We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more...”
Review of Bera Ankara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bera Ankara
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

For a hotel with the Hilton brand I figured that this would overcome.
Beautiful hotel in public areas and in the room ... but the bathroom little practice.
For travel excursion the food that was offered was too simple. Expected more than the first hotel I've stayed in Istanbul ... where was the best meal I've had.
Being a hotel with a great name I really thought it would be the best.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap_martins1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
22
23
9
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in a clean but really small room. Noise coming from the corridor and the other rooms.
Breakfast in the average, bar closed. The hotel doesn't serve alcolic.
Internet must be paid as an extra (when hotels will understand that nowdays is a "must"?).
Generally speaking quite a sad experience.
The position is good and the building from outside in the evening makes you believe in a better experience.
P.S.: from last January this hotel has changed its official name, now is called Bera Hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Francesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A nice-appearing hotel from the outside, and a clean interior, but it proved an unsatisfactory experience.
1. The rooms were hot, the halls were hot, the lobby was hot, the dining room was hot. This was in early November. We had to open the windows to get cool air in to sleep, but then the smoky smell of Ankara came in with it. The thermostat did nothing. If this place had air conditioning, they didn't know how to use it.
2. We were on a tour, and a number of our friends' rooms had support pillars going right through them. The pillars were between the bed and the window, floor to ceiling. Bizarre. A poorly designed building, or perhaps retrofit from some other purpose, but rooms like that should not have been rented, or if so, at a greatly reduced rate. It was like sleeping with the monolith from "2001- A Space Odyssey,"
3. Paper thin walls allowed all sounds to come through.
4. Weird showers with glass doors and very low sills, so the water ran over the sill and into the bathroom proper. But the bathroom floors were tile and had a drain, so no harm done except having to walk on a wet bathroom floor.
Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln and I enjoyed the theater.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a pillar going through it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beekeeperjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ankara hotels

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
240 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 4 night from 29th November to 2nd December and found the restaurant and rooms to be good and clean. Staff is friendly but has difficulty with english as not all staff in the reception or restaurant can speak english. Please note that alcohol is not served in the hotel although you can buy some from the local groceries nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms with the park view might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

5 star hotel with a 2 star attitude. Please dont use this hotel when there are many other very good hotels to chose from in Ankara.. The room was smelly, Even those supposed to be smoker free. It was a back room but very noisy. there is no sound deadening between rooms.There was no mini bar key, although I informed recemption many times to open it. 99% of staff could not speak English OR German. They tried to charge me for pre-paid rooms. Basicall staff were untrained and extremely unhelpful to overseas visitors. There was NO BAR (although staff said it was in the lounge.). The hotel is positioned 35 mins walking or 25min by cab(traffic horendous) to the city centre. Crossing ANY road puts your life in danger. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (only because it was prepaid). DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Chose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I enjoyed my visit to Ankara. This hotel was in the heart of the city and very convenient to the metro. The hotel was extremely comfortable and accommodating. The room and bed were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Monolith in my room

Like one of the late scenes in the movie 2001: A Space Odyssey, I lay haggard and sleepless pointing an accusing finger at the giant monolith looming over my bed. I checked out the following day for a another hotel.

Why sleepless? Because the TV in the next room was so loud and audible I could pick out the channel. For 3 straight nights, my neighbour had the TV on until after midnight. Clearly the sound dampening in this hotel is inadequate. Also, the honking and engine noise from the major intersection in front of the hotel is noticeable at all but the early morning hours.

The monolith was the pillar in my room. The receptionist had only two room to offer me on checkin – a low floor, or a high floor “with a pillar in the room”. Tired after a long flight, I took that room and stumbled into bed. The morning revealed not just a pillar but a huge square supporting column right in the main open space of an otherwise small room. The bed butted up against it so I had to squeeze around the other side just to get to the window. If they had just put one bed in the room, it would have been fine. But there were two double beds! This is just silly on the part of the hotel.

So I asked for a different room. “None available; we’re full” was the answer two days in a row. Yet the hotel had airline crews coming and going every day. Finally I said I’d like to check out. “Oh. Call reception in the morning to see if we have another room.” Yeah right. I checked out and went to another hotel.

This Doubletree appears OK, but it doesn’t work in the end. The breakfast is good, the service decent, and décor very nice. The location near Kizilays shopping and entertainment is very good for the walker. But several issues combined to make me abandon during my week-long stay in Ankara on business:
• Street noise
• The poor internal sound-proofing
• A pathetic little airless exercise room
• The difficulty of crossing that intersection to get to the subway station on the other side.
• The morning trains in the subway are too full to get on. So people just have to walk downtown instead.
• The hotel jams up the pullout in front with its own parked cars so taxis and buses coming to the hotel have to stop on the busy street. Very irritating.
• The aforementioned monolith

The little things (and big square ones) make a difference.

Room Tip: The park side has a view as well as street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ankara hotels
1.1 mi away
Ickale Hotel
Ickale Hotel
#101 of 174 in Ankara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ankara Hilton SA
Ankara Hilton SA
#4 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kahya Hotel
Kahya Hotel
#15 of 174 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Ankara
3.0 mi away
Anadolu Hotels DownTown Ankara
0.8 mi away
Anemon Ankara
Anemon Ankara
#22 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bera Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bera Ankara

Property: Bera Ankara
Address: Ziya Gokalp Cad. No:58, Ankara 06590, Turkey (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Ankara)
Region: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara > Çankaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ankara
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Bera Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bera Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Ankara Hotel Ankara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing