We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dropped my reservation....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Cross Hotel
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Seattle, USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dropped my reservation....”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

They not only screwed up my reservation and offered a much worse room in a nearby (sister) hotel. I had no choice late evening after a long bus ride.

To add insult to injury they charged me for online booking as if I had made the reservation and did not show up.

Room Tip: Look online. If you are in Ermita, Manial area there are very nice hotels. Southern Cross is a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
2
14
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Had visited here several times for a meal but never used the hotel for accommodation. Stayed one night recently and was pleasantly surprised. The room I was in was quite large, very comfortable. Staff are very pleasant, very quick check-in and out. Free WiFi in the bar area. Close enough to other bars in the area and about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Robinson’s, department store and supermarket. Will probably make this hotel my preference for when I’m visiting Manila in the future. Food was very good, reasonably priced and of course being an Aussie owned establishment the beer was nice and cold.(Most Important).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robbiemac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I really enjoy staying at the Southern Cross, the staff are friendly and helpful, they have an excellent airport pick up service and the food is very good. Although this is a budget hotel the hotel services and access to local services and activities are excellent; robinsons shopping mall is nearby as are many bars and restaurants including many with live music. The staff ensure that you get a metered taxi and there is coach service to a number of locations (from front door).
I have stayed in many hotels in Manila including 5 star hotels and i can honestly say that staying in the Southern Cross has consistently been one of the most enjoyable experiences of my visits to Manila.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window as some rooms have no natural light. For me this is not an issue as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This place is a good budget Hotel which is central to many things you may wish to do in Manila. Close to major tourist attractions such as Intramurous and Rizal Park! Many amenities are also very close by such as laundry, Money Changers and plenty of ATMs! Friendly staff and the oversight by the owner/Manager Terry makes sure things run smoothly and without ant troubles! It has a safe deposit box in the room which works well and adds to the security of your possessions!
Rooms are acceptable and are made up each and every day even if you rise late after partying in the many bars close by!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy! Some rooms have no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ningbojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Good
Hotel in general- very friendly staff, safe and secure, restaurant and bar, good meals, cold beer, travel agency attached, elevator.
Good Value Rooms include- wifi, fridge, cable tv, ensuite, safe deposit box, aircon.
(best rooms are the back corner rooms)
Good Location- money changer and laundry opposite, restaurants nearby, Robinsons 10 minute walk, jeepneys at the door.

Bad
Bar area is always dark, stale smoke odours, shower curtains mouldy.

Generally- if you can get over the older gent and the young lady scenarios (don't be too judgemental as it is a two way street) then you will find this a good place to stay.
I have stayed here many times with my Australian wife and we both agree it is very good value and can be a lot of fun interacting with the staff and meeting all types of interesting people.

Room Tip: All the corner rooms are good, and the back corner rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

first stayed at southern x in 2005 and have stayed there at least 20 times since... great area close to bars and bus at the door to angeles and subic...terry great host..try red garter bar around corner or gold coast bar ...la cafe down the road gpoint..catch the bus to sabang from outside swagman hotel around the corner..the receptionist hazelsky is my ex girlfriend she is malibog

Room Tip: make sure you book room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

good service and friendly staff.. be back next time

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Time Travellers Hotel
#56 of 109 in Manila
22 reviews
Ermita
Paragon Tower Hotel
Paragon Tower Hotel
#41 of 109 in Manila
69 reviews
Malate
Casa Nicarosa Hotel
Casa Nicarosa Hotel
#75 of 109 in Manila
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
Ermita
Rosa's Garden Hotel
Rosa's Garden Hotel
#50 of 109 in Manila
29 reviews
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#67 of 109 in Manila
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Hotel

Property: Southern Cross Hotel
Address: 1125 Del Pilar | Metro Manila, Manila, Luzon 1013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Cross Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Cross Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing