We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rich history of the Chinese in the Philippines”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahay Tsinoy

Bahay Tsinoy
Ranked #37 of 130 things to do in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quezon City
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“rich history of the Chinese in the Philippines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

A great place to appreciate how much the Chinese have influenced Philippines history and culture through its wax museum, artifacts, paintings, and the likes. Visited the museum twice already. The first one gave me preview on how many Filipinos / Chinese were killed during the Japanese occupation in the Philippines. The 2nd one showcased art work showing the Chinese serving the military in early war times. Definitely an eye-opening place.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank janettetoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marikina City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my favorite museums!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Those with Chinese blood would love to come here and learn more about their history in a foreign land--the Philippines. Plus their visuals are very detailed and convincing. It's like a wax museum but with the complete set-up (like surroundings, houses back then, etc)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Educational Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

A must specially for the teens ( and the young once too). Very educational.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momsie_bya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This has got to be one of the hidden gems of Intramuros and one of the best-made museums in the Philippines. I didn't expect it to be that good and informative. It reminded me of "Images of Singapore" at Sentosa.

The only thing which took me aback was the exhibition at the very top about the kaisa organisation.

Overall, pretty cool!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank verargulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tsinoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Bahay Tsinoy is a place Filipinos must visit to be inspired as entrepreneurs. I am a Tsinoy (Chinese-Filipino) and I came to visit this museum last month - and I really enjoyed it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Khawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahay Tsinoy also viewed

 

Been to Bahay Tsinoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing