We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thumbs up for a no frills hotel!!!”
Review of Red Planet Timog

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Timog
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

You don't need to pay for a very high price to get great quality hotel basics with Tune. Stayed here for 2 nights and was impressed with this budget hotel. The room has all the "basics" that you need - clean room, great aircon temp, superb bed for a comfortable sleep, cable TV, good hot shower pressure and an inroom safety deposit box. It was like staying in a 1-star hotel with the bed and shower or a 5-star accommodation. It's a no-frills hotel so expect to pay additional charges for some extras. Location is near to the city's night spots of Tomas Morato and Timog and commute is not a problem at all. Staff are friendly and always wear a big smile. This is budget, modern hotel that can be a good choice for business or just a quick escape from a busy city life.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank japitow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Red Planet Timog
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

this is a basic budget hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable. Though little far from the main area, a few nights stay is no harm. The staffs are also very friendly and ready to help you for anything. definitely recommended for budget travelers..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Free limited parking, on the second floor.
You've got a shower, soap, shampoo and a remote for P1900. Plus the wifi, A/C, and the tv. Thats it!
This budget hotel is great for its value! Nearest convenience store is ministop. 711 isnt open yet.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MiguelOrtigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Location - Very close to Edsa (main highway connecting to North and South) and walking distance to MRT GMA 7 Kamuning Station but Tune Hotel is far from fastfood/restaurant chains. Did not see any Jollibee/McDonalds nearby. Closest one is Minute Stop Convenience Store (like a 7 Eleven), which is just next door from Tune is where we bought our coffee and some pastries for breakfast when we're too tired to walk or go out to eat. Buddy's Restaurant (a new fastfood to us) which was recommended by some security/bell staff is probably the closest (walking distance) restaurant you can go to when you're hungry. They serve Filipino food and they have the best pansit! Chowking was at Tomas Morato corner Timog and we had to take a Taxi to go there. Also saw Yellow Cab Pizza and Shakey's Pizza very close to Chowking. Btw, we also liked the TV screen/computer that takes photos in the lobby. Make sure you check this cool feature!

Room - Bed was very comfortable! We liked the clean smelling sheets and pillow cases. We're glad that they have thick sheets that kept us warm from our airconditioned room. The space was very small for our 4 large luggages, but there's enough space for us to walk to go to the restroom. Requested extra key so that lights and power won't come off when one person is left in the room inside. Temperature of the aircon was just perfect after a hot stroll and trip out. Hot Shower was great! The pressure and temps of the shower was just fine and the size of the shower area was just alright. What was lacking is counter space to put your makeup or other toiletries stuff. No problems with the speed of the wifi (which we purchased), the only inconvenient part is you have to get the code downstairs at the front desk every after 24 hours. We also needed to iron some clothes and we paid a fee of P100 for 3 hours for a small steam handheld iron. In house phones can be found in every floor but not in your room. There are no microwave and fridge too (so we did not buy food that we did not eat right away!). We just ate out all the time.

Security - We had 4 large luggages in our room and important documents. Felt safe for our whole stay. There's just a weird door lock which was difficult for our old parents to manage. They had a hard time opening the door each time they went out.

Staff- Bell staff/Security Staff that assisted us with our luggages were very courteous and friendly. The front desk staff were also helpful but need to smile more. We stayed here for 4 nights and we never saw them smile at us. Our booking was made online when we were still in the US and we encountered a lot of problems when we changed the nights of our stay at Tune. Make sure you read their fine print (which btw was too tiny) because your booking is final which means it's NON REFUNDABLE! We booked for 7 nights earlier and had to change it to 4 nights because of unexpected circumstances. They will just give you a credit for future use which is only also valid for a limited period of time! But how is this possible if you're just a tourist?! What a waste! Anyway, this review is to remind guests (especially those from the US) to make sure of your dates of stay because credit is only valid at Asia locations.

Room Tip: We chose a room close to the elevator and close to the in floor phone. We also had higher floors so...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank biketoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife to be and me, stayed for nearly a month in tune hotel quezon. Due to my vacation in the philiphines. And the staff really made me love this hotel, the kindness, helpfullness and their smiles was the reason for me wanting to stay there again, next time in philiphines. The room was clean and big enough for two. With a good bed, shower and wifi. This was a pleasent stay.
I´ll be back. Thank you staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arild E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the newest member of the Tune Hotel Chain in the Philippines. Like any other Tune Hotel out there, this location offers superb location (just near the Scout Roundabout). Most additional facilities can be booked pre-paid like air-conditioning, wifi, vanity kits etc.

Room Tip: Check out is 11AM.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mervinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I was looking for a nearby hotel where we can stay while home repairs are done. Cleanliness and economy were my foremost considerations. Since the hotel had newly opened, I expected the hotel to be clean. I opted to check the rooms and prices first before reserving. The hotel exceeded my expectations. On our actual stay, I found very courteous and helpful staff members. Checking in and out was a breeze. Our room and the bath were very clean and smelled great. Our two nights stay was worth it, all things considered.

This is a basic hotel. There are no extra amenities. Towels are changed daily. Shampoo and soap are given free upon check in. We were given free wifi access during our 2 nights there. I think they are charging wifi. Convenience store is at the next building. Public transport readily available. The hotel would work fine for those who needed a place to stay for sleep/rest.

The room is small sized with just enough space to move about. What you see in rooms: twin rooms offer two single beds, night lamps, mirrors around, hanging space for clothes, hair blower, folding table for eating or laptop. Hot and cold water available. No smoking on all areas. Fine for smoking is P2000, this will be taken up at check in. Basic items sold at the lobby.

Pros: Location, public transport, very clean rooms with basic amenities, helpful staff.

Cons: No room ref, phone, closets. No hotel resto.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AileenDLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
1.6 mi away
Madison 101 Hotel & Tower
Madison 101 Hotel & Tower
#12 of 63 in Quezon City
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Quezon City
Stone House Quezon City
#37 of 63 in Quezon City
100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brentwood Suites
Brentwood Suites
#13 of 63 in Quezon City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cocoon Boutique Hotel
The Cocoon Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Quezon City
492 reviews
1.6 mi away
Icon Hotel North Edsa
Icon Hotel North Edsa
#36 of 63 in Quezon City
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
B Hotel Quezon City
B Hotel Quezon City
#2 of 63 in Quezon City
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Timog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Timog

Address: 100 Timog Avenue | Barangay Sacred Heart, Quezon City, Luzon 1100, Philippines (Formerly Red Planet Quezon City)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Quezon City
#3 Spa Hotel in Quezon City
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Timog 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Planet Quezon City, Manila is the ideal launch pad for exploring or doing business in the Philippines' second-largest city - a refreshing property that embraces fun, style and a can-do attitude. Located near the GMA-Kamuning Metro Rail Transit station the hotel provides easy access to a host of tourist attractions including Quezon Memorial Circle, Camps Crame and Aguinaldo, the Araneta Centre and Araneta Coliseum, as well as myriad restaurants, shops, bars and other entertainment options. The 140-room Red Planet Quezon City, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Timog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Planet Timog Quezon City, Philippines - Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing