We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“dont ever think about staying to this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Eastern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Eastern Hotel
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont ever think about staying to this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

this is my first time to stay @ Great Eastern Hotel and I swear that I never step my foot in here. Soooo disappointed! When I entered the room, no towel and you can feel the dust all over the place. The blanket and pillows looks like they were not washed. I wake up the following day with insect bites! not sure if these are bed bugs or whatever! The price is cheap but you can get a better look for a hotel with the same price rather than taking the risk.. I stayed here to avoid the noise and pollution of new year's eve but I should have stayed at home instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Via L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    28
    31
    46
See reviews for
25
24
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Great Eastern Hotel in Manilla in November. The lobby is grand and reminisent of the grand hotels in America in the 1940's. The first 2 floors are the restuarant lobby and conference rooms. We stayed on the 4th floor and it was horrid. There was mold on the ceilings and carpet in the hall. The pictures of the rooms on the internet are very misleading. Our room was an dark as a dungeon (which was good because I was afraid of whiat I might see). The sheet and pillowcases were torn. I asked for new ones the next day and we received again, torn sheets. The restuarant downstairs served a breakfast which was good. That's the best I can say for the hotel. My advice is be aware of this hotel. I told the service desk at check out about the mold everywhere and they seemed unconcerned.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. The price was good for a reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quezon City hotels

Quezon City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I used to love staying at Great Eastern Hotel. I have stayed there about twice in the early 2000s and I liked it. it was very affordable and the rooms were comfy. Not anymore.

The last time I went there was a few weeks ago. I wanted to have a little escape and I favored this hotel as it was within the city, very near the places I liked eating at, and was within my budget.

When I checked in, I was given my key card and went up to my room for a much needed rest. Upon reaching my floor, I proceeded to my room only to be told that my room was not available. They couldn't tell me this earlier? Anyway, I got my new key and went to my new room. The room was spacious but it was very dimly lit. When I lay down on my bed, it was hard and lumpy. Apparently, while I was at the new wing, the beds were old. Housekeeping tried to remedy the bed situation but there was no improvement. When I woke the following day, my body was aching all over. I went to the bathroom and the tub was grimy and cracked. Oh, and the room smelled musty and the blankets smelled like they haven't been washed for sometime. All in all, my good memories were shot down. I will never go back here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biyay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

RE: Hotel staff: Made reservation by phone. Called FOUR times. First call, they didnt get right: the number of nights we'll be staying, the dates, my name and what kind of room I wanted. Second call: told them i will be late checking in, they cant find my reservation. reason: see first call. Finally checked in, they told us that we had no reservation, and that i must have made reservations at their other hotel in Makati, implying that i'm stupid enough to do that. After about thirty minutes, they finally found my booking (see first call). I havent mentioned that THEY DO NOT HAVE a centralized, computerized, reservations system. The front desk is rude and unaccommodating. no wonder the hotel seemed empty. but that's not all.

RE: Facilities: Lobby and common areas. While waiting forever to be checked in and given our room, we saw a RAT as big as a CAT, lounging about that waiting area with us. This place needs to be shut down by the health department and should not even be properly called a hotel. Everything is old, unupdated and filthy. The carpeting smells, probably because it looked like it hasnt been touched by a vacuum cleaner or proper carpet cleaning soap in years.

RE: Facilities: Room: Small, the carpeting looks even worse than in the common areas, and unprofessionally patched up in some places. It smelled musty, the airconditioning is filth, and the comforter looked and smelled like it hasnt been washed in a wihle. the bed felt itchy. to top it all off, there was a feather (from a feather duster? a dead bird caught in the airconditioning? either way it's disgusting) on the bed. only redeeming factor is that the bathroom had a bathtub, and looked like it was renovated recently. that fact alone would not save this sorry hotel from itself though. They even have the gall to charge 15 pesos for 3 minutes of LOCAL calls (5 pesos additional minute)! the restrooms in the receiving area werefilthy, and with rotting toilet seats. i should have uploaded a picture. just take my word for it instead of seeing it for yourself.

conclusion: You're better off with one of the better motel chains (SOGO?). they're more frequented, and there's a good chance it's cleaner. it's cheaper too. yes. great eastern hotel is THAT bad. there arent a lot of good hotels in quezon city. i specifically made an account on tripadvisor just so i can tell people about how bad our experience was.

Room Tip: 1500 pesos for the cheapest room is still too expensive because the stay is simply not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed there for a debut. The place was ok but the aircon is not working properly.
We never had any bad experience but there was nothing remarkable in that place. The pool looks bad though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goddessofdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabang
Level Contributor
179 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

If you have an option please do not check in this hotel nor avail their packages(in our case Debut package). My sister in law, debutante was checked in a room (805) wherein the carpet of the floor was just sewed (looked like a quilt), no cable tv, CR was terrible, the flush wasn't working and worst of it all when it rained (good thing though) the ceiling leaked thus forcing us to evacuate the room. But it took us around 30min to 1 hr and a series of calls to the front desk to attend to our needs. The elevator going to the parking smells like garbage and its very hot, no exhaust system...All in all worst experience, nightmare!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DokGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Shore of Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed here for two nights and it was tempting to check-out early. It is not a bargain at $75/night and there are very few positives to share.

The first room we were given was atop Quezon Avenue and it felt like the cars were speeding thru the room. Quite loud. We switched to a more expensive room on the West Wing (newer?). It was marginally better, but required negotiating two elevator rides and neither were air-conditioned. Expect to work up a lather anytime you leave or return from the room.

Pool closed daily at 5pm, so I never used it. It was tiny and semi-landlocked in the center of the high rise structure. Had a creepy look.

I have to comment of the beds. Manila, generally, does not supply hotels with Western style bedding. This is expected, but the beds at this facility were worse than the usual. It was like sleeping on concrete.

The hotel is right on Quezon Avenue, so you can get around quickly to shopping, MRT, nightlife and restaurants. It's location may be it's best asset.

Think long and hard about staying here. Other options exist, although Quezon City still has only a few newer quality hotels. The older variety, of which Great Eastern is a part, have all seen better days as far as infrastructure and delivery.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
1.2 mi away
Haeinsa Condotel
Haeinsa Condotel
#34 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mchotel
Mchotel
#42 of 63 in Quezon City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#43 of 63 in Quezon City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#22 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stone House Quezon City
Stone House Quezon City
#33 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Red Planet Quezon City, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Eastern Hotel

Property: Great Eastern Hotel
Address: 1403 Quezon Avenue, Quezon City, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest modern landmark of Quezon City, Metro Manila-centrally located and classically styled, elegantly scaled and vibrantly urban, the Great Eastern Hotel provides a home away from home with world-class amenities in the business, shopping, and government centers of the capital of the Philippines. Old timers would remember the genteel time when the Great Eastern Hotel opened in 1934. In 1995, the same operators brought the hotel back to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Great Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Eastern Hotel Quezon City, Philippines - Metro Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing