class Breakfast Buffet....totally unbelievable!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judycking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed for four nights on a business trip and found the hotel to be very nice. I had a room overlooking the pool and it was clean and comfortable. I liked the furnishings and it was a nice place to relax after work. The bathroom showers were just wonderful. The staff could not have been more helpful. The personnel in the Regency club were friendly and helpful. The view from the club was great. The gym was well equipped and open early. I will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the regency level and get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Manila Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Manila Bay Hotel

Property: New World Manila Bay Hotel
Address: 1588 Pedro Gil corner MH del Pilar | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Hotel and Casino Manila)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Manila
#1 Spa Hotel in Manila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#7 Family Hotel in Manila
#8 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Manila Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World Manila Bay Hotel is a deluxe 5 star business hotel situated at the heart of Manila and in close proximity to the convention centers, shopping malls and historical attractions. Welcoming and spacious, the 376 guestrooms and suites are all designed with high ceilings and large windows to fully showcase the breath taking views of the Manila Bay sunset. Featuring four presidential suites where luxury and decadence meet, our full-time dedicated butlers attend to every smallest detail round the clock. Stay connected with WiFi in our guest rooms and restaurants or while enjoying a leisurely afternoon by our poolside featuring a 25-m outdoor lap pool, children's pool and Jacuzzi , all providing a tranquil escape from the bustle of Manila. Home to the award-winning restaurants in the city, enjoy perfectly prepared steaks at The Fireplace, authentic Cantonese delicacies at Li Li or visit Market Cafe for a truly international dining experience showcased through its live and interactive kitchens. Unwind at The Lounge over a refreshing cocktail or indulge at the Pastry Boutique offering a sinful selection of chocolates, pastries and cakes. Offering several leisure and entertainment facilities, pamper yourself with our signature treatments by visiting The Spa at Club Oasis or try your luck at the Casino-Filipino complete with two levels of executive floors studded with gaming and entertainment offerings. Choose from numerous event venues, tastefully appointed and fitted with technologically advanced equipment, making them an ideal setting for corporate meetings, weddings or any social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New World Manila Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Manila
Hyatt Hotel Philippines
Hyatt Manila
Manila Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing