We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Quezon City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone House Quezon City
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I stayed twice in 2012 and on both dates, I occupied what they call the Ruby room - it's a very small room just enough to contain a double bed, a toilet and shower, a small vanity table with no drawer, a small closet, airconditioner, a television with the screen the size of a letter bond paper, and about 1.5 square meters of room to pace. For the price of P1,100 (at a 43 exchange rate, that is roughly US$26), two persons can stay in the room, with breakfast for 2; hence that would be about US$13 each if there's two of you but if you're alone, you still pay US$26 because you pay for the room. I checked in evening and my check out is 12 midnight at the end of my stay - I did a double take and had to clarify midnight or noon - it was midnight.

This is an old apartelle (25 years old according to the guard) and most everything in the room shows its age. The bedcover, the towels, the linens are yellowed with age. They smelled clean, however, and I didn’t get itchy all over (I have very sensitive skin) so based on that, I conclude that the linens are clean. The second time I stayed, in a different Ruby room, the pillow cases were new and pristine white.

The pictures in their website look pretty but the actual look of the rooms is tired.

You can have free Internet (wi-fi) at the restaurant. For a minimal charge, you can have Internet access in your room - PhP200 (US$4.65) for 24 hours and PhP500 (US$11.63) for a one-week unlimited access.

Breakfast is buffet / 'eat all you can' - which boasts of relatively a fair number food choices; but don't expect great taste, they are ordinary at best. For lunch and dinner which are not included in the package, you can likewise order from or eat at the restaurant but the prices of the food are a bit expensive considering the category of the restaurant and the quality of the food.

If you have a car, it's a 5 minute drive to the restaurants lining Tomas Morato, a street perpendicular to the street where Stonehouse is located. If you don't have a car, it's about a 15 minute walk to these restaurants. There are a few convenience stores, laundry, pharmacy, banks, beauty salons, spas, a mini-mall along Tomas Morato but other than those, the street is pretty much a concentration of bars and restaurants from fast food to fine dining. If you want to go to the big malls, it's about a drive or a taxi ride of 20-30 minutes all around. It's about a 5-10 minute drive to St. Luke's Hospital, depending on the traffic.

Room Tip: You can request viewing of the room first when you arrive before you agree to take the room. Some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asc_art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thanks for the review. We are on the process of updating our linens and towels even the aircon. Looking to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    24
    16
    3
See reviews for
18
25
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The room was very clean and comfortable. The TV had a number of international TV stations. The bar/restaurant at the hotel had decent food but was a bit pricey. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The manager allowed me a late checkout of 2pm due to a late flight. When I mentioned I wanted to pay for wifi in my room, the staff kindly suggested there was also free wifi in the restaurant (which I certainly used). They helped me get taxis to/from my various locations. Very happy with the hotel itself.

I only stayed in QC because I had something to do there specifically - there's not much in terms of tourism here. My taxi driver had absolutely no idea where the hotel was and although it is on a large street, he couldn't seem to find that either; I would suggest printing out mapped directions to assist your taxi driver.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
thanks for the review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 2 years, most recently 23rd December 2012.

The hotel has the most amazing staff, the Housekeepers, Reception Staff and the Security/ porters are all extremely polite and helpful. They would be by far the best hotel staff I have come across in the Phillipines and I have stayed at a fair few hotels in Manila and Boracy.

The rooms are very clean, they are airconditioned and have international TV channels. WIFI is available for a fee, but it is free downstairs in the Bar.

You can print your Airline flight itinery at the hotel reception (Phillipine Airports requirement)

There are many nightclubs nearby, and St Lukes Hospital (really good) is just up the road.

If you are looking for a clean, reliable hotel with great guest services in Manila look no further.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a slightly larger room. The hotel has a big penthouse on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onerivercentral, Owner at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thanks Cameron for the wonderful review too bad we weren't able to hang out again. Till we meet again bro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay for it's location to visit families in QC. The rates were cheap. It's an old building but it's very clean and we did not see a single cockroach! We got the Diamond Room with 2 double beds, a sitting area and a refrigerator. You can pay for WiFi in your room for low rates. You get free WiFi at the hotel cafe downstairs where they serve breakfast. You get 2 free breakfasts. The American Breakfast which my kids chose was pretty bad. It was supposed to come with hashbrown, ham, fruits and coffee. The hashbrown was mushy, the ham was a very thin half slice that looked like bologna and they didn't have fruits available. They also had a buffet breakfast which was good for Filipino standards since it had rice, meat dish, vegetable dishes and porridge. The bathroom was ok for Filipino standards. Ours came with a tub/shower combination with shower doors and hot water. The only problem was somehow there was a leak and the bathroom floor was flooded after we had our showers despite having the shower doors closed. The staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uspinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onerivercentral, Owner at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thanks for your review . We have already fix the bathtub after learning about your experience. As for the breakfast we deeply apologized for it. Your concerned has been already address to our kitchen staff. Once again thanks for you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My stay at Stone House could not have been more fantastic. While it is a little out-of-the-way, in Quezon City, its charm more than makes up for the extra distance.

The building is aptly named; the exterior is entirely made of stone and the interior is charmingly antique. When I stayed there in July of 2011, they were in the midst of renovations and have since completed the majority of them. Modern facilities accompany this classic bed and breakfast; flat screen TVs, internet, an in-house bar, a rooftop veranda, and much more exist to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The newest Rose Rooms are particularly interesting, as they are modeled after very clean and cozy small rooms found in Japan; they can be found on the lowest level of the building, making them exceptionally quiet and private. It reminded me of similar places I'd stay in when in Hong Kong, for less than half the cost.

Stone House not only includes affordable rooms, but they also have massive penthouse-style suites on their top floors. The rooftop includes a large area used as a bar and breakfast area, as well as a sizable garden area. Downstairs, Stone House offers a charming bar that, even on a weekday, is standing-room only and frequently offers excellent live music. The entire set-up is masterminded by Garrie Trinidad, the owner/operator.

Nothing sets off a great visit like meeting the owner of a hotel, right-off-the-bat. Being a customer who was there to review budget lodging, I was simply fortunate enough to be in the right place at the right time upon check-in. Mr. Trinidad is a spectacular host and a true lover of travelers. Upon discovering I was only staying for the one night, he offered to take me to dinner with a friend of his at a restaurant he also owns. It's doubtful that my stay could have been any better.

The hotel staff was equally pleasant, which anyone who travels in the Philippines knows is a welcome thing. Take my advice and check into the hotel manually, and not through their website; there is an additional service charge by booking online, and Stone House does not see any of it. You'd be far better-off writing an email and requesting a reservation, as it can save you around P200 (a significant amount when you're paying P1100 for the room). But, in the end, there is nowhere in Metro Manila where you can get a 600 square-foot (55 square-meter) room for a mere P2,500 a night; if you are looking for that unparalleled deal, it is extremely wise to book in advance.

You're not going to do much better than this in Manila. Whatever standard of living you're looking to achieve during your stay in Manila, Stone House can achieve it, at a rate that is so competitive, it can be hard-to-believe. Keep in mind that the only "negative" is that it is in Quezon; at 5:30am, it took just over a half-an-hour to get from the hotel to the airport, with no traffic to speak of. But, Quezon is nice and quiet, and full of charm that Stone House does a fantastic job of adding to.

Pictures of Stone House can be seen in my Facebook album: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150243202740849.319108.502455848&type=1

Room Tip: The Rose Rooms in the lowest level of the facility are the quietest you will find in Manila, and a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsphfrtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onerivercentral, Owner at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thanks for you wonderful comment too bad you weren't able to come back last month. Maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I'd recommend staying here only if you need to be in the area and don't want to spend much.

I stayed at at Stone House Hotel for a week on a work trip as I needed to be close to Diliman and was on a tight budget. I had booked the Garnet room, and when I arrived (quite late at night) I was asked at check-in if I wanted to see the room and consider other options. I saw the room, which was on the 3rd floor, directly above the main road on which the hotel is located. It was quite scruffy, very old TV high up on the wall, and no wardrobe. Then I was shown the other room (Junior Diamond - one single bed and a double bed) which was a bit bigger, had a small wardrobe space with a safe, a relatively better TV and the window faced the inside of the building. I decided to try the first room for the night, and the traffic from the main road was horrendous, meaning I got very little sleep. The next morning I tried to have a shower and there was no hot water. The person sent to fix it couldn't, and so I decided it was time to change to the more expensive Junior Diamond room.

After the transfer, things were generally ok although even here the shower was very old and fiddly, and at times the linen had a damp smell to it. The food in the cafe/restaurant downstairs was really quite avoidable, and I was often getting meals delivered from restaurants on Tomas Morato nearby.

The highlight, if anything, were the staff who were overall very polite, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the non-street facing side of the hotel. Nearby bars may be loud over Fri/Sat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onerivercentral, Owner at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We deeply apologize to your experience in our hotel. All your reviews has been address to each department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed here while visiting the hospital. It was pretty good location for the hospital and Quezon city, but if you don't need to visit these places, I would suggest a location closer to rapid transit. Its a budget hotel and that is what you get. the room was always well cleaned and promptly cleaned with fresh towels and the like. The staff were nice and helpful at helping with taxis, directions, etc. the bed was okay. We stayed in a suite and thought the kitchen would be more usable ( Ie- have a microwave), but the fridge was nice to have. the tv worked well and so did the aircon.
the wifi is pretty fast and it is free in the restuarant, which is always open. the wait staff is good, but not a lot of choices for vegetarians

Room Tip: Ask for aroom away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onerivercentral, Owner at Stone House Quezon City, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hi too bad we didn't know your a vegetarian cause if we only knew we could have prepared a special meal just for you. The hotel is also close to Tomas Morato were there are a lot of fine dinning and fast food restaurant. Greens which is known for being a vegetarian restaurant is also 5 to 10 minutes walk from our hotel. Maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
0.8 mi away
Red Planet Quezon City, Manila
1.0 mi away
Haeinsa Condotel
Haeinsa Condotel
#34 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 mi away
Robbinsdale Residences
Robbinsdale Residences
#35 of 63 in Quezon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Broadway Court
Broadway Court
#33 of 63 in Quezon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madison 101 Hotel & Tower
Madison 101 Hotel & Tower
#12 of 63 in Quezon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fersal Hotel Annapolis - Cubao
Fersal Hotel Annapolis - Cubao
#29 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Quezon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Quezon City

Property: Stone House Quezon City
Address: 1315 E. Rodriguez Avenue, Quezon City, Luzon 1100, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in Quezon City that offers truly comfortable accommodations! The 59-room combines excellent Quezon City hotel location with classic room amenities, complete facilities, and warm Filipino hospitality. Stonehouse Hotel offers a choice selection of quality accommodations. Choose from Ruby (perfect for backpacker or overnight stay), Emerald (good for couples) and our recommended family rooms like Diamond Suites, Junior Suites and Presidential Suites – all guaranteed to give you utmost comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stone House Quezon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Quezon City Hotel Quezon City
Stone House Quezon City Philippines - Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing