We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and restful”
Review of Hotel 878 Libis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 878 Libis
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,995 reviews
391 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,160 helpful votes
“Excellent and restful”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I booked this hotel through www.asiatravel.com: P2000 for a standard room ('City view') but on arrival realising that these rooms would suffer from traffic noise from the C (Circumferential)5 Road adjacent with its flyover and offramp, I upgraded to a 'St Ignatius View' room for an additional P300 which turned out to be money well spent for excellent quality sleep.

The hotel has parking underneath and a drop-off facility in front of reception. Ensure that you download a map of the hotel as many taxi drivers have not heard about it.

Check-in was a bit slow.

The hotel has rooms off both sides of a long central corridor. My room, the 'deluxe', was the cheapest: there are also loft rooms and suites.

The room had a double bed which was comfortable: doona rather than top sheet (I prefer the latter.)

There was a generously sized table with one chair, and excellent (fluorescent) lighting throughout.

While there was no bar fridge, there was a sink with tap which is unusual: there were also kitchen cupboards, presumably aimed at 'balikbayans' as the hotel advertises a rate of US$875 per month for my type of room or US$1,000 a month for a larger, mezzanine-style 'loft room.'

The airconditioning was not split system and hence a little noisy although it did not disturb my sleep: it was efficient at getting the temperature down to 18 degrees.

The rainwater-rose equipped shower was a bit tepid but just acceptable: water pressure in the vanity basin was good with the shower having a good ledge for toiletries. A small bottle of combined shampoo/ conditioner and a toothbrush and tiny tube of toothpaste were the only freebies, along with two sachets of coffee (no tea.) Soap was a notable omission.

The television was a small LG model but had a good range of subscription TV channels including BBC World, CNN and local Filipino offerings. Australia TV was not on offer.

Breakfast (included) was iced tea; I then asked for a ham and cheese omelette but separate slices of ham and cheese with wholemeal bread arrived: not what I wanted. I was also given a bowl of oatmeal.

I obtained a 1300 hours checkout.

This hotel is professsional and keenly priced, but it is probably 3.5km to Araneta Center and further to Ortigas where MRT (rail - elevated metro) stations are located along with malls, so it is a bit isolated. It seems popular with foreigners. Pay the extra for a St Ignatius View room to get the best sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
6
12
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roxas city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

this is a nice hotel - physically, i mean. the rooms are clean and spacious, the beds do not sag, the closets are also big enough for my needs.
the entrance/lobby is right at the edge of the main road. the heat from the concrete reflects right into the front of the hotel, whew! the lobby, instead of being airconditioned and adequately sound proofed, has been installed with semi-airconditioners that are very noisy. when you're in the lobby, finish your transactions quickly! the security personnel are better than the receptionists and the manager - they don't even bother to greet you a good day even when you do greet them. oh yeah, esp. the manager, he can't even look at you in the eye. may be he's just too preoccupied with something else.
the hotel does not have a cafe or restaurant - make sure you are full before coming back to the hotel! it would be a very inconvenient feeling in case you forgot.
it's a 15 minute walk to eastwood city, and it's too far from other places. tiendesitas? take a cab. cubao (getway mall, ali mall, araneta center) - take a jeep across the flyover or take a cab.
they have complimentary breakfast - don't choose the juice; it's made from powder and tastes like medicine. don't go with the manager, he hogs the morning paper like its his own and doesn't care if there are guests who might to read too.
choose a room facing the houses at the back of the hotel, they're quiet. if you like the noise, pick the ones facing the main libis/kalayaan road.
but if you want to hide, meditate in your room; and may be do a "fasting & abstinence" - this is the best place ever.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadyangero_capiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excitedtraveller90, Director of Sales at Hotel 878 Libis, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time and effort to write your concerns and want to inform you that all of them have been addressed. As a new hotel, we endeavor to keep improving our standards of service in order to provide our guests with consistent comfort and convenience during their stay. May we invite you to come and visit us again to see how we have done this? We hope to see you again soon.

Very truly yours,

Cristina Espiritu
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel 878 Libis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Hi,

This was my second trip to Manila, first time when i had been to a hotel in Makati City where almost everything was close-by the hotel. This time my office has shifted to Eastwood city and hence i was put up in Hotel 878.

Neverthless, the good thing is that it is very close to my office just 5 minutes drive and hence very convenient, the staff over here is quite respectful and friendly. The dining hall is also quite good and the service is quick. Whenever i call them for something they are there to fulfill my request.

The best part is that it provides free wireless to its customers and the conenction speed is also excellent, hence people like me who cant stay away from the internet would love to stay here.

The experience would have been much better if they could have provided a microwave in the rooms [ am i asking for too much? :) ]

So conclusion, for people who spend most of their time in office and just come to the hotel for having a pleasant sleep and a very good breakfast should prefer Hotel 878.

Regards,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueMumbaiIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excitedtraveller90, Director of Sales at Hotel 878 Libis, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
First of all, thank you for taking the time and effort to write your warm comments about our hotel. We are very pleased that you had a most pleasant experience here with us, and hope that you will return and bring your friends or family with you as well so they can share your wonderful experience with us.

Because we endeavor to become the most outstanding boutique hotel in Libis, Quezon City, providing excellent accommodations at value prices, we take comments from our valued guests like yourself very seriously. Suggestions for improvement in service or rooms that are simple to undertake yet have maximum impact on guest satisfaction are implemented in the hotel immediately. Those that require some financial investment are considered carefully and implemented according to our present and anticipated guest needs profile.

So thank you once more for your feedback. It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again soon.

Very truly yours,

Cristina Espiritu
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel 878 Libis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Its nice to know that eastwood libis got a cool place to stay. My girlfriend and I had a night out with couple of friends in libis and its quite late to travel way back home, one of my friend book us in a near by hotel were we can stay. Its was a nice and cool place, small but cozy place to stay for traveler or should I say homeless for a night, hehehe…. The place is a modern but has a country feel because of the wood accent and furniture inside the room. the service is good, its like a standard beyond a standard hotel. I would definitely stay hear again if I have the chance. Thankz and more power to you guyz.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnbaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
excitedtraveller90, Director of Sales at Hotel 878 Libis, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience here, and hope that you will tell your friends and family about Hotel 878 Libis so that they can try us out as well.

Perhaps you and your significant other may want to have a nice dinner at our Cafe 878 someday? We just recently expanded our cafe hours to satisfy our guests' requests.

We hope to see you and your significant other again soon.

Very truly yours,

Cristina Espiritu
Sales and Marketing Manager
Hotel 878 Libis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2010

If you could put a small personal refrigerator on the Deluxe room would make it more convenient. So far I enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nicebink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Acropolis
0.3 mi away
Soleste Suites
Soleste Suites
#10 of 63 in Quezon City
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastwood Richmonde Hotel
Eastwood Richmonde Hotel
#14 of 63 in Quezon City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ACL Suites
ACL Suites
#35 of 63 in Quezon City
22 reviews
2.2 mi away
Verjandel Hotel
Verjandel Hotel
#19 of 63 in Quezon City
8 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oracle Hotel & Residences
Oracle Hotel & Residences
#21 of 63 in Quezon City
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 878 Libis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 878 Libis

Property: Hotel 878 Libis
Address: 878 E. Rodriguez Jr. Avenue | Bagumbayan, Quezon City, Luzon 1100, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 878 Libis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of booming Libis is Hotel 878, the landmark entryway to this lively financial, entertainment and residential district.Reminiscent of Mediterranean architecture with Contemporary Asian accents, the hotel's fresh and modern vibe is a mix of East and West. Amenities required by the regular traveler are included in our very sensible, economical rates. These include breakfast, coffee/tea service, complimentary 2 bottles water, free city calls, free wifi in the room, Cable TV, and free daily newspaper. We also offer toiletries and rain shower in all our bathrooms. Free parking is available for hotel guests in our hotel parking lot. Our Cafe 878 is open all day, providing first-class Filipino and International Cuisine. Room Service is available upon request.Hotel 878 Libis is conveniently located on the busy C5 highway, with fast access to the north through the North Luzon Expressway (NLEX). Guests can opt to choose our City View Rooms (facing the main street. Note that sounds may occasionally disturb the light sleeper) or our the quieter St. Ignatius View Rooms (facing a private residential subdivision). Public transportation is readily available in front of the hotel. Shopping and entertainment destinations are within 10-15mins. drive away. Truly, guests will affirm best value from the warm and sincere connection they get from the unique level of service provided by HOTEL 878's staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel 878 Libis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 878 Libis Quezon City, Philippines - Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing