We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intra-historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Santiago

Fort Santiago
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Old Manila
Ranked #5 of 130 things to do in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum and public park was built as a stone fortress at the turn of the 17th century and marked the beginning of the walled city's riverside barricades.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philippines
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Intra-historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I been here twice since during student's field trip,Fort Santiago is a must included attraction to visit.But now that I'm old enough when I came back,I can say that this place had really walked the history of our country.Quiet place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyfunlovetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    645
    281
    44
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A walk through history of Manila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was lucky that I had a local friend who was accompanying me... He walked me through the history of Manila while we walked through old Manila
If you are not interested in historical monuments, forts and talk about how cities were lost and won, you may not find it fun... The walk could be really long and tiring... You can hire a guide with a a'zipny (kind of a tri-cycle)... I will highly recommend you to either read a book before you get there or hire a guide...
The history of Colonisation, Spanish, American, Japanese, and then freedom, Authoritarian government all is so much to keep you occupied while you walk along... There are a few souvenir shops from where you can buy some stuff to take back...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SameerKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

the place is historical yes, but what would one see except the arch and the creek with few garbage .inside were trim plants and few trees before reaching the museum of Rizal , where some historical memorabilia are displayed plus the life size replica of rizal, while writing his mi ultimo adios... the place is quiet and hot. even with some trees. still i could not appreciate the place. there are places which are lock.i don't know whats in there. there were kalesa rides too. did not enjoy it .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 711rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fortress within the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

To fully understand the history of the place join the "walk this way tour" by Carlos Celdran which you can easily find just after the main gate or check his website for schedules.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wahiawa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exploring the Philippines' Spanish Influence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Fort Santiago boasts of a somber, yet awe-inspiring story of the country's Spanish influence and the imprisonment of the Philippines' national hero, Jose Rizal. Staff are dressed in military costumes and you get to view gallery upon gallery of memorabilia which all add to the feeling of being able to experience this historical period as it was. For those who prefer to explore historical sites in your own pace and time without the benefit of guides, this is the place for you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pn0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Santiago also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Fort Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing