We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem of a campground” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turkey Creek Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turkey Creek Campground
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great out of the way campground for tent campers and smaller pop up type campers. Sites have electric but the plug in can be 100 ft from the camp site or tent as in our case. Michael and Pam are great owners. We were about an hour late arriving and Michael called me by name when I walked into the office. Was very homey and Pam had fresh baked goods in the office for sale Sat and Sun morning. They treat all their customers like family. We will be back. Camp sites nice and clean the shower hous and bathrooms cleaned regularly and updated. Could use another washer and dryer in the laundry room

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Smith's are truly some very sweet genuine folks -- Turkey Creek Campground is a must for Family & Friends to gather together for some great
Times together. Everything is laid out very nicely. Our fellow camper neighbors were very nice too. Love that they recycle & believe in the PAWS program too. Thank You Both For a Nice Time!! :) best wishes & see u soon
Annie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
17 Thank Sunshine-Luvs-owls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilas, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Turkey Creek Campground is great for tents and small campers. It is quiet, wooded, and nicely landscaped . Some sites are close together but there are a variety of sites.The owners are friendly without being imposing. We enjoyed the rule that "all the time is quiet time". Ice and firewood are available for reasonable prices.The bath house, laundry and area for cleaning dishes are all exceptionally clean and neat! We truly enjoyed our 4 night stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We just got back from camping at Turkey Creek Campground. Quiet, clean, well-maintained campground and very close to Nantahala River, Fontana Lake, and not too far from Cherokee. The bathhouse was incredible! My boys and I enjoyed Huey, the camp dog, who was a gracious host, and escorted us down the short trail, from the campground, to the lake for a swim. We made great memories and will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Bretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great family camp near Nantahala a rafting. CLEANEST bath facilities we have ever seen at a campground. Sites were a bit too close together but very pleasant and quiet, Beautiful little creek runs through the grounds and it was great falling asleep with the sound of it in the background. Well managed and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank peru08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have not gone camping in 20 years. Mostly due to my last bad experience. This campground renewed my faith in what a great campground can be. The Smith family has developed a "state of the art" family campground. Everything you need is within close range. They maintain a beautiful landscaped campground. Nice families and groups of people were there. Everyone was very friendly. Wonderful trail to the Fontana Lake where you can swim. Extremely nice bathhouse with several showers with dressing section and several toilets....all very clean. They also have a washer and dryer if needed. You can play pool or foosball. There is a great porch with chairs and ceiling fan. You can get wood/ice/snacks if needed. I plan to go back and my family in NC and VA hope to come next year also. Close to national forest for hiking & attractions. Very relaxing. This couple takes great pride in their campground! You have to meet Huey (the wonder dog)!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank cshelton1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just returned from our first (hopefully first of many!) trip to Turkey Creek Campground. We chose it based on reviews from tripadvisor, and it certainly lived up to its reputation! What everyone says in the reviews is absolutely true. The owners, who live on site, are wonderful and do an excellent job of running the facility. They ensure that the campground is respectable (and respected), quiet, clean, friendly, and well-organized. I have camped for 50 years and I have never ever seen bathhouses as clean and wonderfully designed as these....marvelous! We enjoyed our site in the woods by the creek...I slept like a baby. We also enjoyed being escorted to and from the lake by resident Camp Dog, Huey. :) Thoughtful details include ice for sale, coffee and baked goods for sale on the weekends, recycling bins, hand soap in the bathhouses, a wonderful second floor open-air porch with view, quiet hours, fire pits, soft drinks and firewood for sale, and just an overall accommodating attitude. If you want to unplug and escape, this beautiful spot is the ticket! We'll be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almond
14.6 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
21.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
2.6 mi away
Nantahala Cabins
Nantahala Cabins
#8 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turkey Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turkey Creek Campground

Property: Turkey Creek Campground
Address: 135 Turkey Creek Road, PO Box 93, Almond, NC 28702
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Almond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Almond
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing