We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawkesdene
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$67
QualityInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)(Great Value!)
US$86
QualityInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$143
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Of Murphy(Murphy)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Murphy(Murphy)(Great Value!)
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontana Village Resort(Fontana Dam)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ridges Resort & Marina(Young Harris)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$120
Groupon.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Chatuge Lodge(Hiawassee)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
77
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdestination weddingthe main housefire pitextended weekendwedding coordinatorbeautiful kitchenzip liningamazing weekendnantahala national forestmountain topsolar eclipsehorseback ridinggorgeous venuethe cottagesdietary restrictionsstone fireplaceliving room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My family and my new grandson's family and all their friends just had the pleasure of celebrating their wedding at one of the most hospitable, beautifully landscaped mountain resorts ever! The Accomodations, personal service, and gourmet food was beyond words! The available settings for the ceremony were numerous. All of the food presentations were noteworthy, each meal from breakfast to luch and then to the dinners just got better and better!!! The most outstanding of all was wedding reception following the ceremony. The appetizer presentation was beyond anything I've ever seen. So artistic, you almost didn't want to disturb it. However knowing the quality of the chef's The dinner was set for all the guests as one long table decorated table in a charming outdoor setting only to rival a celebration in Tuscany!!!

Room Tip: Impossible not to choose a good one
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hawkesdene is a little piece of paradise, a 33-acre estate tucked into a cove in the mountains of western North Carolina. The 9000 sq. ft. main house offers a sophisticated, yet comfortable and inviting, appeal where comfort and casual elegance prevail. The self-contained cottages sit amongst a lush backdrop of mountains & trees, beautifully manicured gardens, the sparkling waters of Philips Creek and several hiking trails that wind along the adjacent Nantahala National Forest. The spacious indoor/outdoor areas offer many cozy alcoves & comfortable seating areas for gathering together or enjoying private moments apart.

The owners, Rob & Phil, blend southern hospitality with experienced special event planning/coordination, making every detail of your experience unforgettable. Hawkesdene is a magical place that will offer your guests the space, comfort, and convenience of on-site accommodation/catering, freeing them to focus on how best to enjoy their experience – lounging in a creek-side hammock strung between two magnificent hardwood trees, gliding on the wooden gazebo swing, curled up for a fireside chat adjacent to one of several fireplaces, hiking the short but steep trail to the Hawkesnest Pavilion for splendid panoramic mountain views or the more leisurely mile-long shaded trail to the hidden waterfall, or finishing the evening with roasted s’mores in the oversized fire pit under a gorgeous night sky.

If you are looking for a place that will exceed your desire for a destination venue with the beauty of nature as your backdrop, Hawkesdene will fulfill your simplest or grandest vision. As a bride married there in late-May, I have deep gratitude, respect and admiration for Rob, Phil and their staff for creating such a welcoming environment to call our own for the weekend, for making our ‘Happily Ever After’ dream come true, and for continuing to share the beauty & serenity of this special place with others. Thanks for an extraordinarily memorable experience!

Room Tip: Each room is carefully & lovingly appointed with the finest linens & toiletries, comfortable beds, and original works of art. The room & cottage configurations vary slightly so your party's size would be the only deciding factor on "who goes where". Everything is top-notch…there isn't a second-rate choice on the property.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzmyyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our daughter was married here in June 2013. We rented the entire lodge for a week-end, with family and closest friends in attendance. When we drove in, the grounds were stunning, particularly since we had seen them in late fall when most things were not in bloom. The lodge and cabins were immaculate and inviting, and there wasn't one thing that wasn't perfect, from the surroundings, food, people, animals living on the grounds, and ambiance! Words cannot describe how perfect this wedding was, there wasn't a single thing that went wrong. Many have commented here about what a wonderful experience they had--I join that chorus. The owners are outstanding to work with, the food is fabulous, the accommodations are fantastic! What a perfect place for a new couple to start their new life together!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We absolutely cannot say enough about Hawkesdene House as a wedding venue. Being in the destination wedding business myself I can say that their superb service, customer care, flexibility and attention to detail make this certainly one of the top destination wedding venues in the US. The setting is beautiful and the food is amazing. Our guests (and the groom and I) felt incredibly well cared for and everything went as smoothly as it possibly could have- despite even a downpour on the wedding day. Not once did either myself or my groom feel under pressure or in any way stressed and this was a huge part due to Rob and his team. Thank you for making my wedding perfect Rob, Phil, Jackie, Anita, Jo and everyone else!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjeanON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our family just had the most amazing wedding at Hawksdene!!!!! What a wonderful venue..it is one of the most beautiful and welcoming places I have EVER been!! It is magical as are Rob and Phil and all that wonderful staff that work so hard to make a very special time a memory of a lifetime!!!! The sky is full of stars that twinkle and it is a way more than a five star venue!!! Thank you all !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkozuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews