We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to take kids fishing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tumbling Waters Campground
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
410 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Perfect place to take kids fishing!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Tumbling Waters is easy to find. We took the kids there on a misty afternoon. The man who helped us was named Joe (I think). He was super nice. Fishing is free but you must keep what you catch and then pay $4 per pound. Not bad. They provide gear and bait.
The kids bait there hooks with canned corn and just drop the line in. With in a few seconds YES Seconds! They have a fish on the line. There are tools there to help you get the hooks out. On average they were between10-12 inches.
Between the two of them we caught 10lb of fish in an hour. When our first bucket got full we just gave it to Joe and he asked how you want it dressed. Filet, gutted with the head on or off.
The campground it self was pretty and the bathrooms are very nice for a campground.
If you are in the area skip the $40 bucket of rocks at the gem mines and go fishing instead. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have gone here for the last two years whenever we visit family in Bryson City. My kids are 8 and 9 and we can always catch a lot of fish. They are always very nice, helpful, and great with kids. There is a stream close by where we searched for crawdads while they cleaned our fish. We have only had the best experience every time we go. It has become an annual tradition for our family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This campground has become a sweet spot not only to our family but to our friends as well. The hosts are super-nice, know the area very well (folklore to advice on where to ---), and maintain a lovely environment for people to camp (primitively in tents all the way to rolling in with an RV camper). Our kids love the trout pond and we never miss a fresh trout dinner over the fire (plus extras to take home). The campground is safe for kids to ride bikes or play lawn games while parents visit or sit by an ever-present fire. The range of outdoor pursuits available from this site is limitless and you will find yourself in good company if you paddle, mountain bike, hike, fish, bird watch, or pretty much anything outside! We love the peace and kindness we find here and return as often as possible. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Campsites or cabins on the creek are extra-special, but the amenities are there for all to enjoy.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaraBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family spent the week in Bryson City and the two kids (7 and 6) wanted to go fishing. They had no rods or experience so we headed to Tumbling Waters. Joe the owner was great with the kids giving them a quick lesson and baiting their hooks. They fished for 45 min and caught 8 rainbow trout that we ate for dinner that night. We eat our share of trout from the grocery store and these were noticably better. Joe cleaned the fish and iced them for us. The total cost was under $20. He also gave us some tips on other places to see in the area. From his recommendation we ended up in Stecoah at the art center and bought some pottery and other art. He also recommended a local potter and dairy farm. The kids got meet the cheesemaker, a new calf, three awesome dogs and watch the cows get milked. Thanks Joe for making this day the best of our vacation. We'll be back on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fun trout fishing for the Florida fisherman to learn some fly fishing tips. You pay for what you catch. They will clean them for you as well. A beautiful place where I could easily live, because of course, there is a stream running through it. Family owned. We did not camp there, we only came to fish!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Love Tumbling Waters Campground, family oriented. Great friendly people. Clean cabins and bathrooms. Close to Bryson City / town. Love the trout pond. Anniversary trip May 2012, we would even go back just to fish.

Room Tip: Must book in advance only one cabin with bathroom - other cabins are close to public restroom &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, GA
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just returned from a perfect weekend in the NC mountains! We stayed at Tumbling Waters Campground, and I can't think of a better place to stay if you want to have a great camping experience in the mountains! Joe and Caroline are wonderful hosts and offer a friendly, clean, and welcoming outdoor experience, right next to the rushing Panther Creek. They offer tent, RV, and cabin camping. We stayed in the efficiency cabin and it had everything we needed; Carolyn offered an extra quilt to snuggle under which came in handy in the early morning chill! And we loved sitting around the fire in the evenings and making new friends! Everyone was friendly, but respectful of their fellow campers. Their outdoor kitchen offers lots of things you wouldn't expect to find at a campground: large sink to wash up your dishes in; free coffee on the weekends, and pancakes on Sunday mornings; rocking chairs to relax in; even a TV to watch the football games on, and friendly hosts to get to know over a warming fire. It's no surprise they have multiple repeat customers; the hosts knew so many people on a first name basis it was amazing. I can't wait to get back to the mountains and spend more than a weekend exploring the area and meeting new friends!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcreek8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almond
11.5 mi away
Fontana Village Resort
Fontana Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Fontana Dam
484 reviews
18.0 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
204 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
221 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nantahala Cabins
Nantahala Cabins
#6 of 22 in Bryson City
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumbling Waters Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumbling Waters Campground

Property: Tumbling Waters Campground
Address: 1612 Panther Creek Rd, Almond, NC 28702-6132
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Almond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Almond
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing