We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Walled City of Manila”
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Manila City Tour
More Info
US$47.99*
and up
Manila Old and New: Sightseeing Tour Including Intramuros and Fort Santiago
More Info
US$118.00*
and up
Manila Super Saver: Manila Sightseeing plus Tagaytay Tour with Taal Volcano
Ranked #2 of 139 things to do in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Old Walled City of Manila”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice place to stroll in the morning, riding the "kalesa" horse drown carriage will even make your visit romantic, see the history of old Manila and a glimpse of our national hero's Dr. Jose Rizal execution, the pathways he walked through at Fort Santiago for a minimal fee of P75. Be transported during the Spanish Era in the Philippines and see the great architecture at that time and even with the ruins you will appreciate the intricacy of each design. After your nice stroll you can try having lunch buffet at the Bay leaf Hotel right beside the golf course and go to their roof-deck and marvel at the greenery's of the surroundings and take selfie pictures with the Manila City Hall tower clock at the background. Poster Perfect!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MisisEdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    1,212
    504
    93
    37
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A nice collection of buildings, nothing more”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's a Spanish plaza, like in any other former Spanish colony. Not especially well-kept, very poorly lit at night. The building in question is now torn-down, only the facade is left, but it is crawling with weeds and plant with not light.
You can go around here but my recommendation is only if it's on your way, don't take to much time for it...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank linis_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandung
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth to visit”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I was lucky had free old manila tours, we were visited intramous area, I had good experience I love all about this place, lot of historical place, old buildings with great architecture, ruins, it must be really beautiful place back then..
We also visited fort Santiago and rizal's last step before he was executed, it is great historical sites, worth to visit.
Fyi our melting pot hostels have free old manila tours. I recommended this place so you can get free tours also free information about old manila.

Helpful?
1 Thank rani a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“soul of history”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

as the Intramuros serves as the oldest district in Manila.We can thinked and say that this is one of the soul history of the Philippines.Strolling the area can reflect of the significance of our culture.Very dim,quiet and magical things to experience the travel time of Spanish colonial times of it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyfunlovetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intra”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Probably one of my favorite places, we would always go here right after school and just hang out. Quite a nice place for a quick stroll then have lunch after. It's not advisable to go here at night since usually the street lights are very dim and doesn't even seem to helping at all to remove darkness sometimes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing