We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price/quality ratio excellent”
Review of New Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Miramar
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Price/quality ratio excellent”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in New Miramar Hotel for three nights begin November 2013 during the terrible Typhoon Yolanda. Although we had no problems at all it's still painful to realise the horrible situation of others close by.
It's a rather cheap hotel (paid 35€ per night) but is very good value for money. Breakfast is included but don't waiste your time. Except for the tea the breakfast was of poor quality. Better step out of the Hotel to the left and on the other side of the street you will find a Starbucks! The Hotel is 30 mins by taxi from international airport (rush hour) and within 10 min there is a good mall. Makati Mall is 45 min in rush hour. Both mall are perfect for a good meal (@ European standard) Makati mall is better for a night out and good atmosphere, despite the 'paid pleasure girls' and the so called 'real lovers' (mid aged to old Europeans/Australians (men), with nerdy appearance accompanied by girls who pretend to be happy...) :(
The Hotel is an old classy art deco hotel with nice paintings. The rooms are spacious and aircon/television is working properly. Wifi is not so good, but free if you don't use to much. The bathroom was ok, not the most modern but spacious. The matrasses (bed) were hard and rather oncomfortabele. The personnel is very kind and very service minded.
So if you want a best value for money hotel with a central location in Manila I would suggest Miramar

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank René D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    30
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
6
13
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights , the staff was so accommodating . Near to US embassy , like 10 minutes walk . Near by restaurants chowking and Yellow cab . I would definitely book there again and recommend it to my friends .

Room Tip: Room 4th floor
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank joanseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Booked through Expedia and paid extra for 'executive' room. Quite sure we didn't get that as it seemed smallest room (according to fire-plan on back of bedroom door) and almost windowless room, the view the block next door, 12ft away. Maybe because we got a (average) breakfast with our booking? Good location on Roxas Boulevard, very clean, friendly staff, perfect if you have US Embassy business to do. About 15mins walk to Robinsons mall, if thats where you will spend most of your time outside of the room, shopping, dining, cinema etc; then i'd reccomend a hotel near the mall, there are many of similar standard and price to Miramar. Pretty good but i'll try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: We paid for 'executive room', quite sure we didnt get one!! Also requested a corner room, di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RepublikaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The hotel is good, the surrounding neighborhood is another matter. Ermita and Malate have been going downhill fast in recent years. If you have a reason to be in that area of metro Manila, the Miramar is not a bad choice at all.

It's an old gem from the '40s, and in some aspects, it shows. One slow elevator that covers only three floors of the five floors of the property. Service was ok, I was given at first a back-facing Superior Double room, with a tiny window and a noisy AC, but I was upgraded to a large front-facing one as soon as I called downstairs. The room came with a full kichenette, a desk and chair, a large double bed, and a partial view of Manila Bay.

Bathroom was ok, clean, with a bathtub and shower, but the shower water pressure had to be fixed and even then it was relatively weak.

Cleaning service was done well every day, even in late afternoons.

As the hotel is right on Roxas Blvd, some noise comes through the single pane windows. Earplugs are useful. Didn't experience any interior noises though.

I didn't try the breakfast. Plenty of other choices in the area, including cafes on Roxas blvd and Robinson's of course.

One clear negative though, no safe deposit box in the rooms.


Location-wise, the hotel is right next door to the Bayview Park hotel. Rizal Park (and its homeless people) is a 2-minute walk, the US Embassy and the start of Baywalk (with its homeless people) a 5-minute walk, Robinson's a 10-12 minute walk.

Side note: internet is not free, but a 100 PHP wi fi card, bought at the front desk, is good for 3 hours...not one-time use, good for as long as you have time remaining. wi-fi speed was ok.

All in all, a 3 1/2 star rating is appropriate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliasNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotabato City, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is where I stayed prior to my departure for another visit abroad. I brought along my sister and daughter-in-law with me and we booked in this hotel for three days. This is conveniently located, because it is just a few minutes walk away from eateries, convenience store, park, Catholic Church, etc...easy to get a taxi to go to places you like. The open interior is nice, we took several pictures there, and we were completely satisfied with the room accommodation, but the free breakfast is not satisfying, as if it is just rationed, does not compensate with the room rate. Even if I complain about the food, I still choose this hotel if I have another chance (stayed here three times already) because of its location and its friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I had the loveliest time at Miramar Hotel! Stayed for two nights, just for an event in the adjacent Bay View Hotel hosted by the Philippine Commission on Women.

Miramar is quite beautiful, a true art deco place. Carpeted stairs, ornate decor, and an airy open interior. I was given a corner room on the 4th floor. (I booked the most basic one, so if that's it then wow, and if I was upgraded, then awesome!) I had SO MUCH SPACE and I loved it. The room was worth so much more than the ~PHP1,500/night that I paid for. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom spotlessly clean. Seriously, spotlessly clean. There was no hint of mold. It's true that there's a bit of karaoke noise from downstairs but it wasn't too bad, and during my stay the singing usually stopped around half past midnight anyway. People who sleep late, like myself, would have no issues.

I also tried their breakfast, which I didn't purchase with the room. Generous servings, and very fast service! I had ordered in advance, expecting the normal hotel wait for room service, but lo and behold barely ten minutes later, here was my food.

No free wifi in the room, but you can grab a card worth PHP 100 for three hours from the front desk. Expensive, but a much better bargain than Microtel's PHP 100 for one hour! And the net is fast so it's worth it. Or you could go to the lobby where it's free.

Best part of the hotel: the staff. Particularly manong guard at the front. If hotel management is reading this (as you should, you have the TripAdvisor logo on the front desk!) please do say thank you to manong guard for making my stay a very pleasant one!

All in all, I'll be staying at this hotel again when the need to be in Manila arises.

(Lastly, Emerald Garden is a two minute walk away in the direction of Starbucks! Go there for the best siopao in the Philippines! Ah, and yes, there's a Chowking, a Starbucks open until 1am, and a 24-hour 7-11 right beside the hotel.)

Room Tip: Book a room on the 4th of 5th floor, and request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank encreverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

The location is terrific, very close to sm manila and intramuros. You can even walk to ridzal park. There is a 7-11 next to the corner and there were couple place for dinng around.
But for a rate of 4200php per might? Come on...
The rooms are old, depressing, especially with the red drapes in the day...i dont want to spend a sec in the room in the daytime.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn_yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#16 of 108 in Manila
794 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 108 in Manila
494 reviews
BP International Hotel
#63 of 108 in Manila
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Paragon Tower Hotel
Paragon Tower Hotel
#37 of 108 in Manila
69 reviews
Aloha Hotel
#51 of 108 in Manila
52 reviews
Ermita
Citystate Tower Hotel
Citystate Tower Hotel
#72 of 108 in Manila
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Miramar

Property: New Hotel Miramar
Address: 1034-1036 Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Hotel Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing