We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've stayed in Fersal before (around 6 yrs ago) and I must say that it has improved quite a lot since then. This time we booked their Family suite for 2 nights. It had 2 rooms on 2 levels, which had their own restrooms. The rooms, sheets, towels and curtains were clean but they need to replace some of their equipment like the aircon unit (the one in our room was really old that the vent flaps are broken). The free breakfasts were okay, they were filling enough. The staff were friendly and accommodating, although on the day we were supposed to check out I called the front desk and asked if we can check out at 2pm. The staff just said there's a late check-out fee and you can do so until 6pm. So I said ok never mind, the check out time is 12nn right, and he confirmed. Apparently, when my mom confirmed later she was told that we can still check out at 1pm. My suggestion is the staff should be more proactive when it comes to these things and anticipate their customers needs because the customer doesn't always know all the information. Overall, the experience was still pleasant and we had a restful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letsbedizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berna C, General Manager at Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Mam, thank you for the review, we will work on your concerns regarding the ACU and breakfast. We also noted the check out time which is by standard at 12 noon. However, the hotel can extend the hours upon request of guests provided that we have no back to back reservations for the room. Nevertheless, we will reiterate to our Front Desk officers to be more proactive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

As I started writing this review, it came to my mind that it will be hard for me to describe my experience in this city hotel. Searching for the highlights of the establishment would be quite impossible. With it's rate I was already expecting a better hospitality, but instead my experience was just an ordinary transaction whose just doing business with them. WHAT MATTER'S THE MOST For a hotel who have less amenities and facilities is a good hospitality care that can connect and give positive impact to their customers, As a blogger we always look for the unique quality of an establishment but in this case i would be able to get a more warmer and sincere welcome and recognition from a convenient store. Fersal Hotel have basic room amenities the same with other hotels, the design and layout of the whole property was not really well planed to provide a wow factor. But in the other hand the only thing i like about my experience is my Filipino breakfast with the tenderness of a tapa, but it would still be better if you have a better coffee presentation.

I sincerely hope that my next visit to this hotel would add a wow service factor to my experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcareerph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berna C, General Manager at Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Mam, thank you for the review, we will work on your concerns regarding the ACU and breakfast. We also noted the check out time which is by standard at 12 noon. However, the hotel can extend the hours upon request of guests provided that we have no back to back reservations for the room. Nevertheless, we will reiterate to our Front Desk officers to be more proactive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Having stayed both at this and the one on Malakas (just down the road behind the heart center), I'd say this one is better but not by much. Both have the same breakfast which is edible but not amazing, with exceptionally bad coffee or 'juice' (water, food coloring and sugar).

The rooms have been refurbished and are clean enough, look nice enough and feel a little more spacious than the Malakas Fersal. But they still have similar issues of being poorly put together - the A/C unit on mine was leaking water everywhere. And the internet was also frustratingly on-off, often having to sit on the floor outside the bathroom or in the stairwells etc. to get a decent wi-fi signal.

I suppose in this neighborhood it's just hard to find a decent hotel at a halfway decent price, so maybe you don't really have many better options than the Fersal. But that's a pity that the standards are so low.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, avoid rooms with a window facing Kalayaan as there's traffic pass...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaExpatIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

As the saying goes... There's always a room for improvement...
i have been a regular guest of Fersal since ages ago were the kitchen is part of the room :).
The new looks speaks for itself.. a new face lift, better service, staffs are great, clean rooms...
The room rates not so bad affordable as in for a budget control freak [like me :)].
Hmmm... for improvement? I'll leave that one with the hotel management as i have read a lot of comment that could lead them to do better.

I'm rating this hotel at 3 stars...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room is clean but the lighting is poor. Kitchen crew are not that friendly and their food is not good enough. The wifi was also weak when you're in the room but good when you're at the cafe. You can hear traffic from the streets at night too. The elevator was so small it was so difficult if you had lots of baggage. And lastly there were common restaurants in the area but the SM and Trinoma malls are one ride away.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back of the hotel, you could probably not hear the street noise anymore.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice: before and after it was renovated. Even before it undergone renewal, customer service is already good, polite and prompt staff. Plus it is a convenient because you can check in anytime.
After renovations, the hotel got even better. New furniture and good quality linens. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kapihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Staff ok, polite and corteous, stayed for 11 nights, our room wasn't clean properly, shower was filthy dirty esp. the shower curtain, shower was blocked so while having a shower the dirty water stays on your feet then when you finish your wiping dirty water w/ your towel that you're suppose to save for the next day. towel was stained we got charged for 360pesos for a lousy towel, a bit rough!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Planet Timog
Red Planet Timog
#4 of 63 in Quezon City
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fersal Hotel Malakas
Fersal Hotel Malakas
#23 of 63 in Quezon City
48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham UP Technohub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Madison 101 Hotel & Tower
Madison 101 Hotel & Tower
#12 of 63 in Quezon City
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verjandel Hotel
Verjandel Hotel
#19 of 63 in Quezon City
8 reviews
1.6 mi away
Icon Hotel North Edsa
Icon Hotel North Edsa
#36 of 63 in Quezon City
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan

Address: 130 Kalayaan Ave, Quezon City, Luzon, Philippines (Formerly Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan, Diliman)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Price Range: £31 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fersal Hotel is a name synonymous with affordable comfort. Our clean, well-appointed accommodations are complemented by personalized service from our well-trained staff. Our chain of budget-friendly inns can be found in the most strategic places throughout the metro. As such, any Fersal Hotel can be the ideal jump-off point for your business or leisure trip. Our guests always have easy access to the major business districts and thoroughfares. Whether you are in Quezon City, Philippines for business, arranging a meeting, hosting an event or to simply take time off, FERSAL HOTEL - KALAYAAN, DILIMAN is the right place for you. We combine the basic elements that allow you to work and relax at the same time. Located in what used to be known as the country's seat of power, Quezon City is still home to some major government offices, commercial enterprises, dining and entertainment establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fersal Hotel - Kalayaan Quezon City, Philippines - Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing